Related to: 'Tragic Shores: A Memoir of Dark Travel'

Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go 'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian 'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Widow'PROPULSIVE' - Metro'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me'SINISTER' - Red'MENACING' - CL Taylor, author of The Lie 'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep 'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street 'ENTHRALLING' - Heat'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed***********You have the perfect life . . . How far would you go to protect it?The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of Into the Water, The Couple Next Door and Lie With Me.Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward sixty-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic South of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?

Quercus

A Crime in the Family

Sacha Batthyány
Authors:
Sacha Batthyány

A memoir of brutality, heroism and personal discovery from Europe's dark heart, revealing one of the most extraordinary untold stories of the Second World WarIn the spring of 1945, at Rechnitz on the Austrian-Hungarian border, not far from the front lines of the advancing Red Army, Countess Margit Batthyany gave a party in her mansion. The war was almost over, and the German aristocrats and SS officers dancing and drinking knew it was lost. Late that night, they walked down to the village, where 180 enslaved Jewish labourers waited, made them strip naked, and shot them all, before returning to the bright lights of the party. It remained a secret for decades, until Sacha Batthyany, who remembered his great-aunt Margit only vaguely from his childhood as a stern, distant woman, began to ask questions about it.A Crime in the Family is Sacha Batthyany's memoir of confronting these questions, and of the answers he found. It is one of the last untold stories of Europe's nightmare century, spanning not just the massacre at Rechnitz, the inhumanity of Auschwitz, the chaos of wartime Budapest and the brutalities of Soviet occupation and Stalin's gulags, but also the silent crimes of complicity and cover-up, and the damaged generations they leave behind. Told partly through the surviving journals of others from the author's family and the vanished world of Rechnitz, A Crime in the Family is a moving and revelatory memoir in the vein of The Hare with the Amber Eyes and The House by the Lake. It uncovers barbarity and tragedy but also a measure of peace and reconciliation. Ultimately, Batthyany discovers that although his inheritance might be that of monsters, he does not bear it alone.

Heron Books

The Celts

Alice Roberts
Authors:
Alice Roberts
Quercus

A Spring Betrayal

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan

Inspector Akyl Borubaev's Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan is a lawless post-Soviet metropolis rife with corruption and vice. A hard-hitting thriller for fans of Tom Rob Smith and Gorky Park.We uncovered the last of the bodies in the red hour before dusk, as the sun stained the snowcaps of the Tian Shan mountains the colour of dried blood and the spring air turned sharp and cold . . . Inspector AkylBorubaev of Bishkek Murder Squad has been exiled to the far corner of Kyrgystan, but death still haunts him at every turn. Borubaev soon finds himself caught up in a mysterious and gruesome new case: several children's bodies have been found buried together - all tagged with name bands. In his search for the truth behind the brutal killings, Borubaev hits a wall of silence, with no one to turn to outside his sometime lover, the beautiful undercover agent Saltanat Umarova.When Borubaev himself framed for his involvement in the production of blood-soaked child pornography, it looks as though things couldn't get any worse. With the investigation at a dangerous standstill, Borubaev sets out to save his own integrity, and to deliver his own savage justice on behalf of the many dead who can't speak for themselves . . .

Quercus

Breakheart Hill

Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H. Cook

'This is the darkest story that I ever heard and all my life I have laboured not to tell it...' There is no love like your first love, and Ben Wade's love for Kelli Troy should have lasted a lifetime. But then her battered body was found on Breakheart Hill. Three decades later, and the small town of Choctaw, Alabama is still living with the aftermath of that day's shattering violence. Ben, in particular, has never been able to move on. Because he is the only one who knows exactly what happened that summer long ago.

Quercus

The Chatham School Affair

Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H. Cook
Quercus

The Riot

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Quercus

Mortal Memory

Thomas H Cook, Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H Cook, Thomas H. Cook

Quercus

Classic Robert B. Parker

Robert B. Parker
Authors:
Robert B. Parker

Two of the finest early Spensers in a single volume - this is Classic Robert B. Parker. In the first novel, Promised Land, Harvey Shepard's wife has run away. Spenser has been hired to find her. A seemingly easy mission: go to Cape Cod, find the missing woman, then sit back and enjoy the sun. But it seems there is more to this case than meets the eye. Who are the shady figures Pam Shepard has been seen with? And why does Harvey keep showing up with bruises? Both Pam and Harvey are in over their heads, and soon Spenser will be too.In the second novel, Looking for Rachel Wallace, Spenser is hired to protect Rachel Wallace, the outspoken feminist. Left-wing lesbian meets muscles and machismo. Chalk meets cheese. It is not long before Rachel fires him. Then she disappears. Spenser feels it is his duty to save her. And once he has made up his mind then no bigot, Klansman, or family will get in his way. He will not stop until he finds Rachel Wallace.

Quercus

50 Wonders of the World

Hugh Thomson
Authors:
Hugh Thomson

From Stonehenge to the Empire State Building, and from Angkor Wat to the Pyramids, this book surveys every continent to discover the most impressive, exotic and intriguing man-made wonders of the world.Arranged in order of longitude, and illustrated with over 100 spectacular photographs, maps and illustrations, 50 Wonders of the World reveals the awesome architectural achievements that man has created over the centuries. This is also the story of the extraordinary peoples and civilizations that created these buildings and the key roles they played as centres of religion, culture or trade.Hagia Sophia; Sydney Opera House; Altamira; Dome of the Rock; Easter Island statues; Chartres; Petra; Empire State Building; Eiffel Tower; Peterhof; Golden Gate Bridge; Neuschwanstein; Solovetsky Island; Lincoln Memorial; Florence Duomo; Minaret of Jam; Monte Albán; Colosseum; Red Fort; Chichen Itza; Pantheon; Golden Temple; Tikal; Grand Canal; Taj Mahal; Machu Picchu; Parthenon; Mahabalipuram; Nasca; Knossos; Angkor Wat; Tiahuanaco; Pyramids of Giza; Potala Palace; Brasília; Abu Simbel; Borobodur; Clifton Suspension Bridge; St Catherine's Monastery; Great Wall of China; Stonehenge; Forbidden City; Alhambra; Djenné Mosque; Itsukushima shrine; Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; Great Zimbabwe; Todai-ji; Sagrada Família; Lalibela.

Quercus

The Master of the Delta

Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H. Cook

Quercus

A Thomas H Cook Omnibus

Thomas H. Cook
Authors:
Thomas H. Cook

Quercus

A Peter Temple Omnibus

Peter Temple
Authors:
Peter Temple

Alice Roberts

Alice Roberts is an anatomist, osteoarchaeologist, anthropologist, television presenter, author and professor at the University of Birmingham. She has presented The Incredible Human Journey and Coast on BBC 2, Inside Science on Radio 4 and appeared as an expert on Time Team on Channel 4. She lives in Bristol with her husband and two children.

Billy Connolly

Billy Connolly is a world-renowned, award-winning comedian, musician, presenter, author and actor.

Christopher Golden

Christopher Golden is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as Snowblind, Tin Men, Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, Strangewood, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has also written books for teens and young adults. His novel with Mike Mignola, Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire was the launching pad for the cult favorite graphic novel series from Dark Horse Comics. Golden is also known for his many media tie-in works, including novels, comics, and video games, in the worlds of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Hellboy, Sons of Anarchy, and X-Men, among others. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. His graphic novel series Cemetery Girl, written in collaboration with Charlaine Harris, is published by Jo Fletcher Books. You can visit him at www.christophergolden.com.

Hugh Thomson

Hugh Thomson is an unusual combination of writer, film-maker and explorer. Hugh has led many expeditions to Peru, starting in 1982 when he was 21, and has now become one of Britain's foremost modern explorers of Inca settlements. His recent memoir Tequila Oil: Getting Lost in Mexico describes his early experiences travelling through that country and his interest in the Maya.

Sacha Batthyány

Sacha Batthyány was born in Switzerland in 1973 to Hungarian émigré parents. He was an editor at the Neue Zürcher Zeitung and is now a political reporter for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, based in Washington DC.

Thomas H. Cook

Thomas H. Cook is one of North America's most respected crime writers. He won an Edgar award for his novel The Chatham School Affair and has been shortlisted for the award six times, most recently with Red Leaves (Quercus 2006). He lives in New York City and Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

Craig Russell

Craig Russell is the author of the Jan Fabel thrillers set in contemporary Hamburg and the Lennox series set in 1950s Glasgow. He is the only non-German to have been awarded the Polizeistern (Police Star) by the Polizei Hamburg. He has been shortlisted for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger, the French Prix Polar, the 2012 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year and the 2013 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, and has won the CWA Dagger in the Library and the 2015 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year