Related to: 'A Perfect Husband'

Quercus

Last Dance in Havana

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

Thursdays in the Park

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

"A WARM AND WELL-WRITTEN CASE FOR LOVE AFFAIRS IN LATER LIFE" (DAILY TELEGRAPH) - A ROMANTIC TALE OF NEW ATTRACTION AND OLD LOYALTIES FROM #1 KINDLE BESTSELLING NOVELIST HILARY BOYD. If you like Erica James, Harriet Evans and Veronica Henry, you'll love Hilary Boyd.SPECIAL 5TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THE EBOOK PHENOMENON. Includes reading group questions and the first chapter of Hilary's beautiful new book, The Lavender House.Jeanie has been married for thirty years, but her husband George has become so cold and distant she may as well be alone. Surely, at just sixty, a loveless marriage can't be the only thing left on the horizon? Then, one Thursday in autumn, Jeanie meets Ray in the park, and a chance meeting blossoms into a friendship.They talk, laugh, share hopes and secrets and heartbreaks.They offer each other a second chance at life and love.But will they have the courage to take it?

Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

Quercus

Meet Me on the Beach

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
Quercus

The Beach Cafe

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Mike Best's café on the beach is his world, but it hasn't been the same since his beloved wife Margie died. They used to work there side by side; now, a year after her death, the business he once loved brings only constant, painful reminders of her. His daughter Kim has helped the best she can, keeping him company (and keeping him sane) as well as making the coffees. But now she has a new man and a new flat, and is determined to have her own life away from the café. How on earth is Mike going to manage on his own? Margie was always the stronger one of the two. Now Mike knows he has to become as strong as she was, even if that means letting her go.

Quercus

A Most Desirable Marriage

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
Quercus

The Ghost Hunters

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Deliciously creepy' Herald. A hair-raising fictionalized account of the Borley Rectory haunting, based on contemporary first-hand testimonies.Welcome to Borley Rectory, the most haunted house in England. The year is 1926 and Sarah Grey has landed herself an unlikely new job - personal assistant to Harry Price, London's most infamous ghost hunter. Equal parts brilliant and charming, neurotic and manipulative, Harry has devoted his life to exposing the truth behind England's many 'false hauntings', and never has he left a case unsolved, nor a fraud unexposed. So when Harry and Sarah are invited to Borley Rectory - a house so haunted that objects frequently fly through the air unbidden, and locals avoid the grounds for fear of facing the spectral nun that walks there - they're sure that this case will be just like any other. But when night falls and still no artifice can be found, the ghost hunters are forced to confront an uncomfortable possibility: the ghost of Borley Rectory may be real. And, if so, they're about to make its most intimate acquaintance.

Quercus

When You Walked Back into My Life

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

For eight years Flora's love affair with Fin was a whirlwind of fun and spontaneity - but when Flora wanted to settle down and have children, Fin vanished. Life moved on and Flora's world filled with other people, other cares. There were benefits to being single - no socks under the bed, no mess in the bathroom - even if the memory of Fin could never be completely erased. But then suddenly, shockingly, Fin reappears. He's a changed man, he says, and her wants her back. Is this a chance to put right the wrongs? Or a massive mistake?

Quercus

The Singing Winds

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the homelands of Durham to the streets of London, can she go from rags to riches? Grieving after the loss of her mother, Abby Reed, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside, where she meets the brooding Gillan Collingwood. But then Abby learns that Gill is already interested in another woman. Heartbroken, she impulsively flees frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin. A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!Also by Elizabeth Gill:The Guardian AngelNobody's ChildMiss Appleby's AcademyThe Singing WindsFar From My Father's HouseAND COMING SOON, now available to pre-order: THE QUARRYMAN'S WIFE

Quercus

Shelter from the Storm

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

1877, Durham. After a traumatic incident, a woman gives birth to a child and is persuaded by her husband to give him up to a local couple. On the same dark and stormy night, a local pit owner turns his wife out on to the bleak moors, telling her son she is evil. The woman is never seen again.1897, DurhamThese childhood events, seemingly unrelated, have shaped the characters of these two unloved boys, now men. And they in turn are about to change the lives of two innocent young women, as the past reaches out and casts a shadow over the present.

Quercus

Far From My Father's House

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

When Blake's grandparents die suddenly, his world collapses. Parentless and friendless, he is taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, where he meets the beautiful Annie, his employer's daughter. But Annie doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. Will he ever see her again?A gritty, emotional saga about love and second chances from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Quercus

Under a Cloud-Soft Sky

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Tangled Lives

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Lizzie Delancey is happily married, in her early 50s, with three grown children. But Lizzie guards a dark secret. At age 18 she had a baby boy, and gave him up for adoption. She still thinks of him every day. Then, out of the blue, she receives an official-looking letter from Kent Social Services. Her son, Daniel, wants to make contact. On one hand she is overjoyed - she longs to meet him. On the other, she has never told her children that they have another sibling. Tangled Lives follows the effect this revelation has on her family, as, with Daniel as the catalyst, a few small tears in the family fabric suddenly gape wide.

Abby Clements

Abby Clements worked in book publishing before writing this, her first novel. Her Christmas baking skills are upper-intermediate. Her countryside-survival skills are basic to none. She lives with her boyfriend in North London.

Laurie Graham

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, most recently The Grand Duchess of Nowhere and The Night in Question (2015), Laurie lives in Dublin. Visit her website at www.lauriegraham.com

Rosanna Ley

Rosanna Ley works as a creative tutor and has written many articles and stories for national magazines. Her writing holidays and retreats take place in stunning locations in Spain and Italy. When she is not travelling, Rosanna lives in West Dorset by the sea.

S. G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth and seventeenth century Scottish history. She lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland with her husband and four children. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton, A Game of Sorrows, Crucible and The Devil's Recruit. Her latest series of historical thrillers is set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first book in the series, The Seeker, won the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award.

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.