Related to: 'Cees Nooteboom'

riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

The new Essex-based thriller from the author of Blackwater and the Detective Jack Frost prequelsJuly 1983, Essex. A boy playing hide-and-seek sees a fox tugging at something up on a railway embankment. He approaches it cautiously. Seconds later, a blast is heard, and rooks ascend from the poplars surrounding the farmhouse at which the boy is spending his summer holiday with cousins.DI Nick Lowry is called upon to investigate two deaths at Fox Farm, the home of eminent historian Christopher Cliff. The body in the farmhouse kitchen is Cliff himself, having seemingly taking his own with an antique shotgun. The fox-disturbed body on the property boundary is as yet unidentified.Lowry is already under pressure: County Chief Merrydown was at college with Cliff and knows the family. He must enlist colleagues Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel to answer two key questions: just who was at the house with Cliff that morning, and just what has since happened to Cliff's wife?

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** OVER 4 MILLION COPIES SOLD **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES **WHATEVER HAPPENSNiamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own the Hebridean company Ranish Tweed. On a business trip to Paris to promote their luxury brand, Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair, and then looks on as he and his lover are killed by a car bomb. She returns home to Lewis, bereft.I'LL ALWAYS BE THERE FOR YOUNiamh begins to look back on her life with Ruairidh, desperate to identify anyone who may have held a grudge against him. The French police, meanwhile, have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - and sent Detective Sylvie Braque to shadow their prime suspect: Niamh.I'LL KEEP YOU SAFE, NO MATTER WHATAs one woman works back through her memories, and the other moves forward with her investigation, the two draw ever closer to a deadly enemy with their own, murderous, designs.'Peter May is a writer I would follow to the ends of the earth' New York Times

MacLehose Press

The Santiago Pilgrimage

Jean-Christophe Rufin
Authors:
Jean-Christophe Rufin

"Whenever I was asked: 'Why did you go to Santiago?', I had a hard time answering. How could I explain to those who had not done it that the way has the effect - if not the virtue - to make you forget all reasons that led you to become involved in it in the first place."Each year, tens of thousands of backpackers (Christian pilgrims and many others) set out from either their front doorstep or from popular starting points across Europe, to Santiago de Compostela. Most travel by foot, others ride a bicycle, and a few of them travel as did some of their medieval counterparts, on horseback or with a donkey. In addition to those who undertake a religious pilgrimage, the majority are hikers who walk the way for non-religious reasons: travel, sport, or simply the challenge of spending weeks walking in a foreign land. Also, many consider the experience as a spiritual adventure, with a view to removing themselves from the bustle of modern life. Jean-Christophe Rufin followed this "Northern Way" to Santiago de Compostela by foot, on over eight hundred kilometers. Much less crowded than the usual pilgrimage route, this one runs along the Basque and Cantabrian coasts in Spain and through the wild mountains of Asturias and Galicia.Translated from the French by Malcolm Imrie and Martina Dervis

Jo Fletcher Books

The Adversaries

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

From the floodlit TV studios of Mumbai to the glittering Rajput courts, Vikram, Amanjit, Deepika and Ras must battle the sorcerer-king Ravindra: his power is growing, and so is his evil reach . . . The second in award-winning author David Hair's series The Return of Ravana.Mumbai, 2010: Everyone's talking about Swayamvara Live!, the TV reality show recreating the ages-old custom where young men compete for the hand of a noble bride. In this case, the bride is Bollywood stunner Sunita Ashoka, who is pledged to marry the man who wins the on-screen contest. For Vikram Khandavani, it's a chance to draw out his nemesis Ravindra, the reincarnated sorcerer-king - but he's taking a deadly gamble.Delhi, 1175: King Prithviraj Chauhan is about to storm the swayamvara of the beautiful Sanyogita - but he's not the only one fixated on the bride-to-be: Ravindra-Raj is coming too, and he's riding at the side of a fierce invader. Only Chand Bardai, in another life known as Aram Dhoop, the Poet of Mandore, stands between Ravindra and all the thrones of India.'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum on The Pyre

riverrun

The Easy Way Out

Steven Amsterdam
Authors:
Steven Amsterdam

Evan's job is to help people die. Evan is a nurse - a suicide assistant. His job is legal - just. He's the one at the hospital who hands out the last drink to those who ask for it. Evan's friends don't know what he does during the day. His mother, Viv, doesn't know what he's up to at night. And his supervisor suspects there may be trouble ahead. As he helps one patient after another die, Evan pushes against the limits of the law - and his own morality. And with Viv increasingly unwell, his love life complicated, to say the least, Evan begins to wonder who might be there for him, when the time comes.From an award-winning author, The Easy Way Out is a brilliantly funny and exquisitely sad novel that gets to the heart of one of the most difficult questions each of us may face: would you help someone die?

Quercus

Elephant Complex

John Gimlette
Authors:
John Gimlette

Everyone has wanted a piece of paradise. Sri Lanka is a small island with a long, violent and enthralling history. Home to thousands of wild elephants, this is a place where natural beauty has endured, indifferent to human tragedy. Journeying through its many regions - some haunted by war, many rarely seen by our eyes - award-winning travel writer John Gimlette interviews ex-presidents and cricketers, tea planters and terrorists, negotiating the complex relationships of Sinhalese, Tamil and Muslim communities and the more sinister forms of tourism. Each city raises the ghosts of old colonies: Portuguese, Dutch and British armies striving to claim the most significant ports in the southern seas; each site resurrects a civilization that preceded, and sometimes, outfaced them. The political families of Colombo lead Gimlette through recent years of turmoil, survivors of the tsunami tell of their recovery and, tale by tale, scrap by scrap, the thorny truths of the civil war emerge - a war whose wounds have yet to heal.As he walks in the steps of old conquerors, follows the secret paths of elephants and marches alongside pilgrims, Gimlette seeks the soul of a country that is struggling to free itself from trauma and embody an identity to match its vitality, its power and its people.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyre

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
MacLehose Press

Letters To Poseidon

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom
MacLehose Press

The Sermon on the Fall of Rome

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari
MacLehose Press

News from Berlin

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
riverrun

Hello and Goodbye

Patrick McCabe
Authors:
Patrick McCabe
MacLehose Press

Rituals

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

Amsterdam of the fifties, sixties and seventies is viewed from the perspective of Inni Wintrop, a man who leads a capricious life, floating comfortably on possibilities. After a failed suicide attempt, the unexpected gift of life returned lends him the curiosity to observe the lives and routines of others. Inni's opposite, the one-eyed former champion downhill skier Arnold Taads measures his life by the clock, while his disowned son Philip follows Japanese rituals which themselves seem to render his existence meaningless.Wry, witty and incisive, Rituals is a novel for those who seek to unravel our mysterious, apparently directionless lives.

MacLehose Press

In the Dutch Mountains

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

In an empty classroom in the summer holidays, a morose provincial inspector of roads in Aragon packs himself into a child's desk to write a fable. The fable he builds is that of the Snow Queen, the Netherlands now stretched into a vast country extending from the Northern flatlands to hazardous Alpine ranges in the south. Kai and Lucia are circus illusionists, and when Kai is kidnapped, Lucia must rescue him from the Snow Queen's palace.Curious and elegantly erudite, In the Dutch Mountains is laced with the wit which characterises the work of this outstanding European writer.

MacLehose Press

Roads to Berlin

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

Quercus

The Villa

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

THE #1 KINDLE BESTSELLER. An unforgettable story set off the sun-soaked coast of Sicily for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Veronica Henry and Santa Montefiore.When Tess Angel receives a solicitor's letter inviting her to claim her inheritance - the Villa Sirena, perched on a clifftop in Sicily - she is stunned. Her only link to the island is through her mother, Flavia, who left Sicily during World War II and cut all contact with her family. Initially resistant to Tess going back to her roots, Flavia realises the secrets from her past are about to be revealed and decides to try to explain her actions. Meanwhile, Tess' teenage daughter Ginny is stressed by college, by her blooming sexuality and filled with questions that she longs to ask her father, if only she knew where he was.

Quercus

Sacred Places

Philip Carr-Gomm
Authors:
Philip Carr-Gomm

MacLehose Press

The Foxes Come at Night

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

Quercus

The Remains of An Altar

Phil Rickman
Authors:
Phil Rickman

NOW A MAJOR ITV DRAMAMerrily Watkins, parish priest, single mum and Deliverance Consultant to the Diocese of Hereford, heads for the Malvern Hills to investigate an alleged paranormal dimension to a spate of road accidents in the sleepy village of Wychehill. Merrily is called in when two people are killed in a head-on crash that is also linked to the revamped local pub which, it seems, has injected the valley with a shattering, strobing surge of inner-city nightlife... and drugs. When a dealer is found savagely murdered below the great earthen hillfort of Herefordshire Beacon, police ask: is it a ritual killing, a gangland disposal or a cry of outrage? As Merrily and the police follow separate paths towards the truth, Merrily's teenage daughter, Jane, faces the consequences of her own obsession with a possibly prehistoric site in their home village of Ledwardine. Until, on a night of frenzied violence, in a place at the centre of an ancient, universal mystery, the final, shocking connections are made. (P)2007 Quercus Editions Ltd

Adriaan van Dis

Adriaan Van Dis is a Dutch author with roots in what was the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia). As a young man he studied Afrikaans at Amsterdam University. His novel My Father's War won a number of awards in the Netherlands and was translated into English by Ina Rilke. Ina Rilke is the prize-winning translator of books by Cees Nooteboom, W. F. Hermans, Erwin Mortier, Tessa de Loo, Dai Sijie and Margriet de Moor.

Philip Carr-Gomm

Philip Carr-Gomm has a degree in psychology from University College London, and trained in psychotherapy for adults at The Institute of Psychosynthesis, and in play therapy for children. He lives in Sussex with his wife Stephanie and their children.