Related to: 'The Demi-Monde'

Quercus

Little Boy Found

LK Fox
Authors:
LK Fox
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes

WHO IS VERNON SUBUTEX?An urban legend. A fall from grace. The mirror who reflects us all.Vernon Subutex was once the proprietor of Revolver, an infamous music shop in Bastille. His legend spread throughout Paris. But by the 2000s his shop is struggling. With his savings gone, his unemployment benefit cut, and the friend who had been covering his rent suddenly dead, Vernon Subutex finds himself down and out on the Paris streets.He has one final card up his sleeve. Even as he holds out his hand to beg for the first time, a throwaway comment he once made on Facebook is taking the internet by storm. Vernon does not realise this, but the word is out: Vernon Subutex has in his possession the last filmed recordings of Alex Bleach, the famous musician and Vernon's benefactor, who has only just died of a drug overdose. A crowd of people from record producers to online trolls and porn stars are now on Vernon's trail.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Quercus

The Wardrobe Mistress

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans

From the award-winning author of The Dress Thief comes a love story set in the glittering world of London theatre. Perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Lucinda Riley.London 1945. A young war widow steps aboard a train in search of a new life. Clutching the key to a mysterious inheritance, Vanessa Kingcourt can no longer resist the pull of the old Farren Theatre - an enchanted place seeped in memories of her actor father. Now owned by troubled former captain Alistair Redenhall, The Farren is in need of a Wardrobe Mistress and a new lease of life. With no experience and no budget for supplies, Vanessa must use her intuition to create beautiful costumes from whatever scraps of silk and thread survived the blitz. It's a seemingly impossible task, but a welcome distraction as she struggles to resist her blossoming feelings for Alistair. What Vanessa discovers could unravel family secrets sewn deep into the very fabric of the London theatre scene . . . but will she repeat the same terrible mistakes her father made? And can she dare to love a man who will never be hers?

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

Fatal Pursuit

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

The Homecoming

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all.

Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets.'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer. When Amy is abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, she is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. The masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming and Amy's only friend and ally is the sparkling young heiress Aurelia Vennaway. So when Aurelia tragically dies young, Amy is devastated. But Aurelia leaves Amy one last gift. A bundle of letters with a coded key. A treasure hunt that only Amy can follow. A life-changing discovery awaits . . . if only she can unlock the secret. Discover more from Tracy Rees with her next heartwarming historical mystery, Florence Grace.

Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
Jo Fletcher Books

The Demi-Monde: Fall

Rod Rees
Authors:
Rod Rees

The Demi-Monde is about to reach its catastrophic conclusion . . .For thousands of years the Grigori have lain hidden, dreaming of the day when they will emerge from the darkness. Now that day draws close. Norma, Trixie and Ella fight doggedly to frustrate these plans, but they need help. Percy Shelley must lead Norma to the Portal in NoirVille so she can return to the Real World. Trixie's father must convince her that, if she is to destroy the Great Pyramid standing in Terror Incognita, she must be prepared to die. And Vanka Maykov - though not the man she knew and loved - must guide Ella to the secret enclave of the Grigori, where she will face the most chilling of enemies. In this explosive finale to the Demi-Monde series, our heroes will come to understand that resisting evil will require courage, resolve . . . and sacrifice.

Quercus

The Heavenly Ice Cream Shop

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

The bestselling emotional saga set in County Durham. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Emma Appleby's arrival in the County Durham village of Tow Law is sudden and mysterious, provoking deep suspicion in the locals. And because she has a child with her, seemingly out of marriage, they want nothing to do with her - except for pub landlord Mick Castle. When Emma opens an academy and sets herself up in competition with the local school, she provokes a savage response from the community. But she will not be deterred - even when her past catches up with her and Mick is forced to choose between his heart and his family.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Demi-Monde: Summer

Rod Rees
Authors:
Rod Rees
MacLehose Press

The Black Path

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson
Quercus

How to Solve the Da Vinci Code

Richard Elwes
Authors:
Richard Elwes

Jo Fletcher Books

The Demi-Monde: Spring

Rod Rees
Authors:
Rod Rees

The shadows grow ever darker across the Demi-Monde. As the soldiers of Heydrich's ForthRight goose-step into Paris and the long-forgotten evil that is Lilith is awoken, it falls to Norma Williams to lead the resistance. Lost in the virtual nightmare that is the Demi-Monde she must come to terms with these terrible responsibilities and with the knowledge that those she thought were her friends are now her enemies.To triumph in this surreal cyber-world she must be more than she ever believed she could be . . . or perish.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Demi-Monde: Winter

Rod Rees
Authors:
Rod Rees

'We want you to go to hell, Miss Thomas.' For five million bucks Ella is prepared to give even hell - or in this case, the Demi-Monde - a shot. And all she has to do to earn it is find the President's daughter and lead her to safety. But as Ella discovers, getting into the Demi-Monde is the easy part; surviving to collect her money is quite another. With thirty million digital-Duplicates at war in the cyber-killing field that is the US Military's virtual-training ground, the Demi-Monde is a challenging place - especially as the Dupes are programmed with a craving for blood and are led by some of history's most vicious tyrants. And the many bizarre conceits in the Demi-Monde have a sinister reason behind them. In the Demi-Monde Ella can trust nothing and nobody . . . not even herself.

Quercus

A Game of Sorrows

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean

riverrun

Romanno Bridge

Andrew Greig
Authors:
Andrew Greig

The hunt for the crowning stone of the Dalriadic kings, the Stone of Scone, has begun.'You could easily make a case that Andrew Greig has the greatest range of any living Scottish writer' - ScotsmanA motorcyclist with a stolen ring walks into Rothiemurchus Forest and finds a quiet place to die. A woman with an eventful past has signed the Official Secrets Act and gone to Dumfries to forget a man and keep out of trouble. In comfortable Crieff, a retired historian publishes an obscure article on the survival of the Stone of Destiny then has his throat cut. A man with a long blade in a tan holster under his suit, a fondness for bird-watching, and memories of his short-lived Punk band Anger Management, has taken a commission to retrieve an object so valuable and mythic it might not exist. A rugby-playing half-Maori named Leo Nagotoa stands in the sleet by Romanno Bridge in the Scottish Borders, trying to thumb a lift when his Destiny slithers up alongside him. Some of the cast of The Return of John Macnab are back, but the times and the mood have changed. Romanno Bridge is a wintry thriller, an entertainment, a quest and an exploration of contemporary themes of fakes, frauds, copies, and a struggle to find the Real Thing, wherever and whatever it might be.