Related to: 'The Christmas Guest'

Quercus

An Autumn Hunting

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Quercus

The Munition Girls Series

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Even in the darkest of times, good friends will see you through. Three heartwarming sagas for fans of Daisy Styles, Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.THE MUNITIONS GIRLS19-year-old Pixie isn't going to let a little war get in the way of a good time. Her job at the local armaments factory is gruelling and dangerous, but she and the other girls there try and make the most of their time off. Pixie meets American sailor Cal and they fall in love. But Cal has to rejoin his ship, and little does Pixie know just how much her life is about to change...THE CANARY GIRLSRita Brown is glad to be back at work at the munitions factory after an explosion put her in hospital. She's caught the eye of local bad boy Blackie Bristow, who is sweeping her round the country in a whirl of shady glamour. Her friends from the factory help take her mind off Blackie's darker side. Then she discovers someone at work is leaking secrets to the Germans. With D-Day on the horizon, Rita must work out who's responsible - and fast.THE FACTORY GIRLSAutumn, 1944. Doodlebugs batter the south coast, but factory overseer Em has more than bombs on her plate. Her daughter Lizzie is unexpectedly pregnant, and a strange woman has turned up on her doorstep claiming to be Em's long-lost sister. Em is overjoyed, but is the woman too good to be true? Once again the factory girls must rally round one of heir own.

MacLehose Press

The Return

Dulce Maria Cardoso
Authors:
Dulce Maria Cardoso
Quercus

I Followed the Rules

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

My friends think I'm insane, I'm stalking men all over town and I'm on a deadline.Most people have heard of The Rules of Engagement, the book that promises to teach you to find the man of your dreams in ten easy steps. Well, a lot has happened since, what, 1982? and unsurprisingly, I don't own a copy. But I'm a journalist and I've promised to follow it to the letter and write about the results. I Followed the Rules and this is what happened . . .'Loved it! Best book I've read in months!' Amazon reviewer, on THE LIST.

Quercus

Murderous Contagion

Mary Dobson
Authors:
Mary Dobson
Quercus

This Book Will Make You Mindful

Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Authors:
Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar

'Beat the blues with this pocket-sized guide to mindfulness and living in the moment.' Stylist Live in the moment, make the most of today and feel happier and more fulfilled.We live increasingly busy lives and can struggle to cope with the pressure we're put under by external factors and, most importantly, by ourselves. It's very common to feel overwhelmed by all the responsibilities you have to juggle and feel that time is running away from you - that days, weeks, months and even years are passing in a blur. However, help is at hand. This compact and friendly book is a mindfulness starter kit, giving you everything you need to live in the moment and get the most from life. Dr Jessamy Hibberd and Jo Usmar use the latest mindfulness techniques to teach you how to stop worrying about the future and dwelling on the past so life - the life you're actually living rather than the one you wish you were living or are planning to live soon - doesn't pass you by. Learning how your mind works will enable you to cope with the bad things while fully appreciating the good things, making you more confident, content and productive day-to-day.Chapters include:Mindfulness-based Cognitive TherapyMind GamesDeactivating AutopilotThe Path of Most ResistanceLet It BePraise for the This Book Will series:'Top tips for making your life loads better.' Cosmo'The answer to all my problems.' Katie Piper

Quercus

Sailing Close to the Wind

Dennis Skinner, Kevin Maguire
Authors:
Dennis Skinner, Kevin Maguire

Dennis Skinner, the famed Beast of Bolsover, is adored by legions of supporters and respected as well as feared by admiring enemies. Fiery and forthright, with a prodigious recall, Skinner is one of the best-known politicians in Britain. He remains as passionate and committed to the causes he champions as on the first day he entered the House of Commons back in 1970. In an age of growing cynicism about politicians, the witty and astute Skinner is renowned as a brightly burning beacon of principle. He has watched Prime Ministers come and go - Heath, Wilson, Callaghan, Thatcher, Major, Blair, Brown - and yet remains uncorrupted by patronage and compromise. Cameron discovered Skinner's popularity when a public backlash forced the current PM to apologise in Parliament for calling Skinner a dinosaur who should be in a museum. Skinner at eighty has a unique take on post-war Britain. A combatant in the great social, industrial and political upheavals of the last half century, he's resisted telling his extraordinary story. Until now.

Quercus

50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know

Tony Crilly
Authors:
Tony Crilly

Who invented zero? Why 60 seconds in a minute? How big is infinity? Where do parallel lines meet? And can a butterfly's wings really cause a storm on the far side of the world? In 50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know, Professor Tony Crilly explains in 50 clear and concise essays the mathematical concepts - ancient and modern, theoretical and practical, everyday and esoteric - that allow us to understand and shape the world around us. Packed with diagrams, examples and anecdotes, this book is the perfect overview of this often daunting but always essential subject. For once, mathematics couldn't be simpler. Contents include: Origins of mathematics, from Egyptian fractions to Roman numerals; Pi and primes, Fibonacci numbers and the golden ratio; What calculus, statistics and algebra can actually do; The very real uses of imaginary numbers; The Big Ideas of relativity, Chaos theory, Fractals, Genetics and hyperspace; The reasoning behind Sudoku and code cracking, Lotteries and gambling, Money management and compound interest; Solving of Fermat's last theorem and the million-dollar question of the Riemann hypothesis.

Quercus

50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know

Joanne Baker
Authors:
Joanne Baker
Quercus

Snowing in Bali

Kathryn Bonella
Authors:
Kathryn Bonella

Kathryn Bonella lifts the lid on Bali's nightmarish narcotics underworld.Among the island's drug dealers 'It's snowing in Bali' is code that the south-east Asian paradise is full of cocaine. For the men who run the country's drug empires, it's time to get rich and party hard. Snowing in Bali is the story of the drug trafficking and dealing scene that's made Bali one of the world's most important destinations in the global distribution of narcotics. Kathryn Bonella, bestselling author of Hotel K, has been given extraordinary access into the lives of some of the biggest players in Bali's drug world. She charts their rise to incredible wealth and power, and their drug- fuelled lifestyles: filled with orgies, outrageous extravagance and surfing. From the highs of multi-million dollar deals to the desperate lows of death row in an Indonesian high security jail, Snowing in Bali is a unique, uncensored insight into a hidden world.

Quercus

The Plantagenets

Derek Wilson
Authors:
Derek Wilson
riverrun

The Chessmen

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Under the Wire

Paul Conroy
Authors:
Paul Conroy

Quercus

The Secret History of Dante

Jonathan Black
Authors:
Jonathan Black
Quercus

The Mummyfesto

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

Iron War

Matt Fitzgerald
Authors:
Matt Fitzgerald
riverrun

The Lewis Man

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

Damned Good Show

Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson

riverrun

Bereft

Chris Womersley
Authors:
Chris Womersley
MacLehose Press

Trieste

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

Haya Tedeschi sits alone in Gorizia, north-eastern Italy, surrounded by a basket of photographs and newspaper clippings. Now an old woman, she waits to be reunited after sixty-two years with her son, fathered by an S.S. officer and stolen from her by the German authorities during the War as part of Himmler's clandestine 'Lebensborn' project, which strove for a 'racially pure' Germany. Haya's reflection on her Catholicized Jewish family's experiences deals unsparingly with the massacre of Italian Jews in the concentration camps of Trieste. Her obsessive search for her son leads her to photographs, maps and fragments of verse, to testimonies from the Nuremberg trials and interviews with second-generation Jews, as well as witness accounts of atrocities that took place on her doorstep. A broad collage of material is assembled, and the lesser-known horror of Nazi occupation in northern Italy is gradually unveiled. Written in immensely powerful language, and employing a range of astonishing conceptual devices, Trieste is a novel like no other. Dasa Drndic has produced a shattering contribution to the literature of our twentieth-century history.