Related to: 'To Siri and With Love'

Quercus

The Future in Minutes

Keith Mansfield
Authors:
Keith Mansfield

What does the future hold? How will we live, work and entertain ourselves? What new technologies will emerge? Will humanity evolve - and perhaps live forever? Or are we facing threats that could end us - and even the whole universe? The Future in Minutes tackles these and many other fundamental questions, concisely and lucidly explaining everything from cryptocurrencies and world governments to gene therapy and colonizing planets - and painting our options for utopia or disaster.Contents include: Predicting the future; How we'll live; Shifts in society; Technology of the future; Scarcity and solutions; Politics, warfare and ethics; The quest for immortality; Transhumans and posthumans; Artificial intelligence; Threats to humanity; Space travel and colonization; Super-advanced science; and The Fate of the Earth and the Universe.

Quercus

When Death Takes Something From You Give It Back

Naja Marie Aidt
Authors:
Naja Marie Aidt

"I raise my glass to my eldest son. His pregnant wife and daughter are sleeping above us. Outside, the March evening is cold and clear. 'To life!' I say as the glasses clink with a delicate and pleasing sound. My mother says something to the dog. Then the phone rings. We don't answer it. Who could be calling so late on a Saturday evening?" In March 2015, Naja Marie Aidt's 25-year-old son, Carl, died in a tragic accident. When Death Takes Something From You Give It Back is about losing a child. It is about formulating a vocabulary to express the deepest kind of pain. And it's about finding a way to write about a reality invaded by grief, lessened by loss. Faced with the sudden emptiness of language, Naja finds solace in the anguish of Joan Didion, Nick Cave, C.S. Lewis, Mallarmé, Plato and other writers who have suffered the deadening impact of loss. Their torment suffuses with her own as Naja wrestles with words and contests their capacity to speak for the depths of her sorrow. This palimpsest of mourning enables Naja to turn over the pathetic, precious transience of existence and articulates her greatest fear: to forget. The insistent compulsion to reconstruct the harrowing aftermath of Carl's death keeps him painfully present, while fragmented memories, journal entries and poetry inch her closer to piecing Carl's life together. Intensely moving and quietly devastating, this is what is it to be a family, what it is to love and lose, and what it is to treasure life in spite of death's indomitable resolve.

riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

Rome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party is bright with near-genius, shaded by the socialite patrons of their art. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. Larger than life, muscular in both figure and opinion, he blazes at art criticism and burns half his paintings. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, striving to live up to the Bavinsky name; while Natalie, a ceramicist, cannot hope to be more than a forgotten muse. Trying to burn brightly under his father's shadow - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch's attempts flicker and die. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, Pinch will enact an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of twentieth-century art and its demons, vultures and chimeras. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of exacting vulnerability and realism: talent made irrelevant by personality. Stripped of egotism, authenticity or genius, Pinch forces us to face the deep held fear of a life lived in vain.

riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
MacLehose Press

John Law

James Buchan
Authors:
James Buchan
Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Quercus

Outstanding

Kathryn Flett
Authors:
Kathryn Flett

'Flett's all-seeing eye misses nothing' Daily MailWitty, poignant and wonderfully observed, this book's title gets it in one Independent on SundayA sharp-eyed modern morality tale about mothers and daughters and how we raise our children, from the author of Separate Lives. Perfect for fans of Jane Fallon.Eve Sturridge, a high-flying divorcee and mother of two girls, is head teacher of Ivy House, an Ofsted 'Outstanding' prep school in Sussex. Eve is passionate about her school and its pupils. When Danish power couple, Stefan and Anette Sorensen, jet in and choose Ivy House over other schools, Eve is justifiably proud. The Sorensons are A-listers who bring an aura of style and power to Ivy House. Zoe is Eve's pretty seventeen-year-old daughter. Unlike her mother, Zoe's not so keen on school. She prefers sending nude selfies to her boyfriend.When glamorous Stefan Sorensen proposes that Zoe interns at his company and invites her to accompany him to New York, Zoe is over the moon with excitement, while Eve is too focused on Ivy House to smell danger . . .

Quercus

50 Psychology Ideas You Really Need to Know

Adrian Furnham
Authors:
Adrian Furnham
Quercus

50 Ways the World Could End

Alok Jha
Authors:
Alok Jha

Death by Euphoria. Dysgenics. Population Death Spiral. Genetic Superhumans. Geomagnetic Reversal. Galactic Collision. Strangelets. Whether we like it or not, everything's going to come to a pretty unpleasant halt on our planet at some point in the future. What we don't know is what form our extinction is likely to take. In this accessible and entertaining book, acclaimed writer Alok Jha explains the head-spinning apocalyptic science behind 50 horrifying doomsday scenarios.

Quercus

50 Human Brain Ideas You Really Need to Know

Moheb Costandi
Authors:
Moheb Costandi
riverrun

Ten Thousand Saints

Eleanor Henderson
Authors:
Eleanor Henderson

Vermont, New Year's Eve, 1987. All Jude wants to do is get high. All Teddy wants to do is get out. One of them won't live to see 1988. In the wake of this death, three teenagers will try to find a way of honouring their lost friend. Is clean living the answer? Is parenthood? Or the simplicity of carrying out a last wish?

Quercus

Don Vito

Francesco La Licata, Massimo Ciancimino
Authors:
Francesco La Licata, Massimo Ciancimino
Quercus

Killed at the Whim of a Hat

Colin Cotterill
Authors:
Colin Cotterill

When crime reporter Jimm Juree is forced to quit the city for a fishing village on the Gulf of Siam, she expects much in her life to change. Quiet will replace quick, and, surely, crime will give way to calm. There goes the career, then.Not a chance. No sooner has she settled than a surprise discovery springs from a local well. Two skeletons: both wearing the signs of thirty years of decay, with one also wearing a hat. And, if this wasn't uncommon enough, a monk is soon killed in a neighbouring town.Who are the skeletons? Who murdered the monk? Is there a connection? Step forward Jimm Juree...

Quercus

Frenemies

Megan Crane
Authors:
Megan Crane

Everyone knows that girl. The one who effortlessly attracts the eyes of every guy in the room, doesn't seem to need girlfriends and never gives any thought to her appearance - no need, it's always perfect. But what happens when that girl is your college roommate and she has her eye on the love of your life?Gus Curtis approaches the big three-o with a plan to usher herself painlessly into official adulthood. But then she walks in on her perfect boyfriend lip-locked with one of her oldest friends. When she loses most of her dignity in attempts to win him back, her two best friends finally lose patience with her and she finds herself seeking consolation in the arms of the one boy she really should stay away from. Gus realises she needs to do some growing up - and fast.Frenemies is impossible to put down, it's funny, honest and the love interest is a true Mr Darcy. This is feel-good fiction at its best.

Alok Jha

Alok Jha is a science journalist based in London. He has worked as a science correspondent for the Guardian and ITN, and made science programmes for BBC TV and radio

James Buchan

James Buchan is the author of several novels, including A Parish of Rich Women, which won the 1984 Whitbread Book of the Year award, and Heart's Journey in Winter which won the Guardian prize. He is also an outstanding literary critic and non-fiction writer whose works include a biography of Adam Smith, Frozen Desire: An Enquiry into the Meaning of Money and Captial of the Mind.

Judith Newman

Judith Newman is the author of You Make Me Feel Like an Unnatural Woman. She is a columnist for the New York Times Book Review and a regular contributor to the New York Times Style Section. She writes a humour column for Prevention, and also writes for National Geographic, Allure, Vanity Fair and many other publications. She and her sons live in Manhattan.

Kathryn Flett

Kathryn Flett is a journalist who has written for numerous international publications and makes regular TV and radio appearances as a critic and pundit. She was the TV critic for the Observer for ten years and currently writes a restaurant review column, Table for Two, for the Sunday Telegraph. Outstanding is her second novel. She lives (with her two sons, Jackson and Rider, her partner, the photographer Julian Anderson, two cats and a whippet called Slim), in St-Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex.

Keith Mansfield

Keith Mansfield has been a publisher in the areas of computing, technology and science for over twenty years. A mathematical physicist from Trinity College, Cambridge, he is currently working with the University of Oxford's Future of Humanity Institute and the Berkeley Existential Risk Initiative. He is the author of three science fiction novels.

Massimo Ciancimino

Massimo Ciancimino was born in Palermo in 1963. He is the youngest son of Vito Ciancimino, and was barely eighteen when he was chosen by his father to be his aide and therefore initiated directly into the double life of the 'Mayor of the Corleones': a world that he was part of until his arrest on the 6th June 2006. Francesco La Licata is a journalist who has written for the Stampa since 1980. He recently collaborated with the national anti-mafia prosecutor, Pietro Grasso, to write Pizzini, veleni e cicoria: La mafia prima e dopo Provenzano (Feltrinelli 2008). N.S. Thompson is a poet, critic, and translator of Italian. Born in Manchester, he now lives and works in Oxford, UK, where he teaches literature at Christ Church.