Related to: 'Elizabeth Gill'

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyWhen hope is lost, can she rebuild her home?After her daughter Arabella passes away, leaving a poor, motherless child in her wake, Nell Almond doesn't think her life can get any worse. But then tragedy strikes a second time and she finds herself widowed, with her husband's quarry to manage.But it's baby Frederick, her grandson, who troubles her most. Being cared for by one of the local families, he lives in hand-me-down clothes in a cramped and unrefined home. Nell desperately wants him to return to his rightful place, as heir to the quarry, but should she put all her hopes in one child? From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes the next book in the beloved Weardale Sagas, continuing the story begun in The Guardian Angel.

Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.Abby Reed, grieving after the loss of her mother, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside with the brooding Gillan Collingwood, son of a local shipping merchant. It isn't long before she begins to hope that she and Gill might someday be more than friends . . . But then Gill meets his elder brother's new wife Helen, and falls instantly, deeply in love with her. Abby is shattered by the news and throws herself into an imprudent love affair. Her impulse will take her away from the frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

1820. Alice Lee, middle-aged and unmarried, takes in a young murderer, Zebediah Bailey, when he's released from Durham gaol. Their acquaintance had begun when Alice's local Methodist minister had asked his congregation if anybody would help the young man, and Alice had volunteered. Alice dutifully writes him every week, sending him sweets from her shop. And when Zeb comes out and has nowhere to go, Alice takes him back to Stanhope in Weardale with her, much to the horror of her neighbours.A tale of an unlikely friendship set in the atmospheric world of 19th century Durham, this is the first in a new series set in Weardale.

Quercus

Nobody's Child

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will he ever find the life he longs for? Born to a mother who died in childbirth and an uninterested father, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as being blessed with handsome good looks. But his loveless childhood has left its mark. Can he ever find the happiness he yearns for? A moving and uplifting tale of a young boy with big dreams...From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.

Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?Note: this book was previously published under the title Sweet Wells.

Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Torn between love and duty...When Vinia walked down the aisle she knew it was a marriage of practicality: as the owner of the local pit, Joe could provide her with a life of status. But her heart lies with another...With gypsy blood in his veins and an intense passion in his soul, Dryden has always held a torch for Vinia. And with the death of his wife, he vows to make good on the lost years when they were apart.Will Vinia find a new chance of happiness or be forever destined to a loveless marriage?'Original and evocative - a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and destiny perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.When Thomas Grant - one of the most eligible young men in London - proposes to Annabel Seaton, she can't say she's surprised, but she is delighted. He's been her best friend since she was a child, and she can't imagine life without him. What shocks her, however, is the reaction of her mother and father. Annabel knows that her parents disapprove of her forthright opinions, but their displeasure is both unexpected and unaccountable. As they permit the engagement, however, she decides to put it out of her mind. But before she can be married, tragedy strikes, and only then does Annabel learn of the shocking secret that her parents have kept from her. Determined to learn more, she travels to Durham on a personal search that will change everything.

Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Far From My Father's House

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A gritty, emotional saga from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1915. As a child it never mattered to Blake that he has no mother, that no one knew who his father was. He was secure in his grandparents' love, happy on their farm in the Yorkshire dales. But when his grandparents die suddenly, Blake's world collapses.Taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, Blake's life becomes focused on the land - and on his secret love for Annie, his employer's daughter. Annie may love Blake too, but she knows she doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. So Blake leaves for the busy shipyards of Sunderland, determined to make his name. He swears one day he will come back for Annie - but can he be sure she will wait for him?

Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

After surviving a childhood on the streets, can she put her life of poverty behind her? Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival. And just when it looks like her fortunes are about to change, her past comes back to haunt her, with shocking consequences...Elizabeth Gill's next northern saga THE QUARRYMAN'S WIFE is available to preorder now! Just search 9781786482662 Praise for Elizabeth Gil's latest book, SNOW ANGELS, from real readers: 'This is a real love story with twists of family saga' Debra, Amazon reviewer 'Snow angels is a most enchanting book. It keeps you captivated in an exciting world with plenty of twists and turns' Sally, Amazon reviewer 'The story is full of fantastic descriptions of the North Country, where Elizabeth Gill herself has always lived, and which she clearly loves with all her heart.' Amazon reviewer Also by Elizabeth Gill: Snow Angels The Guardian Angel Nobody's Child Miss Appleby's Academy The Singing Winds Far From My Father's House And available to pre-order now: The Quarryman's Wife

Quercus

The Pit Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

To make a home, she must break the rules. Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Singing Winds.

Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Under a Cloud-Soft Sky

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An emotional saga about the meaning of home from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1890, County Durham. Dennes Eliot has worked hard to create a better life for himself. Now a respectable worker at the local Foundry and boarding with his friend Nat, he tries his best to forget his shameful beginnings. But can he really fulfil his dreams in a place where everyone knows his past? Grace Hemingway knows all about the Foundry her father runs, and loves the community built around it. But her parents are grooming her for a stunning London marriage to a man she's not yet met. Can she bear to leave the place she calls home?