Related to: 'S. G. MacLean'

Quercus

The Bear Pit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
MacLehose Press

In the Name of the Fathers

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

One wet and misty weekend in October, the Niemann family find a stranger in their garden. He is armed and tries to force his way into the house, but disappears as soon as the police are alert the police. That night he's back with an impossible ultimatum . . .Freiburg detective Louise Boni and her colleagues are put under enormous pressure. Traces of evidence lead her to a no-man's-land, and to a ruthless criminal who brings with him the trauma of conflict in the Balkans.

Quercus

Destroying Angel

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction. This is his best book to date' Peter James'Taut, terrifying and timely' Val McDermid'William Shaw is a superb storyteller' Peter MaySHE ALWAYS WENT TOO FAR DS Alexandra Cupidi has done it again. She should have learnt to keep her big mouth shut, after the scandal that sent her packing - resentful teenager in tow - from the London Met to the lonely Kent coastline. Murder is different here, among the fens and stark beaches.SHE WAS THE ONE WHO FOUND THE KILLERSThe man drowned in the slurry pit had been herded there like an animal. He was North African, like many of the fruit pickers that work the fields. The more Cupidi discovers, the more she wants to ask - but these people are suspicious of questions.AND NOW IT WAS KILLING HERIt will take an understanding of this strange place - its old ways and new crimes - to uncover the dark conspiracy behind the murder. Cupidi is not afraid to travel that road. But she should be. She should, by now, have learnt. Salt Lane is the first in the new DS Alexandra Cupidi series. With his trademark characterisation and flair for social commentary, William Shaw has crafted a crime novel for our time that grips you, mind and heart.

Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'For Vikings done right, come to Snorri Kristjansson' - Mark Lawrence'Truly entertaining' - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir'A dark mystery in a dark age brought vividly to life' - Robert FabbriEveryone loves a family reunion.He can deny it all he likes, but everyone knows Viking warlord Unnthor Reginsson brought home a great chest of gold when he retired from the longboats and settled down with Hildigunnur in a remote valley. Now, in the summer of 970, adopted daughter Helga is awaiting the arrival of her unknown siblings: dark, dangerous Karl, lithe, clever Jorunn, gentle Aslak, henpecked by his shrewish wife, and the giant Bjorn, made bitter by Volund, his idiot son.And they're coming with darkness in their hearts.The siblings gather, bad blood simmers and old feuds resurface as Unnthor's heirs make their moves on the old man's treasure - until one morning Helga is awakened by screams. Blood has been shed: kin has been slain.No one confesses, but all the clues point to one person - who cannot possibly be the murderer, at least in Helga's eyes. But if she's going to save the innocent from the axe and prevent more bloodshed, she's got to solve the mystery - fast . . .Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .

MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

Breen & Tozer Investigation Omnibus: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers. 'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday TimesLondon, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power. In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars. Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem...

Quercus

The Seeker

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
riverrun

A Song from Dead Lips

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

The Devil's Recruit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Quercus

Crucible

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Aberdeen, 1631. University librarian Robert Sim takes receipt of a gift of books recently arrived from overseas, mysterious works on alchemy and hermetics - the pursuit of ancient knowledge. By nightfall he has been brutally murdered. His colleague and good friend Alexander Seaton is left with the task of hunting for clues as to his killer's motive, as well as locating the missing books. What did Sim discover in the package, and what makes these books so dangerous?A gripping historical thriller from the CWA award-winning author of The Seeker - a must-read for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

Quercus

The River of Fire

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter

It is March 1799. A sunken lugger in the Pool of London reveals a grisly secret: The bodies of two men entombed in the crew's cabin. Suspicion falls on a third member of the crew seen fleeing the scene. He had a known motive for murder. Against the background of a nation at war with Napoleon, River Surveyor Tom Pascoe finds his own life under threat as he digs deeper into the case. He uncovers the existence of French agents in London whose task is to strike a deadly blow to the heart of the capital and undermine England's ability to continue the war. Tom's job is further complicated by the presence of a new member of the police crew with a shocking secret of his own...

Quercus

Crucible of Secrets

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The Watermen

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter

It is 1798 in the Port of London: a cruel villain holds sway over the underworld.His face is savaged by lime, his back scarred by two hundred lashes - Boylin is not a man to be crossed. Yet there is one person he loathes and fears - his captain and shipmate, Tom Pascoe, the man he blames for his Court Martial and the terrible punishment that followed.They meet again when Pascoe becomes River Surveyor for the newly formed Marine Police. Pascoe knows that Boylin is behind most of the criminal activity that flourishes in the Port, but he can't prove anything - yet. And when both men become involved with the same woman, things get personal.

riverrun

Island of Wings

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

Quercus

A Game of Sorrows

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Banff, Scotland in the 1620s. A young man walks unsteadily through the streets. Is he just drunk or is there something more sinister happening? When he collapses in front of two sisters on that dark, wet night, the women guess that he's been poisoned. His body is discovered in the house of Alexander Seaton - a fallen minister, the discovery of whose clandestine love affair has left him disgraced. Why was the body in Seaton's house? And why would anyone want to murder this likeable young man? Seaton sets out to find answers, embarking on a journey not only through the darkest part of other men's souls, but also his own.

Snorri Kristjansson

Snorri Kristjansson was born in Iceland and is a writer and a teacher, as well as a stand-up comedian, actor and musician. He currently lives in Edinburgh with his artist wife. The Valhalla Saga, his Viking fantasy series, and The Helga Finnsdottir books, his Viking historical/crime series, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Patrick Easter

Patrick Easter was a police officer in the Met for thirty years and during that time was part of the Marine Police force. On retirement, he became a successful journalist writing both for technical journals and the national press. His stint with the Marine Police coupled with a love of 18th Century history make him the perfect author for this subject.