Related to: 'Orphan Boy'

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

His duty was to God, but his heart was with her. A tale of love and sacrifice from the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born into a family of Methodist preachers in County Durham, Joshua Castle knows that he too will become a minister. Though his faith is strong, his young heart is broken when he goes to Bristol to learn his trade, leaving behind Emma Meikle, the beautiful daughter of the pub landlord. In Bristol, Joshua meets the wealthy Matthews family, and though his upbringing is at odds with their lavish lifestyle, he is attracted to their daughter Patience. But can Joshua ever forget the girl he left at home?Note: this book was previously published under the title The Preacher's Son.

Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

An unbreakable bond. A devastating discovery. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty and emotional family saga.London, 1944. A young man is killed in an air-raid, leaving a wife and two children - and a secret. After the tragedy, Ailsa, Margaret and Luke are persuaded by to return to the north east. Despite their grief and bitterness, they find a new life there. But it isn't long before the past catches up with them, and they must confront the secret the family left behind.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Secret.

Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and destiny perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.When Thomas Grant - one of the most eligible young men in London - proposes to Annabel Seaton, she can't say she's surprised, but she is delighted. He's been her best friend since she was a child, and she can't imagine life without him. What shocks her, however, is the reaction of her mother and father. Annabel knows that her parents disapprove of her forthright opinions, but their displeasure is both unexpected and unaccountable. As they permit the engagement, however, she decides to put it out of her mind. But before she can be married, tragedy strikes, and only then does Annabel learn of the shocking secret that her parents have kept from her. Determined to learn more, she travels to Durham on a personal search that will change everything.

Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . . Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A festive short story to accompany Elizabeth Gill's new novel, The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton. Lucy Charlton - beloved daughter, precocious student and aspiring lawyer - is looking forward to spending a cozy holiday in Durham with her parents and sister Gemma. But when Headmistress asks Lucy to look after a younger girl at school - a Malaysian immigrant called Shamala - Lucy learns that not everybody has a warm hearth and jolly family to come home to this Christmas. From the author of the bestselling novel Miss Appleby's Academy comes a heartwarming tale full of love, courage and Christmas cheer.

Quercus

The Pit Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

To make a home, she must break the rules. Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Singing Winds.

Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill