Related to: 'The Little Book of Ikigai'

About Heron Books

Heron Books is an imprint of Quercus Books, focussed on publishing high-quality storytelling in both fiction and non-fiction.

Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry

DISCOVER THE AMAZING POWER OF POETRY TO MAKE EVEN THE MOST F**KED UP TIMES FEEL BETTERA beautiful little book of short, simple, classic and contemporary poems to dip into, to make life feel better.From Shakespeare and Shelley to Lemn Sissay and Kate Tempest, poets have always been the best at showing us we're not alone, however sh*t things might seem.Funny, reflective, romantic and life-affirming - here is an anthology of poems to remind you to keep on looking at the stars: from that first 'what the f*ck' moment to empowering you to do something about this sh*t and ultimately realising that life is still beautiful after all.Rediscover old favourites and find some new treasures - you might be surprised just how much poetry can help. For fans of The Poetry Pharmacy, The Reading Cure and The Emergency Poet.

Quercus

Get Your Sh*t Together

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight
Quercus

This Book Will Make You Mindful

Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Authors:
Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Quercus

This Book Will Make You Feel Beautiful

Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar
Authors:
Jessamy Hibberd, Jo Usmar

Antony Beevor

Antony Beevor is the author of CRETE: The Battle and the Resistance (Runciman Prize), STALINGRAD (Samuel Johnson Prize, Wolfson Prize for History and Hawthornden Prize), BERLIN: The Downfall, THE BATTLE FOR SPAIN (Premio La Vanguardia), D-DAY: The Battle for Normandy (Prix Henry Malherbe and the RUSI Westminster Medal), THE SECOND WORLD WAR, ARDENNES 1944 (Prix Médicis shortlist) and ARNHEM: The Battle for the Bridges. The number one bestselling historian in Britain, Beevor's books have appeared in thirty-two languages and have sold just over seven million copies. A former chairman of the Society of Authors, he has received a number of honorary doctorates. He is also a visiting professor at the University of Kent and an Honorary Fellow of King's College, London. He was knighted in 2017.

Arzu Tahsin

Arzu Tahsin has worked in publishing for over twenty-five years, beginning her career as a temp at Virago and going on to edit and publish outstanding authors such as Khaled Hosseini and Malala Yousafzai. She cannot remember a time she was not working on one craft project or another. From Japanese woodblock printmaking to bookbinding to simple weaving, she has found it hard to focus on a single craft, and feels all the better for it.

Axel Lindén

Axel Lindén was born in 1972. He lives with his family at their farm in Östergötland county in the southeast of Sweden. On Sheep is his debut.

Dr Sarah Brewer

Dr. Sarah Brewer qualified as a doctor from Cambridge University, specializing in general practice and sexual health. She writes regularly for a variety of newspapers and magazines, taking a holistic approach that includes complementary medicine and nutritional supplements. She is the author of over 40 popular self-help books and was voted Health Journalist of the Year 2002. Sarah is currently completing a masters degree in nutritional medicine.

James Rhodes

James Rhodes was born in London in 1975. A keen piano player, at eighteen he was offered a scholarship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, but went to Edinburgh University instead. James stopped playing the piano entirely and dropped out after a year. He ended up working in the City for five years. After a devastating mental breakdown that led him to be institutionalised, he took the piano up again. He is now a professional and applauded concert pianist, writer and TV presenter. His memoir, Instrumental, was published to great critical acclaim and became an international bestseller, as did his short book How To Play the Piano.

Jessamy Hibberd

Dr Jessamy Hibberd is a highly respected clinical psychologist who worked for the NHS before setting up her own private practice. She is a member of the British Psychological Society (BPS) and the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies (BABCP). Jo Usmar is a freelance journalist and editor. She has contributed to a variety of national titles, including Stylist and Fabulous, as well as writing a regular relationship column for Cosmopolitan. She has appeared on TV and radio commenting on lifestyle and relationship issues.

Jo Usmar

Jo Usmar is the co-author of six titles in the This Book Will Make You series and sole author of This Book Will Make You Fearless and This Book Will Make You Successful.Through her work as a journalist for magazines, newspapers and websites including the Telegraph, Huffington Post, Stylist, ShortList, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, the Mirror and Look, Jo is well known for her entertaining tone and light touch with tricky subjects. She has appeared on Radio 4 Woman's Hour and Sky News discussing her work and is the founder of the Instagram self-help vlog project Bite Sized Psych.www.jousmar.com

Katie Piper

Katie Piper is a TV presenter and charity campaigner. In 2008 she survived an attack and her moving, BAFTA-nominated Channel 4 documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face was watched by 3.5 million viewers and shown in more than 15 countries. Katie founded her own charity, The Katie Piper Foundation, to help people living with burns and scars and she has received numerous awards and accolades for her charity work, including a prestigious Woman of the Year Award. She is now a presenter on Channel 4 and the author of six books: Confidence, Beautiful, Beautiful Ever After, Things Get Better, Start Your Day with Katie and From Mother to Daughter publishing in March 2018. Keep up to date with Katie! Twitter @KatiePiper_Instagram @katiepiper_ www.facebook.com/katiepiperofficialwww.katiepiperandyou.co.uk

Ken Mogi

Ken Mogi is a neuroscientist, writer and broadcaster based in Tokyo. He has published more than 30 papers on cognitive and neurosciences, and over 100 books in Japan covering popular science, essay, criticism and self-help. His books have sold close to 1 million copies.

Lars Mytting

Lars Mytting, a novelist and journalist, was born in Fåvang, Norway, in 1968. His novel Svøm med dem som drukner (published in English as The Sixteen Trees of the Somme) was awarded the Norwegian National Booksellers' Award and has been bought for film. Norwegian Wood has become an international bestseller, and was the Bookseller Industry Awards Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2016.

Mark Nepo

Mark Nepo is a poet and philosopher who has taught in the fields of poetry and spirituality for over thirty years. As a cancer survivor, Mark devotes his writing and teaching to the journey of inner transformation and the life of relationship.

Ole Thorstensen

Ole Thorstensen was born in Arendal, Norway, and makes his debut as an author with a story about work and identity and a tribute to manual labour. Thorstensen was raised on Tromøy, an island with five thousand inhabitants. He is a trained carpenter, and has worked for twenty-five years in the construction industry. He now lives in Eidsvoll, six miles north of Oslo.

Rosemary Davidson

Rosemary Davidson has worked as a publicist and editor at Bloomsbury and Vintage, Random House where she launched the Square Peg imprint in 2008. Taught by her Glaswegian seamstress grandmother, she started to make her own clothes as a teenager. She continues to sew and knit and has recently added pottery to her craft activities. She lives in Hackney and doesn't like curtains, can't drive a car or use a drill. And she can't crochet or felt either. But she's willing to learn.

Sarah Brewer

Dr. Sarah Brewer is a recognised expert on sensible supplementation and a respected health journalist. She is the author of over 30 popular health books.

Sarah Knight

Sarah Knight is the author of Get Your Sh*t Together, The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k - an international bestseller translated into fifteen languages and counting - and her new book You Do You, publishing in November 2017. Her TEDx talk 'The Magic of Not Giving a F*ck' has had over two million views. Her work has appeared in major print and online publications. After quitting her corporate job in New York to start a freelance career, she now resides in the Dominican Republic with her husband and a sh*tload of lizards. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram: @MCSnugzSign up for Sarah Knight's No-F*cks-Given Newsletter: tinyletter.com/sarahknightwww.sarahknightauthor.com

Theodore Zeldin

Theodore Zeldin has been named 'one of the forty world figures whose ideas are likely to have a lasting relevance to the new millennium' (Independent on Sunday), and 'one of Britain's leading intellects' (Management Today). His books Conversation and An Intimate History of Humanity are international bestsellers. For his studies of France he has been called 'a modern Balzac', 'not just funny, [but also] intelligent, loving, caustic, learned, light-hearted, serious, brilliant' - and he has been made a Commander of the Légion d'Honneur. He has won the Wolfson Prize for history, been elected to the British Academy and the European Academy and been awarded the CBE. He is an Emeritus Fellow of St Antony's College and an Associate Fellow of Green Templeton College in Oxford.