Related to: 'Elizabeth Gill'

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Torn between love and duty... When Vinia walked down the aisle she knew it was a marriage of practicality: as the owner of the local pit, Joe could provide her with a life of status. But her heart lies with another... With gypsy blood in his veins and an intense passion in his soul, Dryden has always held a torch for Vinia. And with the death of his wife, he vows to make good on the lost years when they were apart. Will Vinia find a new chance of happiness or be forever destined to a loveless marriage? 'Original and evocative - a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.Abby Reed, grieving after the loss of her mother, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside with the brooding Gillan Collingwood, son of a local shipping merchant. It isn't long before she begins to hope that she and Gill might someday be more than friends . . . But then Gill meets his elder brother's new wife Helen, and falls instantly, deeply in love with her. Abby is shattered by the news and throws herself into an imprudent love affair. Her impulse will take her away from the frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A young man who's lost his way. A grieving girl who needs a hand to hold...Middle-aged and unmarried, and stil recovering from her parents' deaths, Alice Lee is the only volunteer when her church asks for someone to help young Zebediah Bailey, in prison for a ghastly crime. She dutifully writes to him every week, sending him sweets from her little shop. Her neighbours deeply disapprove of their growing relationship, and when Zeb is released from gaol, it could be a new beginning, or the undoing of them both . . .'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry on Nobody's Child

Quercus

Nobody's Child

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry. A moving tearjearker for fans of Maggie Hope and Dilly Court. 'Kath walked for so long that she wanted to lie down in the snow and sleep but she thought of her sister and knew she must go on. Soon the snow was so deep that she couldn't move. She could feel her shoes disintegrating and her feet were numb. The sky cleared and a great big moon came out and there were so many stars. She remembered what her mother had said before she died, that each star was one of her people. She musn't give up now . . .'When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters' bond be strong enough to see them to safety?From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity.

Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.As a solicitor in the small northern mining town of Hexham, Sam Browne knows more than most about the affairs of the town's inhabitants. He has known several of his clients since his schooldays, and has become a fast friend to their growing families. But when tragedy strikes, affecting the town in many terrible ways, Sam finds himself unwillingly drawn into the complicated emotional entanglements that arise. Are Sam and his friends' lives to be forever changed by what has happened?

Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

His duty was to God, but his heart was with her. A tale of love and sacrifice from the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born into a family of Methodist preachers in County Durham, Joshua Castle knows that he too will become a minister. Though his faith is strong, his young heart is broken when he goes to Bristol to learn his trade, leaving behind Emma Meikle, the beautiful daughter of the pub landlord. In Bristol, Joshua meets the wealthy Matthews family, and though his upbringing is at odds with their lavish lifestyle, he is attracted to their daughter Patience. But can Joshua ever forget the girl he left at home?Note: this book was previously published under the title The Preacher's Son.

Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?Note: this book was previously published under the title Snow Hall.

Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An unbreakable bond. A devastating discovery. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty and emotional family saga.London, 1944. A young man is killed in an air-raid, leaving a wife and two children - and a secret. After the tragedy, Ailsa, Margaret and Luke are persuaded by to return to the north east. Despite their grief and bitterness, they find a new life there. But it isn't long before the past catches up with them, and they must confront the secret the family left behind.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Secret.

Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?Note: this book was previously published under the title Sweet Wells.

Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes the first in the Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Catherine King. Ella's happy childhood in the Swan Island district of Durham is abruptly ended when her father dies, leaving the family bankrupt. Ella and her mother leave their home behind to go and live with her grandmother, who runs the Silver Street cafe. After a first, unhappy marriage she settles into domesticity with a local businessman, David Black. But Ella can never quite forget her first love. Now a contented wife and mother, Ella soon finds she must make an impossible choice.Note: this book was previously published under the title Swan Island.

Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Far From My Father's House

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A gritty, emotional saga from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1915. As a child it never mattered to Blake that he has no mother, that no one knew who his father was. He was secure in his grandparents' love, happy on their farm in the Yorkshire dales. But when his grandparents die suddenly, Blake's world collapses.Taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, Blake's life becomes focused on the land - and on his secret love for Annie, his employer's daughter. Annie may love Blake too, but she knows she doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. So Blake leaves for the busy shipyards of Sunderland, determined to make his name. He swears one day he will come back for Annie - but can he be sure she will wait for him?

Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Road to Berry Edge

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Is everyone given a second chance?Ten years after the death of her husband, Faith Norman is surprised to see her brother-in-law, Rob Berkeley, return to their small Durham town.Rob is determined to bring the family business, the foundering steelworks, back to full strength. But for Faith, the resemblance he bears to his brother is a painful reminder of all she has lost.As they get to know each other once more, the likeness gradually becomes more welcome to her healing heart. This may be their one last chance for happiness, but the road is never straight nor smooth...

Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill