Related to: 'The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid'

Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.Abby Reed, grieving after the loss of her mother, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside with the brooding Gillan Collingwood, son of a local shipping merchant. It isn't long before she begins to hope that she and Gill might someday be more than friends . . . But then Gill meets his elder brother's new wife Helen, and falls instantly, deeply in love with her. Abby is shattered by the news and throws herself into an imprudent love affair. Her impulse will take her away from the frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!

Quercus

After I've Gone

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Jo Fletcher Books

The Return of the Arinn

Frank P. Ryan
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan

London has fallen to the Tyrant and now war threatens both Earth and the magical land of Tí­r. The fate of both worlds lies in the hands of five teenagers in this 'enthalling' epic (Los Angeles Times). The Tyrant seeks to control the legendary Fàil, the one artefact that will allow him to cement his power for ever. The only people with any chance to stop him destroying not just the sister worlds of Earth and Tí­r but the in-between world of Dromenon as well are a handful of teenagers with supernatural powers. Alan is leading his Shee army towards Ghork Mega, the Tyrant's capital city, but he's racked with doubt over his decisions. His girlfriend Kate, holder of the Second Power, is impulsive and stubborn - but she too is determined to stop this great evil. Mo is desperate to help, but she isn't sure she's brave enough to stand up to the villain. And on Earth, Mark, who wields the Third Power, is resourceful and fearless, but he's fighting Commander Seebox's Paramilitaries and Skulls.Each of them has grown immeasurably since the day they fell through a mystical portal on Mount Slievenamon in Ireland into a magical world . . . but they are facing almost insurmountable challenges and an evil of unimaginable power.

Quercus

The Ghosts of Altona

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell

Head of Hamburg's Murder Commission, Jan Fabel is used to the dead, but when a routine enquiry spirals out of control he finds himself on much closer terms with death - his own. As he struggles to process this experience, his first case comes back to haunt him: Monika Krone's body is found at last, fifteen years after she disappeared. Monika - beautiful, intelligent, cruel - was the centre of a group obsessed with the gothic. When men who knew Monika start turning up dead, the crime scenes full of gothic symbolism, Fabel realizes he is looking for a killer with both a hunger for vengeance and a terrifying taste for the macabre. A true gothic demon is stalking the streets of Hamburg . . .

Quercus

Biblical

Christopher Galt, Craig Russell
Authors:
Christopher Galt, Craig Russell
Quercus

Dead Men and Broken Hearts

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell

Quercus

The Cosmic Gallery

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

The heavens are alive with breathtaking beauty: from the incandescent surface of the Sun to the shimmering tail of a comet; the birth of planets to the death of stars; the dancing shadows of Jupiter's moons to the silhouettes of eclipses. The Cosmic Gallery contemplates the entire cosmos as a grand celestial art exhibit. In six thematically organized chapters, Giles Sparrow presents an array of stunning images, ranging from easily seen phenomena to the most distant and intricate galaxies, providing the reader with an exciting and beautiful new perspective on the cosmos.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Snowmelt River

Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.

Four teenagers are drawn from an Irish mountaintop into an enchanted land and gifted with great powers: but with power comes responsibility, and a vast evil has noticed their arrival . . . On the summit of the fabled mountain Slievenamon in Ireland there is a doorway to an ancient land of terrible power. The gate of Feimhin has lain closed for centuries, the secret of its opening long lost - until four orphans drawn together by Fate pass through the portal and find the enchanted but war-ravaged world of Tír, a strange land peopled by beings of magic. Here death waits at every corner, and they must learn to fight if they are to survive. And they'd better learn quickly, because their enemy, the Tyrant of the Wastelands, is growing in power.'The best fantasy novel I've ever read . . . an epic adventure that just does not stop!' said Glenda A. Bixler on Authorsden!

Quercus

The Deep Dark Sleep

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell

Human remains are recovered from the bottom of the River Clyde. Tests reveal they've been there for eighteen years. Glasgow's underworld is buzzing with the news that the dredged up bones belong to Gentleman Joe Strachan, the city's most successful and ruthless armed robber. Strachan's daughters, Isa and Violet, want to hire Lennox to find out who has been sending them large sums of cash each year on the anniversary of Strachan's most successful robbery. Despite his reservations, Lennox needs the money and takes the job. But his investigations lead him back into the dark world of the Three Kings - the crime bosses who run the city. He should never have got involved ... Tough, gritty, and as noir as they come, The Deep Dark Sleep guarantees a sleepless night.(P)2012 Quercus Editions Ltd

Quercus

Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

'I Have a Dream'

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

I Have a Dream' is an anthology of history's most inspiring words and thoughts from history's greatest leaders from all ages and nations. Each of the 370 quotations is accompanied by an extended annotation that tells the story of the speaker or explains the circumstances that gave rise to the quotation. Includes: 'I have the heart of a king, and a king of England, too' - Queen Elizabeth I (1588); 'This nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom' - Abraham Lincoln (1863); 'Non-violence is the first article of my faith' - Mohandas Gandhi (1922); 'Blood, tears, toil and sweat' - Winston Churchill (1940); 'Ask not what your country can do for you' - John F. Kennedy (1961) and 'I have a dream' - Martin Luther King (1963).

Quercus

The Natural World Close-Up

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Breverton's Complete Herbal

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Quercus

Breverton's Phantasmagoria

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Quercus

The Story of English

Philip Gooden
Authors:
Philip Gooden
Quercus

The Long Glasgow Kiss

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell
Quercus

Lennox

Craig Russell
Authors:
Craig Russell

Glasgow, 1953: the war may be over but the battle for the streets is just beginning. Three crime bosses control the murky streets, but a small-scale con is trying to invade their territory. The balance is shifting. Lennox, a hard man in a hard city at a hard time, finds himself caught in the middle - a dangerous place to be. One night, a body is discovered on the road, his head mashed to pulp, and Lennox is in the frame for murder. The only way of proving his innocence is to solve the crime - but he'll have to dodge men more deadly than Glasgow's crime bosses before he gets any answers. The first in a unique and memorable crime series, Lennox is gritty, fast-paced, mordantly funny and totally compelling.

Quercus

50 Philosophy Ideas You Really Need to Know

Ben Dupre
Authors:
Ben Dupre

Have you ever lain awake at night fretting over how we can be sure of the reality of the external world? Perhaps we are in fact disembodied brains, floating in vats at the whim of some deranged puppet-master? If so, you are not alone - and what's more, you are in exalted company. For this question and other ones like it have been the stuff of philosophical rumination from Plato to Popper.In a series of accessible and engagingly written essays, 50 Philosophy Ideas You Really Need to Know introduces and explains the problems of knowledge, consciousness, identity, ethics, belief, justice and aesthetics that have engaged the attention of thinkers from the era of the ancient Greeks to the present day.(P)2008 Quercus Editions Ltd

Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Anna Smith

Anna Smith has been a journalist for over twenty years and is a former chief reporter for the Daily Record in Glasgow. She has covered wars across the world as well as major investigations and news stories from Dunblane to Kosovo to 9/11. Anna spends her time between Lanarkshire and Dingle in the west of Ireland, as well as in Spain to escape the British weather.