Related to: 'The Genius Test: Maths'

About Heron Books

Heron Books is an imprint of Quercus Books, focussed on publishing high-quality storytelling in both fiction and non-fiction.

Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.Abby Reed, grieving after the loss of her mother, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside with the brooding Gillan Collingwood, son of a local shipping merchant. It isn't long before she begins to hope that she and Gill might someday be more than friends . . . But then Gill meets his elder brother's new wife Helen, and falls instantly, deeply in love with her. Abby is shattered by the news and throws herself into an imprudent love affair. Her impulse will take her away from the frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!

Quercus

After I've Gone

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Jo Fletcher Books

The Return of the Arinn

Frank P. Ryan
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan
Jo Fletcher Books

Regeneration

Stephanie Saulter
Authors:
Stephanie Saulter

Could the return of an old enemy could see the gems fragile peace destroyed?The gillungs - genetically modified, waterbreathing humans - are thriving. They've pioneered new aquatic industries, and their high-efficiency quantum battery technology coupled to tidal turbines in the Thames estuary looks set to revolutionise the energy industry. But as demand grows, so does fear of what their newfound power might mean.Then a biohazard scare at Sinkat, their London headquarters, fuels the opposition and threatens to derail the gillungs' progress. Was it an accident born of overconfidence, or was it sabotage?DS Sharon Varsi has her suspicions, and Gabriel sees parallels in the propaganda war he's trying to manage: politicians and big business have stakes in this game too. And now there is a new threat: Zavcka Klist is out of prison. With powerful new followers and nothing to lose, she's out to reclaim everything they took from her.'Some books are good, some books are even great. This one is important' - SF Signal

Jo Fletcher Books

The Sword of Feimhin

Frank P. Ryan
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan

Four young men and women fell into the magical land of Tír through a mysterious portal in Ireland - and now the fate of two worlds lies on their shoulders in this 'enthralling' (LA Times) and 'fast-paced, action-packed and truly fantastical journey' (Fantasy Book Review)The Tyrant has control of the artefact known as the Fáil, and as he strengthena his hold on the forces of dark magic, he now threatens Earth as well as Tír.In a violently dystopian London, Mark has joined forced with Nantosueta to search for the Sword of Feimhin, while on Tír, Alan has mustered a Shee army and is intent taking the fight to the Tyrant - but obstacles obstruct his path at every turn. And Kate, now in the in-between world of Dromenon, finds herself entering the Land of the Dead . . .Day by day and hour by hour, the looming threat grows.'Ryan's grand epic style . . . Passionate and dedicated fantasy fans will find a rich, immersive world and carefully handled characters' Booklist

Quercus

The Cosmic Gallery

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

The heavens are alive with breathtaking beauty: from the incandescent surface of the Sun to the shimmering tail of a comet; the birth of planets to the death of stars; the dancing shadows of Jupiter's moons to the silhouettes of eclipses. The Cosmic Gallery contemplates the entire cosmos as a grand celestial art exhibit. In six thematically organized chapters, Giles Sparrow presents an array of stunning images, ranging from easily seen phenomena to the most distant and intricate galaxies, providing the reader with an exciting and beautiful new perspective on the cosmos.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Tower of Bones

Frank P. Ryan
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan
Quercus

To Tell the Truth

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

Jo Fletcher Books

The Snowmelt River

Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.

Four teenagers are drawn from an Irish mountaintop into an enchanted land and gifted with great powers: but with power comes responsibility, and a vast evil has noticed their arrival . . . On the summit of the fabled mountain Slievenamon in Ireland there is a doorway to an ancient land of terrible power. The gate of Feimhin has lain closed for centuries, the secret of its opening long lost - until four orphans drawn together by Fate pass through the portal and find the enchanted but war-ravaged world of Tír, a strange land peopled by beings of magic. Here death waits at every corner, and they must learn to fight if they are to survive. And they'd better learn quickly, because their enemy, the Tyrant of the Wastelands, is growing in power.'The best fantasy novel I've ever read . . . an epic adventure that just does not stop!' said Glenda A. Bixler on Authorsden!

Quercus

Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

'I Have a Dream'

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

I Have a Dream' is an anthology of history's most inspiring words and thoughts from history's greatest leaders from all ages and nations. Each of the 370 quotations is accompanied by an extended annotation that tells the story of the speaker or explains the circumstances that gave rise to the quotation. Includes: 'I have the heart of a king, and a king of England, too' - Queen Elizabeth I (1588); 'This nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom' - Abraham Lincoln (1863); 'Non-violence is the first article of my faith' - Mohandas Gandhi (1922); 'Blood, tears, toil and sweat' - Winston Churchill (1940); 'Ask not what your country can do for you' - John F. Kennedy (1961) and 'I have a dream' - Martin Luther King (1963).

Quercus

The Natural World Close-Up

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Quercus

50 Digital Ideas You Really Need to Know

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Quercus

Breverton's Complete Herbal

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

Breverton's Phantasmagoria

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Quercus

The Story of English

Philip Gooden
Authors:
Philip Gooden

Quercus

The Stargazer's Handbook

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Quercus

50 Philosophy Ideas You Really Need to Know

Ben Dupre
Authors:
Ben Dupre
Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Giles Sparrow

Giles Sparrow studied Astronomy at University College London, and works as an editor specializing in popular science. He is the author of - amongst other books - The Genius Test, The Universe and How To See It, The Stargazer's Handbook and Hubble: Window on the Universe and was a major contributor to Dorling Kindersley's Universe.