Related to: 'Cuckoo'

Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you payAs high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian 'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child'PROPULSIVE' - Metro'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me'SINISTER' - Red'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear 'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street 'ENTHRALLING' - Heat'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

For fans of Marian Keyes, Dolly Alderton and Holly Bourne, ALMOST LOVE is one of the most addictive and heartbreaking reads of 2018 'Compulsive' Sunday Times'Breaks another boundary' Irish Times'A must-read' Image 'Honest and poignant' Elle 'Intelligent and compelling' Daily Mail When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt.Isn't it?

Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg's work is all-consuming and, as the baby's birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

riverrun

This Is It

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

It Can't Go On

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Stuff

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

riverrun

Jack the Lad and Bloody Mary

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

Quercus

The Missing One

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

'From the very first page I was drawn in, hook, line and sinker' Amazon reviewerThe bestselling noir thriller about the lengths a mother will go to protect her child. Perfect for fans of While My Eyes Were Closed and The Widow.The loss of her mother has left Kali McKenzie with too many unanswered questions. But while clearing out Elena's art studio, she finds a drawer packed with postcards, each bearing an identical one-line message from a Canadian gallery owner called Susannah Gillespie: thinking of you. Who is this woman and what does she know about Elena's hidden past? Desperate to find out, Kali travels with her toddler, Finn, to Susannah's isolated home on a remote British Columbian island, a place of killer whales and storms. But as bad weather closes in, Kali quickly realises she has made a big mistake. The enigmatic Susannah refuses to talk about the past, and as Kali struggles to piece together what happened back in the 1970s, Susannah's behaviour grows more and more erratic. Most worrying of all, Susannah is becoming increasingly preoccupied with little Finn . . .**Enjoyed The Missing One? The new novel from the inimitable Lucy Atkins, The Night Visitor, is available now!**

riverrun

The Works

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

Winter Breaks

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
riverrun

S.O.S.

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly

The luxury cruise ship Transylvania takes six days to cross the Atlantic - just enough time for the passengers to find their sea-legs and lose their heads. Whether it's husbands pining for their mistresses back on shore, stewards with a raging cabin fever or mothers sweating to outshine their daughters, they transform the Transylvania into a floating purgatory of Pacific proportions. S.O.S. is Joseph Connolly's brilliant boat-bound comedy, a novel of holiday-makers and holiday-haters running aground on each other's lives and loves. 'Getting away from it all' is hopeless - and hilarious - when you've brought it all on board with you.

riverrun

These Are Our Children

Julie Maxwell
Authors:
Julie Maxwell

riverrun

Come to the Edge

Joanna Kavenna
Authors:
Joanna Kavenna

Tom Callaghan

Born in the North of England, Tom Callaghan was educated at the University of York and Vassar College, New York. An inveterate traveller, he divides his time between London, Prague, Dubai and Bishkek.

Tom Rachman

Born in London and raised in Vancouver, Tom Rachman was a foreign correspondent for the Associated Press stationed in Rome, then an editor at the International Herald Tribune in Paris. He is the author of three novels, the international bestseller The Imperfectionists; The Rise and Fall of Great Powers and The Italian Teacher, as well as a short stories collection, Basket of Deplorables. He lives in London.

Tony Park

Australian writer Tony Park fell in love with South Africa on a short trip in 1995. He is a major in the Australian Army Reserve and has worked in journalism and PR, including six months in Afghanistan as PR officer for the Australian ground forces. Tony and his wife Nicola now divide their time between Sydney and the African bush.

William Nicholson

William Nicholson grew up in Sussex and was educated at Downside School and Christ's College, Cambridge. His plays for television include Shadowlands and Life Story, both of which won the BAFTA Best Television Drama award of their year. His first play, an adaptation of Shadowlands for stage, was Evening Standard's Best Play of 1990. He was co-writer on the film Gladiator, and his film writing credits include Elizabeth: The Golden Age, Les Miserables and Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom. He is married with three children and lives in Sussex. Visit his website at www.williamnicholson.co.uk

William Shaw

William Shaw has been shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger, longlisted for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year and nominated for a Barry Award. A regular at festivals, he organises panel talks and CWA events across the south east. Shaw is the author of the acclaimed Breen & Tozer crime series: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars and Sympathy for the Devil; and the standalone bestseller The Birdwatcher. He is writing a new crime series starring the character DS Alexandra Cupidi from The Birdwatcher, the first of which is Salt Lane. He worked as a journalist for over twenty years and lives in Brighton.

Yangsze Choo

Yangsze Choo is a fourth-generation Malaysian of Chinese descent. After receiving her undergraduate degree from Harvard, she worked as a management consultant and at a start-up before writing her first novel, NYTimes bestseller The Ghost Bride. She lives in California with her family and several chickens, and loves to eat and read (often at the same time). The Night Tiger would not have been possible without large quantities of dark chocolate.

Yaniv Iczkovits

Yaniv Iczkovits, born in 1975, has published three novels (the first was awarded Haaretz's debut novel prize and the second the Prime Minister's Prize) His third novel, The Slaughterman's Daughter, was awarded the Agnon Prize in 2015, the first time the prize has been granted in ten years. Iczkovits won the Ramat Gan Prize for Literary Excellence and was shortlisted for the Sapir Prize. He has a PhD in philosophy from Columbia University, and published a book based on his academic work entitled Wittgenstein's Ethical Thought (Palgrave Macmillan).