Related to: 'Georgia Toffolo'

Quercus

Always Smiling

Georgia Toffolo
Authors:
Georgia Toffolo
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave

'An elegant tale of love and loss, memory and murder, set in an edgy near-future' Daily Mail'The Memory Chamber is captivating from the first page' Daily Express'Will mess with your head' Emerald Street **********True death is a thing of the past...Now you can spend the rest of eternity re-living your happiest memories: that first kiss, falling in love, the birth of your children, enjoyed on loop for ever and ever.Isobel is a Heaven Architect, and she helps dying people create afterlives from these memories. So when she falls for Jarek, one of her terminal - and married - clients, she knows that while she cannot save him, she can create the most beautiful of heavens, just for him.But when Jarek's wife is found dead, Isobel uncovers a darker side of the world she works within, and she can trust no one with what she finds...The Memory Chamber is a thrilling and original story which vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth? Perfect for fans of Black Mirror. **********'Thought-provoking and totally absorbing' Candis'Provocative . . . a thrilling read' Psychologies'Strikingly original and impossible to put down' John Marrs, author of The One

Quercus

How to Count to Infinity

Marcus du Sautoy
Authors:
Marcus du Sautoy
riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny, brilliantly subversive' Louise O'Neill'Highly-polished satire . . . Hilarious' Sunday Times'Funny, fierce, feminist' RedA hilarious romp through the fashion world, perfect for fans of The Devil Wears Prada and How to Murder Your Life. Feisty Cat Ono loves her job at Manhattan's RAGE Magazine: a high life of parties, fashion shows and free designer handbags. But when her best friend Hillary is found dead in her office, she realises that fashion might have a dark side.It doesn't take much convincing by the gorgeous detective, Mark Hutton, to go undercover and find out what really killed Hillary. And when the plan goes terribly wrong, Cat finds herself famous for the very wrong reasons.Can Hutton and Cat uncover this most stylish scandal, before Cat becomes a real fashion victim?

Jo Fletcher Books

Aera Book 7

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz

Part 7 in the fast-paced and thrilling new episodic novella series from award-winning Markus Heitz. The gods are back, the world is in uproar - and only one man will seek the truth.NOVEMBER, 2019I've never believed in any kind of god.But that's a problem when they start manifesting.It was a problem for everyone else too, especially those whose gods did not appear. We are divided, a fractured globe, because you'd question everything you'd believed, wouldn't you? Or would you fight?Because I don't think these really are the gods we've worshipped - Zeus, The Mórrígan, Thor, they can go to hell. We're in the middle of an invasion, and I'm the only one who believes in that reality.My name is Malleus Bourreau, I'm an atheist, an investigator, and I will find the answers.The seventh instalment in the ten-part novella serialisation 'The Return of the Ancient Gods' by award-winning author Markus Heitz.

Quercus

Legal Highs

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson

Legal Highs are without doubt the biggest drug scourge to blight the world since recreational drugs first hit the streets more than 100 years ago. Their growing menace opens up a new front in the drug war, shifting the battle line from the Colombian jungles, Moroccan valleys, Afghan hills and the Winnebagos of New Mexico to especially constructed laboratories on the outskirts of Shanghai and other cities across the globe.But who are the shadowy characters behind the extravagant new drugs such as 'bath salts' and 'Miaow Miaow'? The scientists, the rogue boffins, the factory sweat-shop workers, the smugglers, the suppliers, and, ultimately, the dealers who sell tens of millions of packets of these substances every week? Why are so many people from all walks of life now consuming Legal Highs in such large quantities? This book will go inside the lives of all these people to reveal for the first time the true stories behind the emergence of the most deadly narcotics the world has ever seen.

Quercus

The Clandestine Cake Club: A Year of Cake

Lynn Hill
Authors:
Lynn Hill

Following the success of their first recipe collection, the Clandestine Cake Club is back with a second delicious helping. Inspired by the most cake-worthy moments throughout the year, founder Lynn Hill and her army of Cake Club members have compiled 100 gorgeous recipes to whet your appetite and get you celebrating.Arranged month by month, you'll find cakes to suit all the best-known dates in the calendar - such as Christmas, Mother's Day, Easter and Halloween - plus countless other occasions that deserve to be celebrated, from international holidays (Chinese New Year, Thanksgiving) and religious festivals (Diwali, Mardi Gras) to major sporting events (Wimbledon, the London Marathon) and the birthdays of iconic figures, including Shakespeare, Elvis Presley and the Queen - not forgetting the queen of baking, Mary Berry! Whether you fancy rocking out at Glastonbury, shaking your stuff at the Notting Hill Carnival, tapping your feet to the Last Night of the Proms, or smelling the roses at the Chelsea Flower Show, there's a recipe here to get the party started.The cakes themselves hail from far and wide: some feel homegrown - such as Toffee Apple Gingerbread, Rhubarb Crumble & Custard Cake, and Strawberry Pimm's Cake - while others promise a taste of the exotic - Chocolate Key Lime Cake, Persimmon, Yogurt & Pecan Cake, and Matcha Chiffon Cake. Club members love to innovate, offering up such temptations as Sea Salted Caramel Cake, Passionfruit Caipirinha Cake, and Canadian Maple Syrup & Bacon Cake. Each recipe is served up with a little slice of history, revealing the curious traditions behind the cakes and intriguing stories about the occasions that inspired them. Accompanied by gorgeously styled photographs, this book gives every cake-lover a reason to celebrate.

MacLehose Press

The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Quercus

Chelsea Bird

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

The debut novel of acclaimed writer Virginia Ironside, author of No, I Don't Want to join a Bookclub, originally published in 1964, when she was aged just twenty. London, 1960s. A cultural revolution is taking place. Young people are finally being seen as a force to be reckoned with. But for eighteen-year-old art student Harriet and her Chelsea friends, this amounts to one thing: being'In'. The King's Road swarms with people wanting to see and be seen; upper-class boys with faux cockney accents party with models, beatniks and photographers; teddy boys are good people to nod to in the street; transport caffs are the must-go places for food, and black men have suddenly become the people to know. Through Harriet's eyes, Virginia Ironside paints a witty, tongue-in-cheek portrait of life in 1960's London that will strike a nostalgic chord with all those who were there, and make all those who weren't wish they had been.

Quercus

Could It Be I'm Falling In Love?

Eleanor Prescott
Authors:
Eleanor Prescott

Quercus

Boulle's Jewels

Francis Boulle
Authors:
Francis Boulle

Quercus

If You're Reading This, I'm Already Dead

Andrew Nicoll
Authors:
Andrew Nicoll

Otto Witte. Acrobat of Hamburg. King of Albania.Sitting in his caravan, drinking what is left of his coffee (dust), Otto has narrowly escaped death at the hands of allied bombs. Convinced his luck has run out and he will not see morning, he decides to record the story of his life for the poor soul who finds his body.And what a story it is. Years earlier, when he was in either Buda or Pest, working at the circus, a newspaper article was brought to his attention. Why? Because in it was a picture of a particular Turkish prince, called to Albania to be their new king. And this prince just so happened to bear a striking resemblance to Otto . . .A plan is formed, adventure is born and with the help of Otto's friends, enemies (and a camel), Otto is about to give the performance of his life.

Quercus

'Scuse Me While I Kiss the Sky

Paolo Hewitt
Authors:
Paolo Hewitt

riverrun

Measuring the World

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

Measuring the World recreates the parallel but contrasting lives of two geniuses of the German Enlightenment - the naturalist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and the mathematician and physicist Carl Friedrich Gauss. Towards the end of the 18th century, these two brilliant young Germans set out to measure the world. Humboldt, a Prussian aristocrat schooled for greatness, negotiates savannah and jungle, climbs the highest mountain then known to man, counts head lice on the heads of the natives, and explores every hole in the ground. Gauss, a man born in poverty who will be recognised as the greatest mathematician since Newton, does not even need to leave his home in Göttingen to know that space is curved. He can run prime numbers in his head, cannot imagine a life without women and yet jumps out of bed on his wedding night to jot down a mathematical formula. Measuring the World is a novel of rare charm and readability, distinguished by its sly humour and unforgettable characterization. It brings the two eccentric geniuses to life, their longings and their weaknesses, their balancing act between loneliness and love, absurdity and greatness, failure and success.

Quercus

Women Who Kill

Vanessa Howard
Authors:
Vanessa Howard

Francis Boulle

Francis Maximilien Yvan Christophe Boulle is a 24-year-old diamond mining heir and IT entrepreneur and one of the bright, young stars of the cult hit, Made in Chelsea. When not running one of his many businesses, Francis can be found playing Polo in Argentina, surfing in Kauai or soaking up the sun at the Monaco Grand Prix. Francis is CEO of www.fundmine.com and has been ranked by Tatler as one of London's most eligible young men for three years running. This is his first book.

Georgia Pritchett

Georgia Pritchett is a comedy writer who has written for a number of TV comedies and comedians including The Thick Of It, Veep, Miranda, Have I Got News For You, Smack the Pony, Graham Norton, Jo Brand, Paul Merton, Lenny Henry, Ronnie Corbett, Wallace and Gromit and several other real, fictional and occasionally plasticine people. Wilf the Mighty Worrier is Georgia's first work for children. She lives in London with her husband and two children.

22 Feb
Sunley Pavilion at Royal Festival Hall

Georgia Pritchett at the Imagine Festival

1:15pm - 3pm

Comedy writer Georgia Pritchett invites children to join in with a fun and interactive event at the Imagine Festival, which is celebrating all things 'Children's Literature'. Georgia, the author of Wilf the Mighty Worrier: Saves the World, will be helping children work through their worries through drawing, imagination and laughter using Wilf's 'worry checklist'. Click here to find out more information about this event.

Holly Cave

Holly Cave was born in sunny Torquay in 1983. She received a BSc in Biology and an MSc in Science Communication from Imperial College London, after which she spent four years working at the Science Museum in London. After a career break to travel the world, Holly became a freelance writer and now writes about science and technology alongside her fiction. She lives in Bedford with her husband, baby son and dog. The Memory Chamber is her first novel with Quercus, although she wrote a number of unpublished works with her father on his typewriter in the 1990s.

Privacy Notice