Related to: 'Snow Angels'

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Quercus

Orphan Boy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyWhen hope is lost, can she rebuild her home?After her daughter Arabella passes away, leaving a poor, motherless child in her wake, Nell Almond doesn't think her life can get any worse. But then tragedy strikes a second time and she finds herself widowed, with her husband's quarry to manage.But it's baby Frederick, her grandson, who troubles her most. Being cared for by one of the local families, he lives in hand-me-down clothes in a cramped and unrefined home. Nell desperately wants him to return to his rightful place, as heir to the quarry, but should she put all her hopes in one child? From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes the next book in the beloved Weardale Sagas, continuing the story begun in The Guardian Angel.

Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.As a solicitor in the small northern mining town of Hexham, Sam Browne knows more than most about the affairs of the town's inhabitants. He has known several of his clients since his schooldays, and has become a fast friend to their growing families. But when tragedy strikes, affecting the town in many terrible ways, Sam finds himself unwillingly drawn into the complicated emotional entanglements that arise. Are Sam and his friends' lives to be forever changed by what has happened?

Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

His duty was to God, but his heart was with her. A tale of love and sacrifice from the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born into a family of Methodist preachers in County Durham, Joshua Castle knows that he too will become a minister. Though his faith is strong, his young heart is broken when he goes to Bristol to learn his trade, leaving behind Emma Meikle, the beautiful daughter of the pub landlord. In Bristol, Joshua meets the wealthy Matthews family, and though his upbringing is at odds with their lavish lifestyle, he is attracted to their daughter Patience. But can Joshua ever forget the girl he left at home?Note: this book was previously published under the title The Preacher's Son.

Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?Note: this book was previously published under the title Snow Hall.

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries. Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.

Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and The Singing Winds comes a story of family, destiny and one woman's difficult choice, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.It is the late 1930s and war is looming. Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, but is devastated when she discovers his father manufactures armaments. Deeply conflicted, she resolves to leave Johnny and leave to train as a nurse. Johnny is so upset by this betrayal, and quickly marries Nan Fielding, an impoverished girl who has recently lost her father. Nan and her mother have been left with nothing but a big house and are in desperate financial trouble. Johnny wants to help, but can he ever forget the girl who left him behind?

Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and sacrifice perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.Jenna Duncan's only ambition is to marry the boy she loves and have a little terraced house away from her parents and her dull job. Ruari Gallacher has other ideas. Ruari is determined to break away from the little seaside town where his father died down the pit and make all his dreams come true as a professional footballer.But when Rauri lets Jenna down one too many times she becomes involved with another man, and by the time Ruari asks her to escape with him, it's far too late. Will Rauri succeed in capturing his dream, and has he scarified the love of the one person who can ever make him truly happy?

Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and destiny perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.When Thomas Grant - one of the most eligible young men in London - proposes to Annabel Seaton, she can't say she's surprised, but she is delighted. He's been her best friend since she was a child, and she can't imagine life without him. What shocks her, however, is the reaction of her mother and father. Annabel knows that her parents disapprove of her forthright opinions, but their displeasure is both unexpected and unaccountable. As they permit the engagement, however, she decides to put it out of her mind. But before she can be married, tragedy strikes, and only then does Annabel learn of the shocking secret that her parents have kept from her. Determined to learn more, she travels to Durham on a personal search that will change everything.

Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Will she forever be an outsider?The perfect fireside read for wintry nights, for fans of THE WINTER BABY by Sheila Newberry and THE MISTLETOE SELLER by Dilly Court.Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all.Elizabeth Gill's next northern saga THE QUARRYMAN'S WIFE is available to preorder now! Just search 9781786482662 Praise for Elizabeth Gil's latest book, SNOW ANGELS, from real readers: 'This is a real love story with twists of family saga' Debra, Amazon reviewer 'Snow angels is a most enchanting book. It keeps you captivated in an exciting world with plenty of twists and turns' Sally, Amazon reviewer 'The story is full of fantastic descriptions of the North Country, where Elizabeth Gill herself has always lived, and which she clearly loves with all her heart.' Amazon reviewerAlso by Elizabeth Gill:Snow AngelsThe Guardian AngelNobody's ChildMiss Appleby's AcademyThe Singing WindsFar From My Father's HouseAnd available to pre-order now: The Quarryman's Wife

Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

After surviving a childhood on the streets, can she put her life of poverty behind her? Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival. And just when it looks like her fortunes are about to change, her past comes back to haunt her, with shocking consequences...Elizabeth Gill's next northern saga THE QUARRYMAN'S WIFE is available to preorder now! Just search 9781786482662 Praise for Elizabeth Gil's latest book, SNOW ANGELS, from real readers: 'This is a real love story with twists of family saga' Debra, Amazon reviewer 'Snow angels is a most enchanting book. It keeps you captivated in an exciting world with plenty of twists and turns' Sally, Amazon reviewer 'The story is full of fantastic descriptions of the North Country, where Elizabeth Gill herself has always lived, and which she clearly loves with all her heart.' Amazon reviewer Also by Elizabeth Gill: Snow Angels The Guardian Angel Nobody's Child Miss Appleby's Academy The Singing Winds Far From My Father's House And available to pre-order now: The Quarryman's Wife

Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill