Related to: 'Catfulness'

About Heron Books

Heron Books is an imprint of Quercus Books, focussed on publishing high-quality storytelling in both fiction and non-fiction.

Quercus

The Little Book of Ikigai

Ken Mogi
Authors:
Ken Mogi

Welcome to ikigai, a Japanese mindset that will change your life. Ken Mogi, a Japanese expert and bestselling writer, reveals all about this mysterious and fascinating miracle that is at the heart of Japan's record-breaking long life, astonishing appreciation of sensory beauty and inherent mindfulness.It is extraordinary that Japanese men's longevity ranks 4th in the world, while Japanese women's ranks 2nd. But perhaps this comes as no surprise when you know that the Japanese understanding of ikigai is embedded in their daily life and in absolutely everything that they do. In their professional careers, in their relationships with family members, in the hobbies they cultivate so meticulously. Ken Mogi identifies five key pillars to ikigai:Pillar 1: Starting smallPillar 2: Releasing yourselfPillar 3:Harmony and sustainabilityPillar 4:The joy of little thingsPillar 5:Being in the here and nowThe Japanese talk about ikigai as 'a reason to get up in the morning'. It is something that keeps one's enthusiasm for life going, whether you are a cleaner of the famous Shinkansen bullet train, the mother of a newborn child or a Michelin-starred sushi chef. The Five Pillars at the heart of everything they do.But how do you find your own ikigai? How does ikigai contribute to happiness? Neuroscientist and bestselling Japanese writer Ken Mogi provides an absorbing insight into this way of life, incorporating scientific research and first-hand experience, and providing a colourful narrative of Japanese culture and history along the way.

Quercus

Confidence: The Secret

Katie Piper
Authors:
Katie Piper
Quercus

I Followed the Rules

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'After a couple of pages I was already crying with laughter!' Amazon reviewer. The bestselling romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.True love by the book! Have you heard of The Rules of Engagement? It's a book that promises to teach you to find the man of your dreams in ten easy steps. Unsurprisingly, I don't own a copy. What is it, 1892? But I'm a journalist, and I've promised to follow it to the letter and write about the results. Never mind that my friends think I'm insane, I'm stalking men all over town and can't keep my mouth shut at the best of times. My name is Cat Buchanan. I've been single for six years, but that's about to change. After all, I'm on a deadline. I Followed the Rules and this is what happened . . .From the bestselling author of The List comes a hilarious romantic comedy about finding true love by the book.

Quercus

This Book Will Make You Feel Beautiful

Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Authors:
Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar

Improve your body image and learn to combat self-doubt so you feel comfortable in your own skin.Body image insecurities can affect your entire life. Constantly worrying about how you look can ruin your day-to-day experiences - whether in your career, with family, or in relationships - curb your ambitions and make you feel you don't measure up in some way. If this sounds familiar, it's time to take action. This compact book addresses the root causes of body image anxiety and breaks them down so you can start changing how you view yourself, your appearance and any difficulties you're facing. You'll learn how to stop destructive behaviours, limit self-criticism, manage emotional eating and see yourself differently. Dr Jessamy Hibberd and Jo Usmar use the latest CBT techniques with practical exercises to enable you to build your self-esteem and boost your wellbeing so you'll feel confident, self-assured and beautiful.Chapters include: Why Do We Hate the Way We Look?Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT)Stopping Bad Body Image BehaviourFood for ThoughtJudgement DayFacing Your FearsPraise for the This Book Will series:'Top tips for making your life loads better.' Cosmo'The answer to all my problems.' Katie Piper'Take on January with new-found serenity with this series of self-help books' Stylist

Quercus

This Book Will Make You Mindful

Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Authors:
Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar

A Cat

This book was written by a cat.

Amber Anderson

Amber Anderson is a freelance illustrator from London, UK. Her work is almost always highly intricate, she enjoys capturing a sense of nostalgia and unusual environments in her illustrations. Some of her past projects include illustrating board games, shop interiors, clothing and accessories as well as working in commercial settings. She enjoys focusing her work on illustrating products, that people can use and enjoy.

Anna Bell

Anna Bell currently writes the weekly column 'The Secret Dreamworld of An Aspiring Author' on the website Novelicious. She is a full-time writer and loves nothing more than going for walks with her husband and Labrador.

Bruno Vincent

Bruno Vincent is the author of several humour titles including (with Jon Butler) the bestselling Do Ants Have Arseholes?, a Christmas No.1 back in the more innocent days of Myspace and News of the World. He has also written two volumes of gothic horror stories for children which were adapted for the stage.

Cate Woods

Cate Woods made the most of her degree in Anglo-Saxon Literature by embarking on a career making tea on programmes including The Big Breakfast, Who Wants to be a Millionaire and French & Saunders. After narrowly missing out on the chance to become a Channel 5 weather girl she moved into journalism, where she interviewed every famous John, from Prescott to Bon Jovi, ghostwrote a weekly column for a footballer's wife and enjoyed a brief stint as one half of Closer magazine's gossip-columnist duo, 'Mr & Mrs Showbiz'. Cate left the magazine world in 2009 to pursue a full-time career ghostwriting celebrity autobiographies and novels. She lives in London with her husband (not Mr Showbiz) and two small children. Just Haven't Met You Yet is her first novel under her own name.

Dani Rabaiotti

Dani Rabaiotti is a PhD candidate and zoologist who studies African wild dogs and climate change at London Zoo.

James Rhodes

James Rhodes was born in London in 1975. A keen piano player, at eighteen he was offered a scholarship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, but went to Edinburgh University instead. James stopped playing the piano entirely and dropped out after a year. He ended up working in the City for five years. After a devastating mental breakdown that led him to be institutionalised, he took the piano up again. He is now a professional and applauded concert pianist, writer and TV presenter. His memoir, Instrumental, was published to great critical acclaim and became an international bestseller, as did his short book How To Play the Piano.

Jessamy Hibberd

Dr Jessamy Hibberd is a highly respected clinical psychologist who worked for the NHS before setting up her own private practice. She is a member of the British Psychological Society (BPS) and the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies (BABCP). Jo Usmar is a freelance journalist and editor. She has contributed to a variety of national titles, including Stylist and Fabulous, as well as writing a regular relationship column for Cosmopolitan. She has appeared on TV and radio commenting on lifestyle and relationship issues.

Jo Usmar

Jo Usmar is the co-author of six titles in the This Book Will Make You series and sole author of This Book Will Make You Fearless and This Book Will Make You Successful.Through her work as a journalist for magazines, newspapers and websites including the Telegraph, Huffington Post, Stylist, ShortList, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, the Mirror and Look, Jo is well known for her entertaining tone and light touch with tricky subjects. She has appeared on Radio 4 Woman's Hour and Sky News discussing her work and is the founder of the Instagram self-help vlog project Bite Sized Psych.www.jousmar.com

Joanna Bolouri

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

Katie Piper

Katie Piper is a TV presenter and charity campaigner. In 2008 she survived an attack and her moving, BAFTA-nominated Channel 4 documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face was watched by 3.5 million viewers and shown in more than 15 countries. Katie founded her own charity, The Katie Piper Foundation, to help people living with burns and scars and she has received numerous awards and accolades for her charity work, including a prestigious Woman of the Year Award. She is now a presenter on Channel 4 and the author of five books: Confidence, Beautiful Ever After, Things Get Better, Start Your Day with Katie and From Mother to Daughter publishing in March 2018. Keep up to date with Katie! Twitter @KatiePiper_Instagram @katiepiper_ www.facebook.com/katiepiperofficialwww.katiepiperandyou.co.uk

Ken Mogi

Ken Mogi is a neuroscientist, writer and broadcaster based in Tokyo. He has published more than 30 papers on cognitive and neurosciences, and over 100 books in Japan covering popular science, essay, criticism and self-help. His books have sold close to 1 million copies.

Lars Mytting

Lars Mytting, a novelist and journalist, was born in Fåvang, Norway, in 1968. His novel Svøm med dem som drukner (to be published in English as The Sixteen Trees of the Somme) was awarded the Norwegian National Booksellers' Award and has been bought for film. Norwegian Wood has become an international bestseller, and was the Bookseller Industry Awards Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2016.

Nick Caruso

Nick Caruso is a PhD student and salamander expert at the University of Alabama.

Sarah Knight

Sarah Knight is the author of Get Your Sh*t Together and The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k - an international bestseller translated into fifteen languages and counting. Her new book You Do You is publishing in November 2017. Her work has appeared in major print and online publications. After quitting her corporate job in New York to start a freelance career, she now resides in the Dominican Republic with her husband and a sh*tload of lizards. @MCSnugzSign up for Sarah Knight's No-F*cks-Given Newsletter: tinyletter.com/sarahknightwww.sarahknightauthor.com