Related to: 'Lynette Rees'

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyWhen Dinah's mother walks out on Christmas Eve, her father - drunk as usual, and thinking she is her mother - forces himself on her. Finding herself pregnant, she runs away and is taken into the care of a group of nuns.Sister Madeline Armstrong and three others have been tasked with setting up a school to help the lost girls of south west Durham, and so Dinah becomes the first student of 'The Foundling School for Girls'.Together, the sisters bring aid to the orphans they take in, but when former street-child Jay returns to Newcastle, Maddy is suddenly torn between the love of her life and her calling to help the children... From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes a new series about the lost orphans of Durham and the nuns who take them in...

Quercus

The Cobbler's Wife

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

A Daughter's Promise

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif.Eighteen-year-old seamstress Kathryn Flynn lives in Whitechapel, London, struggling to support her widowed mother and younger siblings. But when her work starts drying up and her mother falls ill, she is forced to consider desperate measures . . .Then she meets 'Squire', an older city gentleman, who falls instantly in love with her and offers to take her under his wing. 'Squire' could give Kathryn the life she's always wanted . . . but is there something darker lurking beneath his kindness? What readers are saying about Lynette Rees:'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer *****'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer *****'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer *****'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Matchgirl

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIFSixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make...Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...?(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Workhouse Waif

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Ten Reasons Not to Fall In Love

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'I love Tracy's writing' Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late... How much can a place change your life?1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.Tracy Rees' latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!*** Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS... 'My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees' best to date' Amazon reviewer'Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters' Kathryn Hughes'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley'A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery' Rachel Hore'A story about second chances ... A triumphant third novel' Amazon reviewer'A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far' Amazon Reviewer***Also by Tracy Rees:Amy SnowFlorence GraceDarling Blue

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A young man who's lost his way. A grieving girl who needs a hand to hold...Middle-aged and unmarried, and stil recovering from her parents' deaths, Alice Lee is the only volunteer when her church asks for someone to help young Zebediah Bailey, in prison for a ghastly crime. She dutifully writes to him every week, sending him sweets from her little shop. Her neighbours deeply disapprove of their growing relationship, and when Zeb is released from gaol, it could be a new beginning, or the undoing of them both . . .'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry on Nobody's Child

Quercus

Nobody's Child

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry. A moving tearjearker for fans of Maggie Hope and Dilly Court. 'Kath walked for so long that she wanted to lie down in the snow and sleep but she thought of her sister and knew she must go on. Soon the snow was so deep that she couldn't move. She could feel her shoes disintegrating and her feet were numb. The sky cleared and a great big moon came out and there were so many stars. She remembered what her mother had said before she died, that each star was one of her people. She musn't give up now . . .'When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters' bond be strong enough to see them to safety?From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity.

Quercus

Florence Grace

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Possibly the most wonderful book I've ever read. A complete joy' Amazon reviewerFlorrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall where she runs wild in the mysterious landscape. But when Florrie turns fourteen, she inherits a never-imagined secret: she is related to a wealthy and notorious London family, the Graces. Overnight, her life changes and she moves from country to city, from poverty to wealth. Cut off from everyone she has ever known, Florrie must learn the rules of this strange new world if she is ever to fit in... The stunning new novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lisa Wingate's Before We Were Yous and Dinah Jefferies. ***Tracy Rees' latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Torn between love and duty...When Vinia walked down the aisle she knew it was a marriage of practicality: as the owner of the local pit, Joe could provide her with a life of status. But her heart lies with another...With gypsy blood in his veins and an intense passion in his soul, Dryden has always held a torch for Vinia. And with the death of his wife, he vows to make good on the lost years when they were apart.Will Vinia find a new chance of happiness or be forever destined to a loveless marriage?'Original and evocative - a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

The Dress Thief

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Vintage Girl

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne

When Evie Nicholson is asked to visit Kettlesheer Castle in Scotland to archive the family heirlooms, she jumps at the chance. Evie's passion for antiques means that, for her, the castle is a treasure trove of mysteries just waiting to be uncovered. But in each heirloom lies a story, and in the course of her investigations Evie stumbles upon some long-buried family secrets. Add handsome, gloomy heir Robert McAndrew and a traditional candlelit gala to the mix, and Evie's heart is sent reeling with an enthusiasm that may just extend beyond the Kettlesheer silver... What readers are saying about Hester Browne: 'What a delicious, witty story, I loved it!' Sophie Kinsella 'Deliciously addictive, feel-good comedy - perfect for lazy days on the beach' Cosmopolitan 'Funny and flirty, we guarantee you'll devour this book in one sitting' Glamour

Quercus

The Villa

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

THE #1 KINDLE BESTSELLER. An unforgettable story set off the sun-soaked coast of Sicily for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********When Tess Angel receives a solicitor's letter inviting her to claim her inheritance - the Villa Sirena, perched on a clifftop in Sicily - she is stunned. Her only link to the island is through her mother, Flavia, who left Sicily during World War II and cut all contact with her family. When Tess goes to Sicily, Flavia realises the secrets from her past are about to be revealed and decides to try to explain her actions. Meanwhile, Tess' teenage daughter Ginny is stressed by college, by her blooming sexuality and filled with questions that she longs to ask her father, if only she knew where he was...********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

Linda Green

Linda Green is the bestselling author of eight novels. Her latest novel, After I've Gone, published by Quercus, is a top five Amazon kindle bestseller. Her previous novel, While My Eyes Were Closed, was the fourth bestselling novel on Amazon kindle in 2016, selling more than 450,000 copies across all editions. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son