Related to: 'The Other Woman'

Quercus

The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

A sudden death exposes three generations of family secrets in this gripping, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Belinda Bauer and B A Paris.Janice Keaton is living a quiet, easy life when a longed-for reunion with the daughter she gave up for adoption several decades earlier drags her into a lethal confrontation with her past. Did her brother, Dan, die a natural death? Is Joe, her former lover, really an acid casualty, or was there another reason for his abrupt withdrawal from public life? And what is her granddaughter, Molly, hiding? As she struggles to come to terms with a series of shocks, Janice realises that her recollections of the past hold a sinister secret - one with deadly consequences. And then Molly disappears...

Quercus

A Little Death

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Shortlisted for the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. London, 1955. Three bodies are found in a house - but when the police search for the murder weapon, vital evidence is destroyed. One of the victims is former society beauty Georgina Gresham, prime suspect in the notorious murder of her husband, James, almost thirty years earlier. Beside her lie the bodies of her brother Edmund and housekeeper Ada. But there is a link with the past. In the 1890s, in a beautiful garden, three children played together. Their lives were secure, their future certain - until the youngest child was found with fatal head injuries...

Quercus

Dying Voices

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Dodie Blackstock, child of a multimillionaire, was only eight when her mother was kidnapped. The rescue attempt went disastrously wrong, and no body was ever found. Now Dodie is twenty-nine, and her mother's body has just been discovered - but she has only been dead for forty-eight hours. Dodie returns to the family home and begins to piece together the fragments of her mother's life, whilst trying to come to terms with her own troubled past. But someone is watching her every move...

Quercus

My Best Friend

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

A quiet Suffolk village, 1944: Fourteen-year-old Gerald Haxton is a lonely boy who regards his still-born twin brother Jack as his only friend. His mother, a famous children's writer, guards Jack's memory jealously, claiming him as the model for the boy detective in her series of adventure stories, and Gerald, disturbed and unpopular, has no hope of ever measuring up to him. Playing in the woods near his home, Gerald discovers the body of his elder sister buried in a shallow grave. She has been beaten to death with a wooden stake and her boyfriend, a young G.I., is hanged for the crime. London 1995: As the country prepares to celebrate the 50th anniversary of VE Day, Gerald, who remains a loner, is nearing retirement. Obsessed by routine, he still talks to his dead brother Jack. Surrounded by nostalgic artefacts at the TV prop-hire company where he works, he is constantly reminded of the past, and, with it, his sister Vera's death. Hoping to escape his lonely existence, he takes to following Mel, the twelve-year-old daughter of a colleague. A few days later, Mel, who bears a striking resemblance to Vera, disappears...

Quercus

Hello Bunny Alice

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

I had the dream again last night. I'm at the bottom of a lake looking through the window of a car... and there's a skeleton behind the wheel, dressed as a Bunny Girl. Playboy Bunny Alice Conway's world was shattered when her fiancé, famous comic Lenny Maxted, committed suicide. Now, in 1976, Alice leads a quiet, reclusive life in Oxfordshire - until a newspaper cutting arrives, anonymously, in the post, an unexpected visitor turns up at her door, and the dark secrets of the past come flowing back. And a car containing human remains is discovered in a lake...

Quercus

The Lover

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award and the CWA Ellis Peters Award for Historical Crime Fiction. It is the autumn of 1940, and London is in the terrifying grip of the Blitz. An unidentified female corpse is discovered in an alleyway in Soho - the fourth to the have been found in a matter of weeks. The women - all prostitutes - have been horribly mutilated. Rene is a Soho prostitute with a young son to support. She's learnt to cope with the air-raids, but each night on the streets is a terrifying ordeal as the killer begins to pick off her friends. Lucy is a young, middle-class office worker living with her family in Clapham, her head full of romantic notions of how love ought to be. She struggles to make sense of things as her peaceful suburban life degenerates into chaos while London burns and crumples under aerial bombardment. Jim is a fighter pilot, handsome and much admired for his heroism in battle. The killer instinct makes him perfectly suited to the daily challenge he faces above the skies of southern England, but the strain is beginning to tell. In ordinary circumstances, their paths might never have crossed, but in war-torn London, anything can happen, and one night a bomb falls, with terrifying consequences for them all...

Quercus

A Thousand Lies

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

It's often said that a picture paints a thousand words... but what if every single one is a lie? In 1987, 36-year-old Sheila Shand was given a suspended sentence for killing her father. At her trial, it emerged that she and her mother and sister had been forced to shield brutal sadist Leslie Shand while he subjected them to a reign of terror, daily beatings and sexual abuse. Years later, journalist Amy Vaughan discovers a newspaper cutting about the Shand case while clearing out her dead mother's flat. Concluding that they are related, she decides to visit Sheila's mother Iris, who is in a care home. Amy is curious about the elderly woman who pores endlessly over an album of family snaps because she has known, from an early age, that photographs tell lies. Her own mother, who suffered from Munchausen's Syndrome By Proxy, used snaps of the daughter she'd made sick to try and keep the affections of Amy's father, a charismatic but elusive conman. When she begins to investigate the Shand case, Amy realises that there is more to the murder of Leslie than the police ever unearthed, including two long-buried skeletons in woods near the family's home...

Quercus

The Riot

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson
Quercus

A Willing Victim

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

London, November, 1956. DI Ted Stratton is tasked with investigating the murder of Jeremy Lloyd, a strange young man with a taste for esoteric religion. Stratton's enquiries lead him to Suffolk, where the mysterious Mr Roth has founded a Foundation for Spiritual Understanding. Apparently Lloyd had believed himself marked out for great things. But at the Foundation, Stratton meets twelve-year-old Michael who is proclaimed as the next incarnation in a long line of spiritual leaders that stretches back to Christ and Buddha. He is rumoured amongst Roth's disciples to have been immaculately conceived, but the woman who is said to be his mother, and whose photograph was cherished by Lloyd, has disappeared. When a woman's body is found in woods nearby, Stratton initially assumes he has found 'the mother', but the reality turns out to be far stranger and far more terrifying...

Quercus

A Capital Crime

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

An outstanding historical crime thriller based on real-life events: the framing of Timothy Evans for murders committed by notorious serial killer John Christie.It is winter, 1950 in a dingy part of London. John Davies confesses to strangling his wife and baby daughter, and for DI Ted Stratton of West End Central, it promises to be a straightforward case. When Davies recants, blaming respectable neighbour Norman Backhouse for the crimes, nobody, including Stratton, sees any reason to believe him. Davies is convicted and hanged, but later, after a series of gruesome discoveries, Stratton begins to suspect that there has been a terrible miscarriage of justice. Her marriage in tatters, ex-MI5 agent Diana Calthrop is determined to start a new life, but, despite a promising beginning, she soon finds herself in trouble both financially and emotionally. And with a seemingly unstoppable killer of women on the loose, she is very vulnerable indeed. A Capital Crime is a story of guilt, longing, uncertainty, and grotesque horror.

Elena Forbes

Elena Forbes has lived most of her life in London. Her first novel, Die With Me, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger.

Elly Griffiths

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. Elly Griffiths was born in London. She worked in publishing for many years. Her bestselling series of Dr Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk. The series has won the CWA Dagger in the library, and has been shortlisted three times for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her Stephens and Mephisto series is based in 1950s Brighton. She lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their two children.

Holly Cave

Holly Cave was born in sunny Torquay in 1983. She received a BSc in Biology and an MSc in Science Communication from Imperial College London, after which she spent four years working at the Science Museum in London. After a career break to travel the world, Holly became a freelance writer and now writes about science and technology alongside her fiction. She lives in Bedford with her husband, baby son and dog. The Memory Chamber is her first novel with Quercus, although she wrote a number of unpublished works with her father on his typewriter in the 1990s.

Jo Spain

Jo Spain has worked as a party advisor on the economy in the Irish parliament. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and went on to be a top-ten bestseller in Ireland. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.

JP Delaney

The Girl Before is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. It is being published in thirty-five countries. A film version is being brought to the screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.

Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark's number one crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than sixteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø and Stieg Larsson.

Kate McQuaile

Kate McQuaile is a graduate of the Faber novel-writing course. She lives in London and works as a journalist, but is originally from Drogheda in Ireland.

Linda Green

Linda Green is the bestselling author of eight novels. Her latest novel, After I've Gone, published by Quercus, is a top five Amazon kindle bestseller. Her previous novel, While My Eyes Were Closed, was the fourth bestselling novel on Amazon kindle in 2016, selling more than 450,000 copies across all editions. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son

LK Fox

Little Boy Found is the first psychological thriller from LK Fox, a bestselling novelist and short story writer. Fox also writes fiction and non-fiction under other names, and lives in central London.

Luca D'Andrea

Luca D'Andrea was born in 1979 Bolzano, Italy, where he worked as a teacher for ten years. The Mountain, the most talked-about and fastest-selling book at London Book Fair 2016, was sold in more than 30 countries before it was first published in Italy.