Related to: 'The Lisa Tuttle Collection'

Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Should you find yourself in need of a discreet investigation into any sort of mystery, crime or puzzling circumstances, think of Jesperson and Lane . . .Jesperson and Lane have just solved their first major case when a man bangs violently on their door - and almost immediately drops dead. The police rule death by natural causes, but the detectives are determined to find out what really happened . . .Mr Manning was screaming about witches before his death.The case takes them to Mr Manning's Norfolk home, a land of mysterious Shrieking Pits and ancient knowledge. Mr Manning was himself a member of the enigmatic School of Ancient British Wisdom, and not the first to suffer a similar fate. Local gossip suggests that he was secretly engaged to one of the three lovely sisters who reside at Wayside Cross - but which one? Are they really witches, as the gossips also claim?And what does all this have to do with the mysterious Shrieking Pits and a mother desperate to find her missing baby? Jesperson and Lane, at your service.'One of the SF and fantasy & horror field's most urbane - and much under-appreciated - writers' Love Reading

Jo Fletcher Books

The Jo Fletcher Books Anthology

Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
Jo Fletcher Books

The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

Snake Inside

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Award-winning author Lisa Tuttle returns with a grippingly sinister tale.When Iain's friend Nic becomes friendly with Lia, Iain begins to act very strangely. He plants the idea in Lia's head that her natural mother is a murderer who killed several men, claiming she was possessed by a snake. Soon Lia becomes convinced that she too has a snake inside.

Jo Fletcher Books

Love Online

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

A Nest of Nightmares

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

Ghosts and Other Lovers: A Short Story Collection

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

Memories of the Body

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's second short story collection is 'both entertaining and thought-provoking' Publisher's Weekly.This collection of fifteen emotionally-powerful short stories by a writer of cutting-edge fantasy, science fiction and horror are filled with subtlety, power and distinctive voice demanding to be heard.Includes five stories singled out by critic John Clute as 'among the very best short stories published in the last decade' - 'The Wound', 'Memories of the Body', 'Riding the Nightmare', 'Husbands' and 'Lizard Lust', along with 'A Mother's Heart', 'Bits and Pieces', 'Dead Television', 'Other Room', 'Skin Deep', 'Colonization of Edwin Beal', 'Spirit Cabinet', 'Jamie's Grave', 'Heart's Desire' and 'A Birthday'.

Jo Fletcher Books

My Pathology and Other Stories

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

What if the logic of the world reflected the bizarre logic of the unconscious? Each story in My Pathology explores the insanity just below the surface of normal life, especially the madness that unites and divides the sexes. A woman's obsession with her younger sister's nocturnal activities centres uneasily upon the attic of their shared home, where someone or something has built a room-sized nest. A man's desire to connect with aliens threatens his ability to form human relationships. And in the title story, a modern-day alchemist has enlisted sexuality itself into his quest for the philosopher's stone, with uncertain consequences for the women who love him. By turns disturbing and compelling, these sixteen multi-faceted tales reprise the career of one of SF's most emotionally insightful writers.Includes the stories 'Replacements', 'Honey, I'm Home!', 'Food Man', 'Mr Elphinstone's Hands', 'Lucy Maria', 'Where the Stones Grow', 'White Lady's Grave', 'Tir Nan Og', 'The Dragon's Bride', 'Manskin, Womanskin', 'From Another Country', 'The Walled Garden', 'The Extra Hour', 'In Jealousy', 'Turning Thirty' and 'My Pathology'.

Jo Fletcher Books

A Spaceship Built of Stone and Other Stories

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

'Tuttle is at her best as a short story writer. The power and sheer quality of her work are unmistakable on every page' Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Review. Containing 'Wives', a classic in feminist science fiction and the author's most frequently discussed and reprinted short story, and 'The Bone Flute', which was famously awarded and then removed from the Nebula Awards, Lisa Tuttle's second short-story collection is as breathtaking and genre bending as the first.Originally published by The Woman's Press, a specialised feminist publishing company in 1987, A Spaceship Built of Stones contains 10 short stories that demonstrate Tuttle's effortless mastery of the short story form and her undeniable writing prowess. The collection also includes the stories 'No Regrets', 'The Family Monkey', 'Mrs T', 'A Spaceship Built of Stone', 'The Cure', 'The Hollow Man', 'The Other Kind' and 'The Birds of the Moon'.

Jo Fletcher Books

Panther in Argyll

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

A unique and inventive story by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle.When Danni chooses to spend the school holidays with her godmother, Claire, she thinks she will find a kindred spirit. She doesn't bank on meeting the mysterious Finlay Black, or Claire being on the look out for the Panther of Argyll - the beast that supposedly roams the woods around her cottage. And she doesn't bank on discovering that she has the 'animal spirit' - a rare and unique ability that not only provides an empathy with animals, but the ability to become them. But there is a price for letting the animal within loose. Panthers are wild, primal, strong . . . and most of all free: why remain human when all of this is within your grasp?

Jo Fletcher Books

Gabriel

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

In award-winning horror author Lisa Tuttle's novel Gabriel, young window Dinah is ready to let go of the past, but her husband isn't. 'Gabriel is a spellbinding read from start to finish' Chris Morgan, SFF Book Review Annual 1988Dinah and Gabriel know that they'll be together forever, but when Gabriel suffers a violent and senseless death just a year after they marry, Dinah is devastated.Ten years on, Dinah believes she has moved forward enough to return to New Orleans, the place where she lived with Gabriel, and deal with the ghosts of her past. That is until she meets a young boy with a remarkably familiar face . . . Dinah may be ready to let go of the past, but Gabriel definitely isn't.

Jo Fletcher Books

Familiar Spirit

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

Lost Futures

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the James Tiptree Jr. Award, this literary science-fiction novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'a brilliant exploration of the relationship between quantum mechanics, human choice and alternate worlds' The Oxford TimesSometimes, those roads not taken can come back and haunt you.Clare's unhappy life hasn't gone the way she expected. At the age of thirty-three she's still an accountant, still unmarried and ridden with guilt over the tragic death of her brother. Her obsession with roads not taken drives her into a nervous breakdown, until she comes to realise that she can leave her unsatisfactory "real life" behind and enter alternate realities where things worked out better.But when she explores these other existences, she discovers they are far from the perfect lives she was imagining, and wherever she turns, another Clare usurps her own existence, until she is forced into the ultimate confrontation with madness - and truth . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

The Silver Bough

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Quercus

The Pillow Friend

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

Perfect for fans of Tanith Lee and Joyce Carol Oates, this extremely dark and disturbing novel by award-winning author Lisa Tuttle is 'Impossible to forget' Neil Gaiman.Be careful what you wish for . . . As a child, Agnes Grey dreamed of the perfect friend to ease her loneliness: a doll that would talk to her, tell her stories, share her secrets, just like her Aunt Marjorie used to have.So when she receives an old-fashioned porcelain doll as an adult, painted to look like an old-world gentleman, she's certain her dreams have come true. But as the line between fantasy and reality begins to blurs, Agnes discovers that every dream has its price and every wish must be paid for . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

The Mysteries

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

The Walled Garden

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

'A strong, poignant, and outright magical tale' New York Review of Science Fiction In this exclusive short story from critically acclaimed and award-winning author Lisa Tuttle, a woman is haunted by an experience she had as a five-year-old, when she believed she had seen herself with her true love in the future...'The Walled Garden' was originally written for Hidden Turnings, a YA fantasy anthology edited by Diana Wynne Jones and was reprinted in Lisa Tuttle's collection Ghosts and Other Lovers and The Year's Best Horror and Fantasy, edited by Ellen Datlow and Terry Windling.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Extra Hour

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

Treading the Maze

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle