Related to: 'Staying Alive'

Quercus

Poems for a world gone to sh*t

Quercus Poetry
Authors:
Quercus Poetry

DISCOVER THE AMAZING POWER OF POETRY TO MAKE EVEN THE MOST F**KED UP TIMES FEEL BETTERA beautiful little book of short, simple, classic and contemporary poems to dip into, to make life feel better.From Shakespeare and Shelley to Lemn Sissay and Kate Tempest, poets have always been the best at showing us we're not alone, however sh*t things might seem.Funny, reflective, romantic and life-affirming - here is an anthology of poems to remind you to keep on looking at the stars: from that first 'what the f*ck' moment to empowering you to do something about this sh*t and ultimately realising that life is still beautiful after all.Rediscover old favourites and find some new treasures - you might be surprised just how much poetry can help. For fans of The Poetry Pharmacy, The Reading Cure and The Emergency Poet.

Quercus

Confidence: The Secret

Katie Piper
Authors:
Katie Piper
Quercus

How to Land a Plane

Mark Vanhoenacker
Authors:
Mark Vanhoenacker

THE DAILY MAIL BOOK OF THE YEAR'Illuminates the practical reality of piloting in a concise and useful manner' Times Literary SupplementDo something amazing and learn a new skill thanks to the Little Ways to Live a Big Life books! By the author of the acclaimed international bestseller Skyfaring, the Economist's 'Best book of the Year' and a New York Times 'Notable Book', and a BBC Radio 4 Book of the WeekSo, hello! Welcome! Honestly, you look surprisingly relaxed. That's great to see. Have a seat on the left side of the cockpit - that's the captain's seat. Yes, that's right, you're now the captain, and yes, that's the runway down there. Fasten your seatbelt, order yourself a cup of tea, and let's get cracking.Mark Vanhoenacker, the airline pilot who makes poetry out of the science of flight technology, hands over the controls. Walking and talking us through the nitty-gritty of an approach and touchdown, he builds our understanding of flight from the ground up (or rather from the sky down), offering a new perspective of one of the more challenging and rewarding tasks ever.

Quercus

Get Your Sh*t Together

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight
Quercus

The Story of Medicine

Mary Dobson
Authors:
Mary Dobson

Arzu Tahsin

Arzu Tahsin has worked in publishing for over twenty-five years, beginning her career as a temp at Virago and going on to edit and publish outstanding authors such as Khaled Hosseini and Malala Yousafzai. She cannot remember a time she was not working on one craft project or another. From Japanese woodblock printmaking to bookbinding to simple weaving, she has found it hard to focus on a single craft, and feels all the better for it.

BJ Miller

Dr. BJ Miller, Jr. is a hospice and palliative care specialist. He is an assistant professor of clinical medicine at UCSF where he attends on the Symptom Management Service at UCSF's Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Center, one of the first community-based palliative care programs in the country. He is also a long-time director of the Zen Hospice Project, a pioneering hospice organization in San Francisco. BJ is a native of Chicago. He studied art history as an undergraduate at Princeton University. He worked for several years for art and disability-rights nonprofit organizations before earning a medical degree at UCSF. He completed an internal medicine residency at Cottage Hospital in Santa Barbara, where he was chief resident, and a fellowship in Hospice and Palliative Medicine at Harvard Medical School, working at the Massachusetts General Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. In his work, he connects humanism and medicine in end-of-life and upstream palliative care.

Christophe Galfard

Christophe Galfard has studied Advanced Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at Cambridge University, England, where he did his Ph.D. on Black holes and the Origin of our Universe under the supervision of renowned Professor Stephen Hawking. Praised for his ability to explain difficult ideas with simple words, Christophe has been, for the past few years, devoting his time to spreading scientific knowledge to the general public. He has given public talks in front of more than 200,000 people, children and adults alike, throughout the world. He is a regular guest on TV and radio shows in France, where he is one of the most acclaimed popular science writer and speaker. Christophe has written many award-winning popular science books for children about the Solar System and our Earth's Climate before writing The Universe in Your Hand, his first book for adults, now an international best-seller translated into 16 languages.

Dr Phil Hammond

Phil Hammond is an NHS doctor, journalist, broadcaster and comedian. Phil has worked in general practice for over twenty years, and has also worked in sexual health. He currently works in a specialist NHS team for young people with chronic fatigue syndrome/ME. Phil presented five series of Trust Me, I'm a Doctor on BBC2, encouraging patients to be more involved, assertive and questioning, and has been a presenter for BBC Radio Bristol since 2007. He has been Private Eye's medical correspondent since 1992, and appears regularly on national radio and television speaking up for patient power and a more honest and transparent NHS. This is his fifth book.

Greg Wise

Clare & Greg Wise were born and raised in the north of England.She read books, he fell out of trees.She excelled at school, he hid when the end-of-term Report came.She got a Double First in History at university. He did two Degrees - one where you spend your time drawing, the other where you pretend to be someone else.Oddly, as adults, they both found themselves in the film business: she at the UK Film Council and then Vice President of Universal Pictures, he pretending to be someone else.They lived in the same street until her death in 2016.

James Rhodes

James Rhodes was born in London in 1975. A keen piano player, at eighteen he was offered a scholarship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, but went to Edinburgh University instead. James stopped playing the piano entirely and dropped out after a year. He ended up working in the City for five years. After a devastating mental breakdown that led him to be institutionalised, he took the piano up again. He is now a professional and applauded concert pianist, writer and TV presenter. His memoir, Instrumental, was published to great critical acclaim and became an international bestseller, as did his short book How To Play the Piano.

John Bew

John Bew teaches History and Foreign Policy at the War Studies Department at King's College London. He was the winner of the 2015 Philip Leverhulme Prize for outstanding achievement in Politics and International Studies and previously held the Henry Kissinger Chair in Foreign Policy and International Relations at the Library of Congress in Washington DC. John is a contributing writer at the New Statesman and the author of five books, including the critically-acclaimed Realpolitik: A History and Castlereagh. He was born in Belfast, educated at Cambridge, and lives in Wimbledon, London.

Katie Piper

Katie Piper is a TV presenter and charity campaigner. In 2008 she survived an attack and her moving, BAFTA-nominated Channel 4 documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face was watched by 3.5 million viewers and shown in more than 15 countries. Katie founded her own charity, The Katie Piper Foundation, to help people living with burns and scars and she has received numerous awards and accolades for her charity work, including a prestigious Woman of the Year Award. She is now a presenter on Channel 4 and the author of six books: Confidence, Beautiful, Beautiful Ever After, Things Get Better, Start Your Day with Katie and From Mother to Daughter. Confidence: The Journal was published in October 2018.Keep up to date with Katie! Twitter @KatiePiper_Instagram @katiepiper_ www.facebook.com/katiepiperofficialwww.katiepiperandyou.co.uk

Ken Mogi

Ken Mogi is a neuroscientist, writer and broadcaster based in Tokyo. He has published more than 30 papers on cognitive and neurosciences, and over 100 books in Japan covering popular science, essay, criticism and self-help. His books have sold close to 1 million copies.

Marcus du Sautoy

Marcus du Sautoy is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford where he holds the prestigious Simonyi Chair for the Public Understanding of Science and is a Fellow of New College.Du Sautoy has received a number of awards for his work including the London Mathematical Society's Berwick Prize for outstanding mathematical research and the Royal Society of London's Michael Faraday Prize for 'excellence in communicating science'. He has been awarded an OBE for his services to science and was recently elected a Fellow of the Royal Society.His mathematical research has covered a great many areas including group theory, number theory and model theory, but he has been equally successful in his promotion of mathematics to the general public. He has published a number of best-selling, non-academic books and appears regularly on television and radio.

Mark Vanhoenacker

Mark Vanhoenacker is a Senior First Officer for British Airways, flying Boeing 747s to major cities around the world.Skyfaring, his first book about airline flying, was a huge international bestseller.

Rosemary Davidson

Rosemary Davidson has worked as a publicist and editor at Bloomsbury and Vintage, Random House where she launched the Square Peg imprint in 2008. Taught by her Glaswegian seamstress grandmother, she started to make her own clothes as a teenager. She continues to sew and knit and has recently added pottery to her craft activities. She lives in Hackney and doesn't like curtains, can't drive a car or use a drill. And she can't crochet or felt either. But she's willing to learn.

Sam Guglani

Sam Guglani is a doctor and writer. He completed his Masters in Creative Writing at Oxford, his poems have won prizes and he writes for The Lancet. In 2009 he founded Medicine Unboxed, an event series bringing together medicine and the arts, which he directs and curates every year. He is a Consultant Clinical Oncologist in Cheltenham.

Sarah Brewer

Dr. Sarah Brewer is a recognised expert on sensible supplementation and a respected health journalist. She is the author of over 30 popular health books.

Sarah Knight

Sarah Knight's first book, The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck, has been published in more than twenty languages, and her TEDx talk, "The Magic of Not Giving a Fuck," has nearly five million views. All of the books in her No Fucks Given Guides series have been international bestsellers, including Get Your Shit Together, which was on the New York Times bestseller list for sixteen weeks. Her writing has also appeared in Glamour, Harper's Bazaar, Marie Claire, Red, Refinery29, and elsewhere. After quitting her corporate job to pursue a freelance life, she moved from Brooklyn, New York, to the Dominican Republic, where she currently resides with her husband, two feral rescue cats, and a shitload of lizards. You can learn more and sign up for her newsletter at nofucksgivenguides.com, follow Sarah on Twitter and Instagram @MCSnugz, and follow the books @NoFucksGivenGuides (Facebook and Instagram) and @NoFucksGiven (Twitter).