Related to: 'The Digital Photography Handbook'

riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman

'Incredibly moving' Daily Mail'To Siri with Love is a beautifully honest and illuminating love letter to Gus, your typical atypical nonneurotypical human.' Jon Stewart'A moving and witty memoir with a big heart.' Nigella Lawson'An uncommonly riotous and moving book [that] will make readers laugh - yes, out loud - before sweeping them, finally, into a soul-spilling high tide . . . Technology's great promise may in fact be to summon, capture and display our most human qualities, both the darkness and the light, to pave avenues of deepened connections with others.' New York TimesWriter Judith Newman never had any illusions that her family was 'normal'. She and her husband keep separate apartments-his filled with twin grand pianos as befits a former opera singer; hers filled with the clutter and chaos of twin adolescent boys conceived late in life. And one of those boys is Gus, her sweet, complicated, autistic 13-year-old.With refreshing honesty, To Siri With Love chronicles one year in the life of Gus and the family around him -- a family with the same crazy ups and downs as any other. And at the heart of the book lies Gus's passionate friendship with Siri, Apple's 'intelligent personal assistant'. Unlike her human counterparts, Siri always has the right answers to Gus's incessant stream of questions about the intricacies of national rail schedules, or box turtle varieties, and she never runs out of patience. She always makes sure Gus enunciates and even teaches him manners by way of her warm yet polite tone and her programmed insistence on civility.Equal parts funny and touching, this is a book that will make your heart brim, and then break it. Warm, wise and always honest, Judith Newman shows us a new world where artificial intelligence is beginning to meet emotional intelligence -- a world that will shape our children in ways both wonderful and unexpected.

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
Quercus

100 Things They Don't Want You To Know

Daniel Smith
Authors:
Daniel Smith

THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE . . . Who was Jack the Ripper? Where did the Nazis stash their gold? Who are the real Men in Black? Did aliens send the 'WOW' signal? And how will the world end? 100 Things They Don't Want You to Know sets out to uncover the truth behind the world's most mysterious cover-ups and unexplained events that have been shrouded in secrecy for generations. From suspicious deaths and disappearances to enigmatic identities, from Cold War cover-ups to puzzling paranormal phenomena and from ancient artefacts to coded documents, 100 Things They Don't Want You to Know takes you on a quest to solve the greatest mysteries, strange disappearances, suspicious cover-ups and conspiracy theories.Including: Black Dahlia, the Marfa Lights, the Turin Shroud, Spontaneous Combustion, Lost Literature of the Mayan Civilisation, Disappearance of Jean Spangler, Shakespeare's True Identity, the Turin Shroud, the Easter Island Glyphs, the Death of Lee Harvey Oswald, the Mothman, The Flying Dutchman, the Secret Mission of Ruldolph Hess, the 'WOW" signal, Lewis Carroll's Lost Diaries, the Man in the Iron Mask and the Beast of Bodmin Moor.

Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

What is the Higgs Boson? Where did life come from? And what are you looking at when you're looking at Modern Art?Put your knowledge to the test - and learn to think and talk like a genius. The Genius Test takes you on a journey through humanity's most brain-bending ideas, from the big bang and the origins of life to chaos theory, existentialism and special relativity, challenging you to understand and providing the tools to help you master the big ideas. Shortcuts to becoming a genius include: · Are you a Genius? quizzes - questions to test your knowledge· The 10 things a Genius would know· Talk like a Genius - intellectual conversation gambits· A Bluffer's summary The Genius Test challenges you to understand 50 subjects including: The Hard Problem of consciousness; the human genome; Evo-devo; the human brain; A.I.; Fermat's Last Theorem; the Riemann Hypothesis; Gödel's Theorem of Incompleteness; Post-modernism; Modern architecture; Keynesianism; Semiotics and Structuralism; Schrödinger's cat; DNA; Deconstructivism; the mind-body problem; Superstrings; Quantum Theory; The Big Bang; black holes...and many more.

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'I love Tracy's writing' Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late... How much can a place change your life?1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.Tracy Rees' latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!*** Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS... 'My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees' best to date' Amazon reviewer'Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters' Kathryn Hughes'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley'A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery' Rachel Hore'A story about second chances ... A triumphant third novel' Amazon reviewer'A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far' Amazon Reviewer***Also by Tracy Rees:Amy SnowFlorence GraceDarling Blue

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget.One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . .For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

riverrun

The World to Come

Jim Shepard
Authors:
Jim Shepard

A fantastic writer - compassionate, funny and fearless' George Saunders'One of the US's finest writers' according to Joshua Ferris, Jim Shepard now delivers a new collection that spans borders and centuries with unrivalled mastery. These ten stories ring with voices as diverse as those belonging to Arctic explorers in history's most nightmarish expedition, the Montgolfier brothers competing to be the first man to fly, and two American frontierswomen whose passionate connection is severed by jealous husbands and a deadly snowstorm.In each case the personal is the political as these humans, while falling in love or negotiating marital pitfalls or simply coming to terms with their own failings, face the tidal wave of nature's indifference and cruelty. History has swept them from our sympathy; Jim Shepard has reached into the past and sought them out.In his first collection to be published in the UK, this celebrated master of the short story displays his formidable acuity in imagining these wildly different worlds, and what our various lives feel like in the grip of catastrophe.

Heron Books

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson
Authors:
Andrew Davidson
Quercus

The People We Were Before

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

If war is madness, how can love survive?Yugoslavia, summer 1979. A new village. A new life. But eight-year-old Miro knows the real reason why his family moved from the inland city of Knin to the sunkissed village of Ljeta on the Dalmatian Coast, a tragedy he tries desperately to forget. The Ljeta years are happy ones, though, and when he marries his childhood sweetheart, and they have a baby daughter, it seems as though life is perfect. However, storm clouds are gathering above Yugoslavia.War breaks out, and one split-second decision destroys the life Miro has managed to build. Driven by anger and grief, he flees to Dubrovnik, plunging himself into the hard-bitten world of international war reporters.There begins a journey that will take him ever deeper into danger: from Dubrovnik, to Sarajevo, to the worst atrocities of war-torn Bosnia, Miro realises that even if he survives, there can be no way back to his earlier life. The war will change him, and everyone he loves, forever.

Quercus

Summer in the Vineyards

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
Quercus

Dead Gods: The 27 Club

Chris Salewicz
Authors:
Chris Salewicz

Robert Johnson. Brian Jones. Jimi Hendrix. Janis Joplin. Jim Morrison. Kurt Cobain. Amy Winehouse. They were inspirational, controversial, talismanic and innovative. They lead lives full of myth, scandal, sex, drugs and some of the most glorious music that has ever heard. Though each of their lives were cut tragically short at the age of 27, they would all leave the world having changed it irrevocably. Chris Salewicz tells, in intimate detail, the stories behind these compelling figures. From Robert Johnson and his legendary deal with the devil, to Jimi Hendrix appearing like a psychedelic comet on the London scene, through to Amy Winehouse's blazing talent and her savage appetite for self-destruction.

Quercus

The Digital Photography Handbook (FIXED FORMAT EDITION)

Doug Harman
Authors:
Doug Harman

In this new, updated edition of The Digital Photography Handbook Doug Harman includes the very latest developments in digital technology - from cutting-edge cameras to up-to-the minute software, such as Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5. Featuring fresh new pictures and a new, easy-to-follow layout, the book will show you how to combine photographic flair with digital expertise in order to achieve stunning results. Crammed with professional hints and tips, this specially revised and updated edition has everything you need to become an accomplished 21st-century photographer.

MacLehose Press

Revolution

Jakob Ejersbo
Authors:
Jakob Ejersbo

MacLehose Press

The Last Man Standing

Davide Longo
Authors:
Davide Longo
MacLehose Press

Memory of the Abyss

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois

Quercus

Science in 100 Key Breakthroughs

Paul Parsons
Authors:
Paul Parsons

Quercus

The Stargazer's Handbook

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

The Secret History of the World

Jonathan Black
Authors:
Jonathan Black