Related to: 'Sophie Hamley'

Quercus

Escape to the French Farmhouse

Victoria Brownlee
Authors:
Victoria Brownlee

Ella moved to Paris on a whim - and found happily ever after.But after six months of romantic bliss, living with her French boyfriend, cheesemonger Serge, Ella's new life is thrown off course. An unplanned pregnancy doesn't seem too bad, until Serge unexpectedly decides to move their growing family to a goat farm in the Loire Valley, without consulting Ella.Can Ella and Serge's relationship survive their relocation to the depths of the French countryside?A heart-warming and joyful romance, for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella

MacLehose Press

White Shadow

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

The sequel to the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted The UnseenNo-one can be alone on an island . . . But Ingrid is alone on Barrøy, the island that bears her name, while the war of her childhood has been replaced by a new more terrible war and Norway is under the Nazi boot.When the bodies from a bombed troopship begin to wash up on the shore, Ingrid cannot know that one will be alive and warm enough to erase a lifetime of loneliness.She cannot know what she will suffer in protecting her lover from the Germans and their Norwegian collaborators, nor the journey she will face, wrenched from her island once more, to return home.Or that, amid the suffering of war, among refugees fleeing famine and scorched-earth retreats, she will be given a gift whose value is beyond measure.Reviews for The Unseen"Easily among the best books I have ever read" Eileen Battersby, Irish Times"The Unseen is a blunt, brilliant book" Tom Graham, Guardian"The Unseen is a towering achievement that would be a deserved Booker International winner" Charlie Connolly, New EuropeanTranslated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw

riverrun

The Book of Forgotten Authors

Christopher Fowler
Authors:
Christopher Fowler
Quercus

Escape to the Paris Cheese Shop

Victoria Brownlee
Authors:
Victoria Brownlee
Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
MacLehose Press

Stick Together

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

After their successful solving of three cold cases and exposing corruption at the very highest level of the Paris police force, Anne Capestan's squad of misfits and no-hopers should be in a celebratory mood. However, now despised by their colleagues at 36 quai des Orfèvres and worried for their future, morale has never been lower among the members of the Awkward Squad.Capestan does her best to motivate her troops, but even she cannot maintain a cheerful façade when she has to investigate the murder of Commissaire Serge Rufus, the father of her ex-husband. Worse, it soon appears that his murder is linked to two other victims, both of whom were warned by the killer before they struck . . .

Quercus

Return to the Italian Quarter

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

'A fascinating account of Italian life, written with skill and insight' Katie FfordeSophie is only a quarter Italian. But that quarter is her charismatic grandfather Cesare, and he has instilled in her a great love of her Italian heritage. So when a journalist starts to investigate Cesare's war record, Sophie is reluctant to question just how proud she should really be. She embarks upon a journey into the past which takes her from nineteenth-century Naples to London's Italian quarter and one of the Second World War's forgotten tragedies. And along the way she also learns something very important about herself...

riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny, brilliantly subversive' Louise O'Neill'Highly-polished satire . . . Hilarious' Sunday Times'Funny, fierce, feminist' RedCat Ono, feminist powerhouse and high-flying editor at RAGE magazine, knows the price of fashion. Her friend - found dead in her office - just paid it. Everyone thinks Hillary dieted to death, but Cat suspects if beauty kills, it'd take more than that. She's sure she can match the investigating skills of the smart (and conveniently hot) Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case and achieve sartorial perfection.But when Cat goes undercover, she gets in over her head. Soon she's snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.

Quercus

Five Go Down Under

Sophie Hamley
Authors:
Sophie Hamley
Quercus

One Summer in Tuscany

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

Rivalries and romance in a Tuscan paradise. A relaxing writers' retreat? If only! Perfect holiday reading from Domenica de Rosa, author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series under the name Elly Griffiths. Previously published as SUMMER SCHOOL.Patricia Wilson's carefully composed ads for the writers' retreat she runs at her thirteenth-century Italian castle promise so much. But while the splendour of their surroundings and chef Aldo's melanzane never fail to wow the guests, huge maintenance bills and bad news from the bank threaten to close Patricia down. It's make or break time for the Castello.Each of her seven aspiring authors arrives with the inevitable baggage alongside their unpublished manuscripts. But this August something is different, and soon lifelong spinster Mary is riding on the back of Aldo's vespa, and smouldering odd-job man Fabio has set more than one heart racing.As temperatures rise, the writers gossip, flirt and gently polish their prose by the pool. But with ghosts, scorpions, and some unexpected visitors to contend with, one thing's for sure: neither the Castello, nor Patricia, has ever seen a summer like this.

Quercus

Sweet After Death

Valentina Giambanco
Authors:
Valentina Giambanco
Quercus

The Nazi Hunters

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis

The Nazi Hunters is the incredible, hitherto untold story of the most secret chapter in the SAS's history. Officially, the world's most elite special forces unit was dissolved at the end of the Second World War, and not reactivated until the 1950s. Among their last actions was a disastrous commando raid into occupied France in 1944, which ended in the capture, torture and execution of 31 soldiers.It can now be revealed that the SAS never was dissolved: it lived on, commanded personally by Churchill and hidden even from the British government. They were tasked with hunting through the ruins of the Reich for the SS commanders responsible for the murder of their comrades, including many who had escaped the failed justice of the Nuremberg trials. Along the way, they discovered before anyone else the full horror of Hitler's regime, and the growing threat from Stalin's Russia.Still studied by the SAS today and a central part of their founding myth, the story of the Nazi hunters is now told by bestselling author Damien Lewis.

Quercus

50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know

Joanne Baker
Authors:
Joanne Baker

We encounter physics before we've even left the house in the morning; an alarm clock tracks time, a mirror reflects light waves and our mobile phones rely on satellites held in their orbit by gravity. Where would we be without the Bernoulli equation to explain how planes fly, electromagnetic waves enabling us to communicate around the world or the discovery of X-rays? In 50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know Joanne Baker will uncover the physics all around us, from basic concepts like gravity, light and energy through to the complexities of quantum theory, chaos and dark energy. Featuring short biographies of iconic physicists, explanatory diagrams and timelines showing discoveries within their historical context, this book is the perfect guide to the fundamental concepts of physics, making even the most challenging theories easy to understand. Contents include: Newton's law of gravitation, Brownian motion, Chaos theory, Fleming's right hand rule, Planck's law, Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, Schrodinger's cat, Superconductivity, Rutherford's atom, Nuclear fission and fusion, The God particle, String theory, Special and general relativity, The big bang and the Anthropic principle.

Quercus

The Zookeeper's War

Steven Conte
Authors:
Steven Conte

It is 1943 and each night in a bomb shelter beneath the Berlin Zoo an Australian woman, Vera, shelters with her German husband, Axel, the zoo's director.Together, they struggle to look after the animals through the air raids and food shortages. When the zoo's staff is drafted into the army, forced labourers are sent in as replacements. At first, Vera finds the idea abhorrent, but gradually she realizes that the new workers are the zoo's only hope, and forms an unlikely bond with one of them.This is a city where a foreign accent is a constant source of suspicion, where busybodies report the names of neighbours' dinner guests to the Gestapo. As tensions mount in the closing days of the war, nothing and no one, it seems, can be trusted.The Zookeeper's War is a powerful novel of a marriage, and of a city collapsing. It confronts not only the brutality of war but the possibility of heroism - and delivers an ending that is both shocking and deeply moving.

Quercus

Dark Heart

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

Under the African sun, the shadow of the past is never far away. During the Rwandan genocide, three foreigners - UN worker Carmel Shang, military doctor Richard Dunlop, and journalist Liesl Nel - were forced to stand by, powerless to prevent the massacre and unable to escape witnessing the horrors. 20 years later, scattered across the world, the wounds of Rwanda still run deep. Now, a tattered photograph that was clutched in the hand of a dying man holds a clue that brings them back together... and hides a secret that is making them a target of an assassin. Hunted through South Africa's Kruger National Park to Zambia, Australia, and back to Rwanda, the three must bring themselves to confront not just the scars of a nation and a continent, but of their own hearts.

Heron Books

Karama!

Johnny West
Authors:
Johnny West

Victoria Brownlee

Victoria Brownlee is a food writer and editor, currently based in Paris. She started writing about food over eight years ago, first as a blogger, and then as the Food & Drink Editor at 'Time Out Shanghai'. She has an MA (Publishing and Communications) from the University of Melbourne, Australia, and continues to write freelance articles on food trends across Europe. This is her first novel.

Joanne Baker

Joanne Baker studied Natural Sciences at Cambridge and took her PhD at the University of Sydney in 1995. She is a physical science editor at Science magazine, where her speciality is space and earth science.

Nigel Cawthorne

Nigel Cawthorne is the author of a number of successful true crime and popular history books. His writing has appeared in over 150 newspapers, magazines and partworks - from the Sun to the Financial Times, and from Flatbush Life to The New York Tribune. He lives in London.

Privacy Notice