Related to: 'Snow Angels'

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, is the Black Family trilogy - available in omnibus form for the first time. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Donna Douglas and Diney Costeloe.Swan IslandWhen Ella's father dies, leaving the family bankrupt, she must go and live with her grandmother, leaving everyone she knows - and loves - behind her. She eventually settles into a life of domesticity with a local businessman, David Black, but Ella can never quite forget her first love. Will she find the home she's always been looking for?Silver StreetWhen Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, she is devastated to learn about his family's shocking secret and immediately leaves to train as a nurse. Her absence casts a dark shadow on the Black household, and as much as he tries to move on, will Johnny forever be plagued by the memory of the girl who left him behind?Sweet WellsAfter the death of her father, Maddy Grant learns that the home she has always known has been sold to a local businessman, Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother. As they scrape to make ends meet and try as she might, she can't keep away from the influence of Jonas and finds herself falling for his handsome nephew. Can she ever come to terms with the ill his family has brought to hers?

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Homecoming

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty story of tragedy and overcoming hardship, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Milly Adams.As a solicitor in the small northern mining town of Hexham, Sam Browne knows more than most about the affairs of the town's inhabitants. He has known several of his clients since his schooldays, and has become a fast friend to their growing families. But when tragedy strikes, affecting the town in many terrible ways, Sam finds himself unwillingly drawn into the complicated emotional entanglements that arise. Are Sam and his friends' lives to be forever changed by what has happened?

Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

When Day Is Done

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An unbreakable bond. A devastating discovery. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty and emotional family saga.London, 1944. A young man is killed in an air-raid, leaving a wife and two children - and a secret. After the tragedy, Ailsa, Margaret and Luke are persuaded by to return to the north east. Despite their grief and bitterness, they find a new life there. But it isn't long before the past catches up with them, and they must confront the secret the family left behind.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Secret.

Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?Note: this book was previously published under the title Sweet Wells.

Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?Note: this book was previously published under the title Snow Hall.

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes the first in the Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Catherine King. Ella's happy childhood in the Swan Island district of Durham is abruptly ended when her father dies, leaving the family bankrupt. Ella and her mother leave their home behind to go and live with her grandmother, who runs the Silver Street cafe. After a first, unhappy marriage she settles into domesticity with a local businessman, David Black. But Ella can never quite forget her first love. Now a contented wife and mother, Ella soon finds she must make an impossible choice.Note: this book was previously published under the title Swan Island.

Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and The Singing Winds comes a story of family, destiny and one woman's difficult choice, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.It is the late 1930s and war is looming. Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, but is devastated when she discovers his father manufactures armaments. Deeply conflicted, she resolves to leave Johnny and leave to train as a nurse. Johnny is so upset by this betrayal, and quickly marries Nan Fielding, an impoverished girl who has recently lost her father. Nan and her mother have been left with nothing but a big house and are in desperate financial trouble. Johnny wants to help, but can he ever forget the girl who left him behind?

Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and sacrifice perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.Jenna Duncan's only ambition is to marry the boy she loves and have a little terraced house away from her parents and her dull job. Ruari Gallacher has other ideas. Ruari is determined to break away from the little seaside town where his father died down the pit and make all his dreams come true as a professional footballer.But when Rauri lets Jenna down one too many times she becomes involved with another man, and by the time Ruari asks her to escape with him, it's far too late. Will Rauri succeed in capturing his dream, and has he scarified the love of the one person who can ever make him truly happy?

Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.1920, Durham. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival. Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancée has disappeared. Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee. With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it. Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society. As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor. But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...

Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill