Related to: 'Craftfulness'

Quercus

Calm the F**k Down

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight
Quercus

On Sheep

Axel Lindén
Authors:
Axel Lindén
Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry

DISCOVER THE AMAZING POWER OF POETRY TO MAKE EVEN THE MOST F**KED UP TIMES FEEL BETTERA beautiful little book of short, simple, classic and contemporary poems to dip into, to make life feel better.From Shakespeare and Shelley to Lemn Sissay and Kate Tempest, poets have always been the best at showing us we're not alone, however sh*t things might seem.Funny, reflective, romantic and life-affirming - here is an anthology of poems to remind you to keep on looking at the stars: from that first 'what the f*ck' moment to empowering you to do something about this sh*t and ultimately realising that life is still beautiful after all.Rediscover old favourites and find some new treasures - you might be surprised just how much poetry can help. For fans of The Poetry Pharmacy, The Reading Cure and The Emergency Poet.

Quercus

How to Land a Plane

Mark Vanhoenacker
Authors:
Mark Vanhoenacker

THE DAILY MAIL BOOK OF THE YEAR'Illuminates the practical reality of piloting in a concise and useful manner' Times Literary SupplementDo something amazing and learn a new skill thanks to the Little Ways to Live a Big Life books! By the author of the acclaimed international bestseller Skyfaring, the Economist's 'Best book of the Year' and a New York Times 'Notable Book', and a BBC Radio 4 Book of the WeekSo, hello! Welcome! Honestly, you look surprisingly relaxed. That's great to see. Have a seat on the left side of the cockpit - that's the captain's seat. Yes, that's right, you're now the captain, and yes, that's the runway down there. Fasten your seatbelt, order yourself a cup of tea, and let's get cracking.Mark Vanhoenacker, the airline pilot who makes poetry out of the science of flight technology, hands over the controls. Walking and talking us through the nitty-gritty of an approach and touchdown, he builds our understanding of flight from the ground up (or rather from the sky down), offering a new perspective of one of the more challenging and rewarding tasks ever.

Quercus

Get Your Sh*t Together

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight

Amber Anderson

Amber Anderson is a freelance illustrator from London, UK. Her work is almost always highly intricate, she enjoys capturing a sense of nostalgia and unusual environments in her illustrations. Some of her past projects include illustrating board games, shop interiors, clothing and accessories as well as working in commercial settings. She enjoys focusing her work on illustrating products, that people can use and enjoy.

Arzu Tahsin

Arzu Tahsin has worked in publishing for over twenty-five years, beginning her career as a temp at Virago and going on to edit and publish outstanding authors such as Khaled Hosseini and Malala Yousafzai. She cannot remember a time she was not working on one craft project or another. From Japanese woodblock printmaking to bookbinding to simple weaving, she has found it hard to focus on a single craft, and feels all the better for it.

Axel Lindén

Axel Lindén was born in 1972. He lives with his family at their farm in Östergötland county in the southeast of Sweden. On Sheep is his debut.

Barbara Nadel

In addition to her Hakim and Arnold crime series set in east London, Barbara Nadel is the author of the Ikmen crime novels, set in Turkey. Born in London's East End, Barbara now lives in Essex.

Bruno Vincent

Bruno Vincent is the author of several humour titles including (with Jon Butler) the bestselling Do Ants Have Arseholes?, a Christmas No.1 back in the more innocent days of Myspace and News of the World. He has also written two volumes of gothic horror stories for children which were adapted for the stage.

Dr Phil Hammond

Phil Hammond is an NHS doctor, journalist, broadcaster and comedian. Phil has worked in general practice for over twenty years, and has also worked in sexual health. He currently works in a specialist NHS team for young people with chronic fatigue syndrome/ME. Phil presented five series of Trust Me, I'm a Doctor on BBC2, encouraging patients to be more involved, assertive and questioning, and has been a presenter for BBC Radio Bristol since 2007. He has been Private Eye's medical correspondent since 1992, and appears regularly on national radio and television speaking up for patient power and a more honest and transparent NHS. This is his fifth book.

James Rhodes

James Rhodes was born in London in 1975. A keen piano player, at eighteen he was offered a scholarship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, but went to Edinburgh University instead. James stopped playing the piano entirely and dropped out after a year. He ended up working in the City for five years. After a devastating mental breakdown that led him to be institutionalised, he took the piano up again. He is now a professional and applauded concert pianist, writer and TV presenter. His memoir, Instrumental, was published to great critical acclaim and became an international bestseller, as did his short book How To Play the Piano.

Katie Piper

Katie Piper is a TV presenter and charity campaigner. In 2008 she survived an attack and her moving, BAFTA-nominated Channel 4 documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face was watched by 3.5 million viewers and shown in more than 15 countries. Katie founded her own charity, The Katie Piper Foundation, to help people living with burns and scars and she has received numerous awards and accolades for her charity work, including a prestigious Woman of the Year Award. She is now a presenter on Channel 4 and the author of six books: Confidence, Beautiful, Beautiful Ever After, Things Get Better, Start Your Day with Katie and From Mother to Daughter. Confidence: The Journal was published in October 2018.Keep up to date with Katie! Twitter @KatiePiper_Instagram @katiepiper_ www.facebook.com/katiepiperofficialwww.katiepiperandyou.co.uk

Ken Mogi

Ken Mogi is a neuroscientist, writer and broadcaster based in Tokyo. He has published more than 30 papers on cognitive and neurosciences, and over 100 books in Japan covering popular science, essay, criticism and self-help. His books have sold close to 1 million copies.

Leah Weiss

Leah Weiss, Ph.D is a researcher, lecturer, consultant, and author of How We Work. Prof Wesiss teaches Compassionate Leadership at the Stanford Graduate School of Business, where she created the perennially waitlisted course, Leading with Mindfulness and Compassion. She is a principal teacher and a founding faculty member of Stanford's Compassion Cultivation Program, conceived by the Dalai Lama.

Mark Vanhoenacker

Mark Vanhoenacker is a Senior First Officer for British Airways, flying Boeing 747s to major cities around the world.Skyfaring, his first book about airline flying, was a huge international bestseller.

Peter Liney

Peter Liney was born in Wiltshire but has spent a large part of his life overseas. He has written sitcoms for ABC and Channel 4, and drama for the BBC and South African radio. The full Detainee trilogy is published by Jo Fletcher Books. He lives in Salisbury.

Rosemary Davidson

Rosemary Davidson has worked as a publicist and editor at Bloomsbury and Vintage, Random House where she launched the Square Peg imprint in 2008. Taught by her Glaswegian seamstress grandmother, she started to make her own clothes as a teenager. She continues to sew and knit and has recently added pottery to her craft activities. She lives in Hackney and doesn't like curtains, can't drive a car or use a drill. And she can't crochet or felt either. But she's willing to learn.

Sarah Knight

Sarah Knight's first book, The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck, has been published in more than twenty languages, and her TEDx talk, "The Magic of Not Giving a Fuck," has nearly five million views. All of the books in her No Fucks Given Guides series have been international bestsellers, including Get Your Shit Together, which was on the New York Times bestseller list for sixteen weeks. Her writing has also appeared in Glamour, Harper's Bazaar, Marie Claire, Red, Refinery29, and elsewhere. After quitting her corporate job to pursue a freelance life, she moved from Brooklyn, New York, to the Dominican Republic, where she currently resides with her husband, two feral rescue cats, and a shitload of lizards. You can learn more and sign up for her newsletter at nofucksgivenguides.com, follow Sarah on Twitter and Instagram @MCSnugz, and follow the books @NoFucksGivenGuides (Facebook and Instagram) and @NoFucksGiven (Twitter).

Steven Kotler

Steven Kotler is a best-selling author, award-winning journalist and director of research for the Flow Genome Project. His books include Abundance, A Small Furry Prayer, and West of Jesus. His articles have appeared in New York Times Magazine, Wired, GQ, Outside, Popular Science, Men's Journal and Discover. He lives in New Mexico with his wife, the author Joy Nicholson.