Related to: 'S. G. MacLean'

Quercus

The Bear Pit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Captain Damian Seeker is busy with the most complex intelligence operation of his career since he started working for Secretary Thurloe. His task is to use double agent Thomas Faithly to infiltrate illegal gambling dens around London, as well as more respectable Royalist circles - like that of diarist John Evelyn.When Seeker raids one such gambling den, Faithly is arrested along with the gamblers. Also discovered in the raid is the body of a man, chained to a post and with the marks of having been mauled to death by some wild animal. Seeker is convinced it was a bear - but the city's bear pits were closed years ago. Faithly claims no knowledge of the murdered man or how he came to sustain his injuries, but can he be trusted?A labyrinthine investigation lies before Seeker, involving old friends from Kent's Coffee House as well as new ones - like Lawrence Ingolby, a Yorkshire lad now studying law in London. New enemies will be made as well, and the truth, when it is revealed, will point to a deadly conspiracy coming from the highest levels of the Royalist court. The very life of the Lord Protector is at stake. Will Seeker solve the riddle of the bear pit in time?

MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

One wet and misty weekend in October, the Niemann family find a stranger in their garden. He is armed and tries to force his way into the house, but disappears as soon as the police are alert the police. That night he's back with an impossible ultimatum . . .Freiburg detective Louise Boni and her colleagues are put under enormous pressure. Traces of evidence lead her to a no-man's-land, and to a ruthless criminal who brings with him the trauma of conflict in the Balkans.

Quercus

Destroying Angel

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction. This is his best book to date' Peter James'Taut, terrifying and timely' Val McDermid'William Shaw is a superb storyteller' Peter MaySHE ALWAYS WENT TOO FAR DS Alexandra Cupidi has done it again. She should have learnt to keep her big mouth shut, after the scandal that sent her packing - resentful teenager in tow - from the London Met to the lonely Kent coastline. Murder is different here, among the fens and stark beaches.SHE WAS THE ONE WHO FOUND THE KILLERSThe man drowned in the slurry pit had been herded there like an animal. He was North African, like many of the fruit pickers that work the fields. The more Cupidi discovers, the more she wants to ask - but these people are suspicious of questions.AND NOW IT WAS KILLING HERIt will take an understanding of this strange place - its old ways and new crimes - to uncover the dark conspiracy behind the murder. Cupidi is not afraid to travel that road. But she should be. She should, by now, have learnt. Salt Lane is the first in the new DS Alexandra Cupidi series. With his trademark characterisation and flair for social commentary, William Shaw has crafted a crime novel for our time that grips you, mind and heart.

Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

** NOW LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER 2018 **The first in a gripping new crime series set in Germany - the Black Forest Investigations Louise Boni, maverick chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. When her own team comes under fire, the investigation takes on a terrifying dimension, uncovering a hideous ring of child traffickers. The repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

riverrun

Breen & Tozer Investigation Omnibus: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

In the first three novels of the Breen & Tozer Investigations, an outcast detective fights crime and corruption in sixties London.'An outstanding storyteller' Peter MayWilliam Shaw grips the reader by the throat from page one, and never lets go' Independent'Superb crime novels . . . combines nostalgic period detail with an emotional intensity found only in the very best crime fiction' Sunday TimesA SONG FROM DEAD LIPSThe Runaway: A nameless young woman is found naked and strangled in an alley on Abbey Road.The Reject: DS Cathal Breen, an outcast in the Marylebone CID, struggles to make sense of the case. The Rookie: Until new recruit WPC Helen Tozer - the first woman to join the team - makes a breakthrough.And as hippies slam doors in their face, and locals suspect the new African neighbours, Breen and Tozer tread down a perilous path, closing in on a cruel conspiracy that goes far beyond class, colour and creed.A HOUSE OF KNIVESThe Black Sheep: The wayward son of a rising MP is mutilated and burnt in suspicious circumstances.The Honest Detective: DS Cathal Breen dodges political embargo and death threats to pursue the case.The Rolling Stone: Notorious art dealer Robert Fraser may provide the only clue - if only he will talk.And as Breen slips deeper into London's underground of hippies and heroin, he edges nearer to the secrets of those at the very top. Banished from a corrupt and fracturing system, he will finally be forced to fight fire with fire.A BOOK OF SCARSNever forgotten: Teenager Alexandra Tozer was murdered on her family's farm. Five years later, her sister Helen will return. Never suspected: As soon as DS Breen tracks down the original investigating sergeant, the man goes missing. And so does Helen. Never revealed: The only connection between the suspects is the Kenya Emergency - a nightmare that Englishmen prefer to forget. But others remember. Every bloody detail. And when another woman is taken, Breen fears that history - in all its shame and horror - is coming back to haunt them.

Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers. 'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday TimesLondon, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power. In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars. Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem...

Quercus

The Seeker

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
riverrun

A Song from Dead Lips

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

FREE LOVE. DEADLY PRICE.'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction' Peter James'If you're not a fan yet, why not?' Val McDermid'A first-rate police thriller set amidst the seamy underside of the swinging sixties' C. J. SansomThe RunawayA nameless young woman is found naked and strangled in an alley on Abbey Road.The RejectDS Cathal Breen, an outcast in the Marylebone CID, struggles to make sense of the case.The RookieUntil new recruit WPC Helen Tozer - the first woman to join the team - makes a breakthrough.And as hippies slam doors in their face, and locals suspect the new African neighbours, Breen and Tozer tread down a perilous path, closing in on a cruel conspiracy that goes far beyond class, colour and creed.

Quercus

The Devil's Recruit

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Quercus

Crucible

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The River of Fire

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter

Quercus

Crucible of Secrets

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Quercus

The Watermen

Patrick Easter
Authors:
Patrick Easter
riverrun

Island of Wings

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

Quercus

A Game of Sorrows

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Quercus

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

Banff, Scotland in the 1620s. A young man walks unsteadily through the streets. Is he just drunk or is there something more sinister happening? When he collapses in front of two sisters on that dark, wet night, the women guess that he's been poisoned. His body is discovered in the house of Alexander Seaton - a fallen minister, the discovery of whose clandestine love affair has left him disgraced. Why was the body in Seaton's house? And why would anyone want to murder this likeable young man? Seaton sets out to find answers, embarking on a journey not only through the darkest part of other men's souls, but also his own.

Snorri Kristjansson

Snorri Kristjansson was born in Iceland and is a writer and a teacher, as well as a stand-up comedian, actor and musician. He currently lives in Edinburgh with his artist wife. The Valhalla Saga, his Viking fantasy series, and The Helga Finnsdottir books, his Viking historical/crime series, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Patrick Easter

Patrick Easter was a police officer in the Met for thirty years and during that time was part of the Marine Police force. On retirement, he became a successful journalist writing both for technical journals and the national press. His stint with the Marine Police coupled with a love of 18th Century history make him the perfect author for this subject.