Related to: 'The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles'

Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

By Blood Divided

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

'Wonderful history, adventure and a heart-breaking love story are brought thrillingly to life' - Kate Mosse 'A dramatic read from the very outset' - Simon Scarrow Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change.Siward, scion of a great dynasty, commands the Varangian Guard and has vowed to defend the Roman Empire to the last. Makkim, renowned general to Ottoman rule, has vowed to destroy it.They are enemies in war, but unknown to them, they are also rivals to inherit one of Europe's greatest fortunes. Even worse, they are competing for the love of the same woman.Their vast inheritance lies in Venice, as does the famous courtesan they both love. She is the reason they will find themselves fighting on the walls of Constantinople, in one of the most dramatic sieges in history.(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.Emily has a satisfying job, fab friends and, most importantly, a wonderful flat, exactly 411 miles away from the judgemental, interfering family she reluctantly sees once a year. In fact, the only minor stress in her life is her twenty-something neighbour Evan and his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex . . . but he's nothing she can't handle. Emily also has a boyfriend called Robert and it's going really well. So well, in fact, that Emily is hoping to take him home to meet her family. Finally no more pitying looks from her younger, married siblings. But when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is gutted. How on earth is she going to face her family now? Enlisting the help of party-boy Evan, Emily is determined for Robert to meet the parents come hell or high water, even if it isn't the real Robert . . .

MacLehose Press

The Unseen

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

Shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017Nobody can leave an island. An island is a cosmos in a nutshell, where the stars slumber in the grass beneath the snow. But occasionally someone tries . . . Ingrid Barrøy is born on an island that bears her name - a holdfast for a single family, their livestock, their crops, their hopes and dreams.Her father dreams of building a quay that will connect them to the mainland, but closer ties to the wider world come at a price. Her mother has her own dreams - more children, a smaller island, a different life - and there is one question Ingrid must never ask her.Island life is hard, a living scratched from the dirt or trawled from the sea, so when Ingrid comes of age, she is sent to the mainland to work for one of the wealthy families on the coast.But Norway too is waking up to a wider world, a modern world that is capricious and can be cruel. Tragedy strikes, and Ingrid must fight to protect the home she thought she had left behind.Translated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw

Quercus

The Thirteenth Coffin

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

The Lady From Zagreb

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

An exotic tale of lost family secrets from the #1 Kindle Bestseller'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best**********After the death of her beloved mother, Nell travels from rural Cornwall to the colour and chaos of Marrakech. Her marriage may be on the rocks, but exploring the heady delights of Moroccan cuisine could help her fulfil her dream of opening her own restaurant. It's there she meets Amy - a young photographer trying to unravel the story behind her family's involvement in the Vietnam War. The two women develop a close friendship and discover a surprising connection between their own pasts. This connection will take Nell and Amy on a journey to find their own 'saffron trail' - from the labyrinthine medina and bustle of Moroccan bazaars all the way back home to Cornwall and to the heart of their families' origins.********SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

MacLehose Press

Borders

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Heron Books

The Towers of Samarcand

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

'One hell of a fine book' Conn IgguldenCAN THE GREATEST WARRIOR OF THE AGE AND A LOST ANGLO-SAXON TREASURE BE UNITED IN TIME TO RESCUE CONSTANTINOPLE?With an Ottoman army at the gates and Constantinople set to submit, Luke Magoris must make an epic journey across a continent to the ancient city of Samarcand to approach the last hope for the Byzantine world; the Mongolian conqueror Tamerlane. Luke, torn away from the woman he loves and all he knows, is trained as a Mongol warrior to impress Tamerlane and his army before joining his fellow Varangian guards, descendants of the men who once brought a vital treasure out of Constantinople. It is this treasure, some say, that can still save the empire - uniting the Christian churches of the east and west in one final triumphant crusade to smite the Ottomans. Set against the vast backdrop of the Anatolian plains, this is a powerful and enthralling historical novel, full of vivid characters, compelling mystery and sensational battles.

Quercus

The Ghost Hunters

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.

Quercus

The Singing Winds

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Shelter from the Storm

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

1877, Durham. After a traumatic incident, a woman gives birth to a child and is persuaded by her husband to give him up to a local couple. On the same dark and stormy night, a local pit owner turns his wife out on to the bleak moors, telling her son she is evil. The woman is never seen again.1897, DurhamThese childhood events, seemingly unrelated, have shaped the characters of these two unloved boys, now men. And they in turn are about to change the lives of two innocent young women, as the past reaches out and casts a shadow over the present.

Quercus

Far From My Father's House

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

When Blake's grandparents die suddenly, his world collapses. Parentless and friendless, he is taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, where he meets the beautiful Annie, his employer's daughter. But Annie doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. Will he ever see her again?A gritty, emotional saga about love and second chances from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Quercus

Under a Cloud-Soft Sky

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An emotional saga about the meaning of home from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.1890, County Durham. Dennes Eliot has worked hard to create a better life for himself. Now a respectable worker at the local Foundry and boarding with his friend Nat, he tries his best to forget his shameful beginnings. But can he really fulfil his dreams in a place where everyone knows his past? Grace Hemingway knows all about the Foundry her father runs, and loves the community built around it. But her parents are grooming her for a stunning London marriage to a man she's not yet met. Can she bear to leave the place she calls home?

MacLehose Press

Child Wonder

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

Anuradha Roy

Anuradha Roy's novel Sleeping on Jupiter was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2016 and won the D.S.C. prize for South Asian Literature. She won the Economist Crossword Prize, India's premier award for fiction, for her novel The Folded Earth, which was nominated for several other prizes including the Man Asia, the D.S.C., and the Hindu Literary Award. Her first novel, An Atlas of Impossible Longing, has been widely translated and was named one of the best books of the year by the Washington Post and The Seattle Times.

Damien Lewis

Damien Lewis has spent twenty years reporting from war, disaster and conflict zones around the world. He has written a dozen non-fiction and fiction books, topping bestseller lists worldwide, and is published in some thirty languages. Two of his books are being made into feature films.

Laurie Graham

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, most recently The Grand Duchess of Nowhere and The Night in Question (2015), Laurie lives in Dublin. Visit her website at www.lauriegraham.com

Roy Jacobsen

Roy Jacobsen has twice been nominated for the Nordic Council's Literary Award: for Seierherrene in 1991, and Frost in 2003, and in 2009 he was shortlisted for the Dublin Impac Award for his novel The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles.