Related to: 'Lynette Rees'

Quercus

The House of Stone and Stars

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

1899, South YorkshireFourteen-year-old Tommy has been destined to a life working down the mines since the moment he was born. But he has bigger plans for his future.His best friend Josie from the neighbouring village is equally restless. The wealthy family that owns the mines are dictating harsher conditions than ever.The one source of intrigue and pleasure in their grim Yorkshire life is their fascination with the deserted house between their two villages. Heston Manor has been shut up and uninhabited for years following a family tragedy. And when they discover that its mysteries aren't all in the past, their lives change forever...'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies.

Quercus

The Second Time We Met

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Finn and Kaz are about to meet for the first time. Ten-year-old Finn, a quirky, sensitive boy who talks a lot and only eats at cafes with a 5-star hygiene rating, is having a tough time at school and home. Outspoken Kaz, 59, who has an acerbic sense of humour and a heart of gold, is working at the café when Finn and his mum come in. They don't know it yet, but the second time they meet will be a moment which changes both of their lives forever . . .

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyWhen Ruth's mother walks out on Christmas Eve, her father - drunk as usual, and thinking she is her mother - forces himself on her. Finding herself pregnant, she runs away and is taken into the care of a group of nuns.Sister Madeline Armstrong and three others have been tasked with setting up a school to help the lost girls of south west Durham, and so Dinah becomes the first student of 'The Foundling School for Girls'.Together, the sisters bring aid to the orphans they take in, but when former street-child Jay returns to Newcastle, Maddy is suddenly torn between the love of her life and her calling to help the children... From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes a new series about the lost orphans of Durham and the nuns who take them in...

Quercus

The Cobbler's Wife

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

The Matchgirl

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIFSixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make...Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...?Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Quercus

A Daughter's Promise

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif.Eighteen-year-old seamstress Kathryn Flynn lives in Whitechapel, London, struggling to support her widowed mother and younger siblings. But when her work starts drying up and her mother falls ill, she is forced to consider desperate measures . . .Then she meets 'Squire', an older city gentleman, who falls instantly in love with her and offers to take her under his wing. 'Squire' could give Kathryn the life she's always wanted . . . but is there something darker lurking beneath his kindness? What readers are saying about Lynette Rees:'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer *****'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer *****'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer *****'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Workhouse Waif

Lynette Rees
Authors:
Lynette Rees
Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Ten Reasons Not to Fall In Love

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Indulge yourself with this tearjerker about second loves and second chances...Jo Gilroy, an award-winning TV news reporter, gave her heart away once. She won't be making the same mistake again. Having been dumped by Richard, the father of her toddler son Alfie, she returns to work to find she has been demoted and that Richard is now her boss. As she tries to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, she resolves to never fall in love again. But then along comes enigmatic children's entertainer Dan Brady, who is a huge hit with Alfie. Just as she wonders if she can risk opening her heart again, dark secrets from Dan's past emerge and Jo discovers that he has his own reasons not to fall in love.From the bestselling author of And Then It Happened comes a heartbreaking novel about starting over.***Have you read Linda Green yet? 'I wanted to compare the author to Gillian Flynn or Alice Sebold . . . Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse'Clever and compelling . . . this is brave story, which is touching right down to the final word. I so enjoyed this book' Dorothy Koomson 'Enjoyable, original and intriguing' B A Paris***Also by Linda Green:After I've GoneAnd Then It HappenedThings I Wish I'd KnownI Did a Bad ThingWhile My Eyes Were ClosedThe Last Thing She Told Me***Linda's next emotional page-turner, THE SECOND TIME WE MET, is now available to pre-order!!

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'I love Tracy's writing' Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late... How much can a place change your life?1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.Tracy Rees' latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!*** Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS... 'My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees' best to date' Amazon reviewer'Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters' Kathryn Hughes'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley'A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery' Rachel Hore'A story about second chances ... A triumphant third novel' Amazon reviewer'A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far' Amazon Reviewer***Also by Tracy Rees:Amy SnowFlorence GraceDarling Blue

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A young man who's lost his way. A grieving girl who needs a hand to hold...Middle-aged and unmarried, and stil recovering from her parents' deaths, Alice Lee is the only volunteer when her church asks for someone to help young Zebediah Bailey, in prison for a ghastly crime. She dutifully writes to him every week, sending him sweets from her little shop. Her neighbours deeply disapprove of their growing relationship, and when Zeb is released from gaol, it could be a new beginning, or the undoing of them both . . .'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry on Nobody's Child

Quercus

Nobody's Child

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Florence Grace

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

The Dress Thief

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
Quercus

The Villa

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Linda Green

Linda Green is the bestselling author of eight novels. Her latest novel, After I've Gone, published by Quercus, is a top five Amazon kindle bestseller. Her previous novel, While My Eyes Were Closed, was the fourth bestselling novel on Amazon kindle in 2016, selling more than 450,000 copies across all editions. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.