Related to: 'S. G. MacLean'

Quercus

The Bear Pit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
riverrun

Deadland

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

Destroying Angel

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must discover the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

'For Vikings done right, come to Snorri Kristjansson' - Mark Lawrence'Truly entertaining' - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir'A dark mystery in a dark age brought vividly to life' - Robert FabbriEveryone loves a family reunion. 970: For the first time since Helga was adopted, her family will be gathered in one place. But her siblings are coming with darkness in their hearts. Everyone knows their father, the Viking warlord Unnthor Reginsson, has a great chest of gold hidden somewhere on his land - and each of his heirs is determined to find it. Then one morning Helga is awakened by screams. Blood has been shed. Kin has been slain. All the clues point to one person - who cannot possibly be the murderer, at least in Helga's eyes. But if she's going to save an innocent from the axe, she's got to solve the mystery - fast . . . Lies. Manipulation. Murder. There's nothing quite like family . . .

riverrun

Breen & Tozer Investigation Omnibus: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

In the first three novels of the Breen & Tozer Investigations, an outcast detective fights crime and corruption in sixties London.'An outstanding storyteller' Peter MayWilliam Shaw grips the reader by the throat from page one, and never lets go' Independent'Superb crime novels . . . combines nostalgic period detail with an emotional intensity found only in the very best crime fiction' Sunday TimesA SONG FROM DEAD LIPSThe Runaway: A nameless young woman is found naked and strangled in an alley on Abbey Road.The Reject: DS Cathal Breen, an outcast in the Marylebone CID, struggles to make sense of the case. The Rookie: Until new recruit WPC Helen Tozer - the first woman to join the team - makes a breakthrough.And as hippies slam doors in their face, and locals suspect the new African neighbours, Breen and Tozer tread down a perilous path, closing in on a cruel conspiracy that goes far beyond class, colour and creed.A HOUSE OF KNIVESThe Black Sheep: The wayward son of a rising MP is mutilated and burnt in suspicious circumstances.The Honest Detective: DS Cathal Breen dodges political embargo and death threats to pursue the case.The Rolling Stone: Notorious art dealer Robert Fraser may provide the only clue - if only he will talk.And as Breen slips deeper into London's underground of hippies and heroin, he edges nearer to the secrets of those at the very top. Banished from a corrupt and fracturing system, he will finally be forced to fight fire with fire.A BOOK OF SCARSNever forgotten: Teenager Alexandra Tozer was murdered on her family's farm. Five years later, her sister Helen will return. Never suspected: As soon as DS Breen tracks down the original investigating sergeant, the man goes missing. And so does Helen. Never revealed: The only connection between the suspects is the Kenya Emergency - a nightmare that Englishmen prefer to forget. But others remember. Every bloody detail. And when another woman is taken, Breen fears that history - in all its shame and horror - is coming back to haunt them.

Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The Seeker

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
riverrun

The Arc of the Swallow

Sissel-Jo Gazan
Authors:
Sissel-Jo Gazan
Quercus

The Rising Tide

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter
Quercus

The Devil's Recruit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

1635, Aberdeen. A girl lies dead in a frozen garden. A young man goes missing after a drunken brawl. A sinister cloaked figure watches from the shadows. The missing student, son of a Highland chief, is one of Alexander Seaton's pupils. When the young man's companion turns up bruised and bloodied, suspicion mounts that he has murdered his friend. But Alexander is convinced that there's another explanation. Drawn ever deeper into the mystery, Alexander realises that the man in the shadows is known to him and that the strange events in the town are linked to his own past.

Quercus

Crucible

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Aberdeen, 1631. University librarian Robert Sim takes receipt of a gift of books recently arrived from overseas, mysterious works on alchemy and hermetics - the pursuit of ancient knowledge. By nightfall he has been brutally murdered. His colleague and good friend Alexander Seaton is left with the task of hunting for clues as to his killer's motive, as well as locating the missing books. What did Sim discover in the package, and what makes these books so dangerous?A gripping historical thriller from the CWA award-winning author of The Seeker - a must-read for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

Quercus

The River of Fire

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter
Quercus

Crucible of Secrets

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Quercus

The Watermen

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter

It is 1798 in the Port of London: a cruel villain holds sway over the underworld.His face is savaged by lime, his back scarred by two hundred lashes - Boylin is not a man to be crossed. Yet there is one person he loathes and fears - his captain and shipmate, Tom Pascoe, the man he blames for his Court Martial and the terrible punishment that followed.They meet again when Pascoe becomes River Surveyor for the newly formed Marine Police. Pascoe knows that Boylin is behind most of the criminal activity that flourishes in the Port, but he can't prove anything - yet. And when both men become involved with the same woman, things get personal.

riverrun

Island of Wings

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

Quercus

A Game of Sorrows

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

It is 1628, Charles 1 is on the throne, and the British Crown is finally taking control of Ulster.Returning to his rooms one night, Alexander Seaton is shocked to find a stranger standing there - a man who could be his double. His name is Sean O'Neill, and he carries a plea for help from Maeve O'Neill, forbidding matriarch of Alexander's mother's family in Ireland. All those who bear their blood have been placed under a poet's curse: one by one they are going to die. Only Alexander is immune, his O'Neill heritage a secret from all but his closest family. Alexander travels to Ulster, to find himself at the heart of a family divided by secrets and bitter resentments. As he seeks out the author of the curse, he becomes increasingly embroiled in the conflict until - confronted with murder within his own family - his liberty and, finally, his life, are at stake.

Quercus

The Merry Misogynist

Colin Cotterill
Authors:
Colin Cotterill

Quercus

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Snorri Kristjansson

Snorri Kristjansson was born in Iceland and is a writer and a teacher, as well as a stand-up comedian, actor and musician. He currently lives in Edinburgh with his artist wife. The Valhalla Saga, his Viking fantasy series, and The Helga Finnsdottir books, his Viking historical/crime series, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.