Related to: 'Jacqueline O'Mahony'

riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan

'The heir to Tana French's throne' Irish Times'Brave and unflinching' Liz Nugent, author of Skin Deep'Such sharp, clean writing and so atmospheric' Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little LiesDetective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan does not wish to linger on the grisly scene before her eyes. Two mutilated corpses. In a church. In Clontarf. Her profiling background screams one fact: this is just the beginning of a sickening message.Meanwhile, a 17-year-old case is playing out on a TV documentary, the convicted professing his innocence and historical police errors being exposed daily in the media. Frankie's superior, commissioner Donna Hegarty, makes no bones about who she expects to clean things up - both in terms of past mishandlings and the present murders.But not everyone working the cases wants the truth to come out. And the corridors of power have their own vested interest. Soon Frankie pinpoints just what is making her so nervous: the fact that anyone could be the next victim when justice is the killer. The Killer In Me is a fast-paced thriller in which lies are safer that the truth, the past is never far from the present, and the ability to kill could well, it seems, live in everyone.'Olivia Kiernan writes with a rare mastery . . . A total triumph' Rachel Edwards, author of Darling'Tense, fast-paced . . . An excellent read' Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 'Thrilling, thoughtful, passionate' Daily Mail'Beautiful, unsentimental, intelligent' The Times1919Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence.Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . . 2019Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon 'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

For fans of Marian Keyes, Dolly Alderton and Holly Bourne, ALMOST LOVE is one of the most addictive and heartbreaking reads of 2018 'Compulsive' Sunday Times'Breaks another boundary' Irish Times'A must-read' Image 'Honest and poignant' Elle 'Intelligent and compelling' Daily Mail When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt.Isn't it?

riverrun

The Apprentice of Split Crow Lane

Jane Housham
Authors:
Jane Housham

A Victorian Murder. A Victorian Madman. A Modern Judgement.Gateshead, April 1866The Apprentice of Split Crow Lane takes the forgotten case of a child murder in 1866 as a springboard to delve deeply into the pysche of the Victorians. What Jane Housham finds, in this exploration of guilt, sexual deviance and madness, is a diagnosis that is still ripe for the challenging and a sentence that provokes even our liberal modern judgement. Set around Gateshead, it is a revelatory social history of the North - an area growing in industry and swelling with immigration, where factory workers are tinged blue and yellow by chemicals, the first tabloids are printed, children are left alone by working parents and haystack fires sweep the county in rebellion against the introduction of the police force. Into this landscape, a five-year-old Irish girl named Sarah Melvin sets out over the fell to look for her father, and a troubled young man makes a frightening leap of logic to save his own skin.Told here for the first time, this is an extraordinary story of sexual deviance and murder. In lively, empathic prose, Jane Housham explores psychiatry, the justice system and the media in mid-Victorian England to reveal a surprisingly modern state of affairs.(P)2016 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Fragments

Sarah Foot
Authors:
Sarah Foot
Jo Fletcher Books

The Fourth Gwenevere

John James, Caitlín Matthews, John Matthews
Authors:
John James, Caitlín Matthews, John Matthews
riverrun

Only Ever Yours YA edition

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
riverrun

The Black Snow

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch
Quercus

The Riot

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

1958: Notting Hill is sweltering in a heatwave. It's DI Stratton's new manor and a powder keg of racial tension. A rent collector is stabbed and a series of street fights between teddy boys and Caribbean immigrants sparks further unrest. Young runaway Irene, on the verge of prostitution, finds her loyalties lie on both sides of the fight. A race riot breaks out - the worst Britain has ever seen. Stratton must tread a path through the violence and prejudice to find the killer and save Irene before Notting Hill explodes.

riverrun

Red Sky in Morning

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch
MacLehose Press

The Folded Earth

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy

MacLehose Press

Sanctuary Line

Jane Urquhart
Authors:
Jane Urquhart

Solitary, nostalgic Liz Crane returns to her family's now-deserted farmhouse to study the migratory habits of the Monarch butterfly. A rich family history - all the anecdotes and blarney of successful Irish immigrants - is now tainted with sadness. Her cousin Amanda, a gifted military strategist, has been killed in Afghanistan, a loss foreshadowed by the earlier disappearance of her charismatic father. Reflecting on the fragility and transcience of human life and relations - mirrored in the Monarchs' restless flight - Liz finds that love is there to be found where you least expect it.

riverrun

Castlereagh

John Bew
Authors:
John Bew
Quercus

The Landmark Herodotus

Herodotus
Authors:
Herodotus

In the 5th century BC an adventurous Ionian Greek, Herodotus of Halicarnassus, journeyed extensively through the lands of the eastern Mediterranean, from Egypt to Asia Minor, collecting tales of the upheavals that had afflicted the region in the earlier part of the century. The fruits of his wanderings were The Histories, in which he used his narrative gifts not only to chronicle the rise of the Achaemenid Persian Empire and its war with the Greek city-states, but also to recount his experiences with the varied peoples and cultures he had encountered during his journey. Herodotus earned the nickname 'the father of history' for this, the first authentic work of historical writing in the Western literary canon. In it he explored such universal themes as the nature of freedom, the role of religion, the human costs of war, and the dangers of absolute power. But in addition to his narrative of the Greek-Persian conflict, he included in The Histories rich seams of anthropology, ethnography, geology, and geography, pioneering these fields of study.Successful navigation of this sprawling, monumental work requires an understanding of ancient geography and events that will often be unfamiliar to the modern reader. Ten years in the making, Robert Strassler's magisterial new edition of The Histories is amplified by a veritable battery of editorial features - illustrations, maps, annotations, explanatory synopses, and state-of-the-art appendices on such critical themes as Athenian government, Egypt, Persian weaponry and tactics, oracles, religion tyranny and the position of women - that makes Herodotus' masterpiece more comprehensible, more accessible, even more enjoyable than ever before. The Landmark Herodotus is the definitive edition of a Western cultural milestone. It belongs on the bookshelf of every literate individual.

Herodotus

Robert B. Strassler is an independent scholar and the editor of the widely praised Landmark Thucydides.Andrea L. Purvis holds a PhD in classical studies from Duke University and has taught in that university's department of classical studies

Sarah Foot

Sarah is a former Vogue staff journalist, Times columnist and magazine editor - Irish Tatler - who had a novel published at 30. She had to take a break from writing - too much life intervened. Now she has returned to fiction and deals with subjects of love and loss with true understanding. Sarah is married to the journalist and author Tony Rennell. They have one son and live near Woodbridge in Suffolk.

Louise O'Neill

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

Olivia Kiernan

Olivia Kiernan is an Irish writer living in the UK. She was born and raised in County Meath, near the famed heritage town of Kells and holds an MA in Creative Writing awarded by the University of Sussex. Too Close to Breathe is her first novel.