Related to: 'How To Understand E =mc²'

riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry

DISCOVER THE AMAZING POWER OF POETRY TO MAKE EVEN THE MOST F**KED UP TIMES FEEL BETTERA beautiful little book of short, simple, classic and contemporary poems to dip into, to make life feel better.From Shakespeare and Shelley to Lemn Sissay and Kate Tempest, poets have always been the best at showing us we're not alone, however sh*t things might seem.Funny, reflective, romantic and life-affirming - here is an anthology of poems to remind you to keep on looking at the stars: from that first 'what the f*ck' moment to empowering you to do something about this sh*t and ultimately realising that life is still beautiful after all.Rediscover old favourites and find some new treasures - you might be surprised just how much poetry can help. For fans of The Poetry Pharmacy, The Reading Cure and The Emergency Poet.

Quercus

Astronomy in Minutes

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
MacLehose Press

Roads to Berlin

Cees Nooteboom
Authors:
Cees Nooteboom

Adam Gopnik

Adam Gopnik has been writing for the New Yorker since 1986. He is a three-time winner of the National Magazine Award for Essays and for Criticism, and the George Polk Award for magazine reporting. From 1995 to 2000 he lived in Paris; he now lives in New York City with his wife and their two children.

Alok Jha

Alok Jha is a science journalist based in London. He has worked as a science correspondent for the Guardian and ITN, and made science programmes for BBC TV and radio

Ben Dupre

Ben Dupré read Classics at Exeter College, Oxford before pursuing a career in reference publishing. He was Children's Reference Publisher at Oxford University Press from 1992 until 2004 and, all told, has more than 20 years' experience of bringing complex and challenging concepts to the widest possible audience.

Cees Nooteboom

Cees Nooteboom was born in The Hague in 1933, and now lives in Amsterdam and on the island of Minorca. He is a poet, a novelist and a travel writer whose books include Rituals (1983), The Following Story (1994), Roads to Santiago (1997) and All Souls' Day (2001).

Dr Richard Elwes

Dr Richard Okura Elwes is a writer, teacher, and researcher in mathematics and a Senior Teaching Fellow at University of Leeds, UK. He is the author of the books How to Build a Brain, The Maths Handbook, Maths in 100 Key Breakthroughs, and Chaotic Fishponds and Mirror Universes (all published by Quercus), and has written for New Scientist and Plus Magazine. His research interests include mathematical logic and random processes.

Euan Cameron

Euan Cameron's translations include works by Julien Green, Simone de Beauvoir and Paul Morand, and biographies of Marcel Proust and Irène Némirovsky.

Giles Sparrow

Giles Sparrow studied Astronomy at University College London, and works as an editor specializing in popular science. He is the author of - amongst other books - The Genius Test, The Universe and How To See It, The Stargazer's Handbook and Hubble: Window on the Universe and was a major contributor to Dorling Kindersley's Universe.

Hayley Birch

Hayley Birch is a freelance science writer and editor based in Bristol. She has written for Nature, New Scientist, the Observer, the Telegraph and BBC Focus, and in the past five years has written over 100 articles for the Royal Society of Chemistry's magazine, on everything from recycling tea leaves to synthetic cells. She has also written and recorded several podcasts for the 'Chemistry in its Element' series, and co-authored The Big Questions in Science (Carlton, 2013). In addition to her freelance work, Hayley regularly writes news and in-depth reports for the Science for Environment Policy News service published by the European Commission.

Jean-Paul Kauffmann

Jean-Paul Kauffmann is the author of The Dark Room at Longwood (1999), an exploration of Napoleon's exile on St Helena, Desolation Island (2001) and Wrestling with the Angel (2003). He was a journalist until 1985, when he was kidnapped in Beirut and only released three years later. Since then he has been editor of both Amateur de Bordeaux and Amateur de Cigare magazines. Euan Cameron's translations include works by Julien Green, Simone de Beauvoir and Paul Morand, biographies of Marcel Proust and Irène Némirovsky, and most recently Monsieur Linh and His Child, by Philippe Claudel.

Joanne Baker

Joanne Baker studied Natural Sciences at Cambridge and took her PhD at the University of Sydney in 1995. She is a physical science editor at Science magazine, where her speciality is space and earth science.

Nigel Cawthorne

Nigel Cawthorne is the author of a number of successful true crime and popular history books. His writing has appeared in over 150 newspapers, magazines and partworks - from the Sun to the Financial Times, and from Flatbush Life to The New York Tribune. He lives in London.

Rachel Thomas

Marianne Freiberger and Rachel Thomas are the Editors of Plus Magazine (plus.maths.org), a free online magazine opening a door to the world of maths for the general public. Before joining Plus in 2005, Marianne did a PhD in pure mathematics, followed by three years as a postdoc at Queen Mary, University of London. She has also been Editor-in-Chief of the mathscareers website. Rachel worked as a maths consultant for business, government and industry, after completing her Masters in pure mathematics at the University of Western Australia. She has edited the Gazette of the Australian Maths Society and designed mathematical walking tours with Marcus du Sautoy for Maths in the City. Rachel and Marianne were also editors of the popular maths book 50: Visions of Mathematics (OUP, 2014).

Rita Carter

Rita Carter is a renowned science writer who has twice been awarded the Medical Journalists' Association prize for outstanding contributions to medical journalism. She is the author of Mapping the Mind and The People You Are and has been shortlisted for the Rhone-Poulenc Prize for Science Books. She is a frequent speaker on the topics of consciousness and behaviour at seminars and conferences worldwide.

Sarah Brewer

Dr. Sarah Brewer is a recognised expert on sensible supplementation and a respected health journalist. She is the author of over 30 popular health books.

Sissel-Jo Gazan

Sissel-Jo Gazan is a biology graduate from the University of Copenhagen. The Dinosaur Feather was her breakthrough novel, having sold in twelve countries and named the Danish Novel of the Decade. It is followed up by The Arc of the Swallow. She lives in Berlin.

Stuart Clark

Dr Stuart Clark is the author of the critically acclaimed book The Sun Kings: The Unexpected Tragedy of Richard Carrington and the Tale of How Modern Astronomy Began. A former editor of the United Kingdom's best-selling astronomy magazine, Astronomy Now, and a Visiting Fellow at the University of Hertfordshire, he currently writes for the European Space Agency and is a regular contributor to such magazines as New Scientist and BBC Focus. Dr Clark's previous books also include Journey to the Stars and Universe in Focus: The Story of the Hubble Telescope