Related to: 'Orphan Boy'

Quercus

The Foundling School for Girls

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyAfter Dinah Dixon's mother deserts her on Christmas Eve, her father comes home drunk and commits an unthinkable act. Without money or friends she has nowhere to go, but when he hurts her a second time, she knows what she must do. She is rescued by Jay, a businessman, who takes her to the convent where she meets sister Madeline. Along with the rest of the nuns, Maddy provides food, shelter and education for orphans. Dinah comes to look on her new friends as family and things are finally looking up for them all. But then a pit accident changes everything, and they all stand to lose something - or someone - they love...From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes a new series about the lost orphans of Durham and the nuns who take them in...

Quercus

The Coal Miner's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

Torn between love and duty... When Vinia walked down the aisle she knew it was a marriage of practicality: as the owner of the local pit, Joe could provide her with a life of status. But her heart lies with another... With gypsy blood in his veins and an intense passion in his soul, Dryden has always held a torch for Vinia. And with the death of his wife, he vows to make good on the lost years when they were apart. Will Vinia find a new chance of happiness or be forever destined to a loveless marriage? 'Original and evocative - a born storyteller' Trisha Ashley

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Black Family Series

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, is the Black Family trilogy - available in omnibus form for the first time. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Donna Douglas and Diney Costeloe.Swan IslandWhen Ella's father dies, leaving the family bankrupt, she must go and live with her grandmother, leaving everyone she knows - and loves - behind her. She eventually settles into a life of domesticity with a local businessman, David Black, but Ella can never quite forget her first love. Will she find the home she's always been looking for?Silver StreetWhen Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, she is devastated to learn about his family's shocking secret and immediately leaves to train as a nurse. Her absence casts a dark shadow on the Black household, and as much as he tries to move on, will Johnny forever be plagued by the memory of the girl who left him behind?Sweet WellsAfter the death of her father, Maddy Grant learns that the home she has always known has been sold to a local businessman, Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother. As they scrape to make ends meet and try as she might, she can't keep away from the influence of Jonas and finds herself falling for his handsome nephew. Can she ever come to terms with the ill his family has brought to hers?

Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Landlord's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Miner's Daughter

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a family saga perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.When Rosalind West leaves her native Durham for a job in London with the Doxbridge Motor Company she is determined to escape her background and build a new life. London is excitingly different and tantalisingly glamorous - especially when she meets the handsome and aristocratic Freddie Harrington, a rally driver, and the son of a once-wealthy Northumberland landowner. Against her friends' better judgement Freddie and Rosalind begin a relationship. But Freddie's family have plans for him which do not include marrying a Durham miner's daughter. Turning to a close companion for consolation, Rosalind suddenly finds herself torn between two men, both of strong passions, and fierce ambition.Note: this book was previously published under the title Home to the High Fells.

Quercus

A Durham Girl's Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

A Home for Maddy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Hat Shop Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?Note: this book was previously published under the title Snow Hall.

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries. Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.

Quercus

Ella's Choice

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes the first in the Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Catherine King. Ella's happy childhood in the Swan Island district of Durham is abruptly ended when her father dies, leaving the family bankrupt. Ella and her mother leave their home behind to go and live with her grandmother, who runs the Silver Street cafe. After a first, unhappy marriage she settles into domesticity with a local businessman, David Black. But Ella can never quite forget her first love. Now a contented wife and mother, Ella soon finds she must make an impossible choice.Note: this book was previously published under the title Swan Island.

Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and destiny perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.When Thomas Grant - one of the most eligible young men in London - proposes to Annabel Seaton, she can't say she's surprised, but she is delighted. He's been her best friend since she was a child, and she can't imagine life without him. What shocks her, however, is the reaction of her mother and father. Annabel knows that her parents disapprove of her forthright opinions, but their displeasure is both unexpected and unaccountable. As they permit the engagement, however, she decides to put it out of her mind. But before she can be married, tragedy strikes, and only then does Annabel learn of the shocking secret that her parents have kept from her. Determined to learn more, she travels to Durham on a personal search that will change everything.

Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . . Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A festive short story to accompany Elizabeth Gill's new novel, The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton. Lucy Charlton - beloved daughter, precocious student and aspiring lawyer - is looking forward to spending a cozy holiday in Durham with her parents and sister Gemma. But when Headmistress asks Lucy to look after a younger girl at school - a Malaysian immigrant called Shamala - Lucy learns that not everybody has a warm hearth and jolly family to come home to this Christmas. From the author of the bestselling novel Miss Appleby's Academy comes a heartwarming tale full of love, courage and Christmas cheer.

Quercus

The Pit Girl

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

To make a home, she must break the rules. Can she triumph over tragedy?After her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. But a sudden and shocking pit disaster almost destroys everything and Kate must draw on all her courage to survive...An emotional read about love in the face of hardship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Note: this book was previously published under the title The Singing Winds.

Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

The bestselling emotional saga set in County Durham. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Emma Appleby's arrival in the County Durham village of Tow Law is sudden and mysterious, provoking deep suspicion in the locals. And because she has a child with her, seemingly out of marriage, they want nothing to do with her - except for pub landlord Mick Castle. When Emma opens an academy and sets herself up in competition with the local school, she provokes a savage response from the community. But she will not be deterred - even when her past catches up with her and Mick is forced to choose between his heart and his family.