Related to: 'No-Bake Baking'

Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Brilliantly funny. Best book I've read in a long time!' Amazon reviewer on Just Haven't Met You Yet! Life isn't turning out quite how Annie expected. In her twenties, she had a dream job, an amazing social life and bags of confidence. Now, she's living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter. The promising career has petered out, and along with it, her confidence and creativity.And then Luke does the unforgivable. Annie will need the help of her group of loyal friends more than ever. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?What amazon reviewers are saying about Just Haven't Met You Yet:'Perfect page turner''Definitely the best book I've read in a while''It ticks all the right boxes - humour, romance and the most engaging page turner'

Quercus

The No-cook Cookbook

Sharon Hearne-Smith
Authors:
Sharon Hearne-Smith
Quercus

Just Haven't Met You Yet

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods
Quercus

The Soup Cleanse

Angela Blatteis, Vivienne Vella
Authors:
Angela Blatteis, Vivienne Vella
Quercus

The Clandestine Cake Club: A Year of Cake

Lynn Hill
Authors:
Lynn Hill

Following the success of their first recipe collection, the Clandestine Cake Club is back with a second delicious helping. Inspired by the most cake-worthy moments throughout the year, founder Lynn Hill and her army of Cake Club members have compiled 100 gorgeous recipes to whet your appetite and get you celebrating.Arranged month by month, you'll find cakes to suit all the best-known dates in the calendar - such as Christmas, Mother's Day, Easter and Halloween - plus countless other occasions that deserve to be celebrated, from international holidays (Chinese New Year, Thanksgiving) and religious festivals (Diwali, Mardi Gras) to major sporting events (Wimbledon, the London Marathon) and the birthdays of iconic figures, including Shakespeare, Elvis Presley and the Queen - not forgetting the queen of baking, Mary Berry! Whether you fancy rocking out at Glastonbury, shaking your stuff at the Notting Hill Carnival, tapping your feet to the Last Night of the Proms, or smelling the roses at the Chelsea Flower Show, there's a recipe here to get the party started.The cakes themselves hail from far and wide: some feel homegrown - such as Toffee Apple Gingerbread, Rhubarb Crumble & Custard Cake, and Strawberry Pimm's Cake - while others promise a taste of the exotic - Chocolate Key Lime Cake, Persimmon, Yogurt & Pecan Cake, and Matcha Chiffon Cake. Club members love to innovate, offering up such temptations as Sea Salted Caramel Cake, Passionfruit Caipirinha Cake, and Canadian Maple Syrup & Bacon Cake. Each recipe is served up with a little slice of history, revealing the curious traditions behind the cakes and intriguing stories about the occasions that inspired them. Accompanied by gorgeously styled photographs, this book gives every cake-lover a reason to celebrate.

riverrun

The Black Snow

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch

In the spring of 1945, farm-worker Matthew Peoples runs into a burning byre and does not come out alive. The farm's owner, Barnabas Kane, can only look on as his friend dies and all 43 of his cattle are destroyed in the blaze. Following the disaster, the bull-headed and proudly self-sufficient Barnabas is forced to reach out to the farming community for assistance. But resentment simmers over Matthew Peoples' death, and Barnabas and his family begin to believe their efforts at recovery are being sabotaged. Barnabas is determined to hold firm. Yet his son Billy struggles under the weight of a terrible secret, and his wife Eskra is suffocated by the uncertainty surrounding their future. And as Barnabas fights ever harder for what is rightfully his, his loved ones are drawn ever closer to a fate that should never have been theirs. In The Black Snow, Paul Lynch takes the pastoral novel and - with the calmest of hands - tears it apart. With beautiful, haunting prose, Lynch illuminates what it means to be alive during crisis, and puts to the test our deepest certainties about humankind.

Quercus

The Higgidy Cookbook

Camilla Stephens
Authors:
Camilla Stephens
Quercus

The Hungry Student Easy Baking

Charlotte Pike
Authors:
Charlotte Pike
Quercus

The Hungry Student Vegetarian Cookbook

Charlotte Pike
Authors:
Charlotte Pike

Quercus

Vivien's Heavenly Ice Cream Shop

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

'Deliciously romantic. A perfect summer read!' Miranda Dickinson. Discover this feel-good bestseller set by the sea, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Cathy Bramley. When Imogen and Anna unexpectedly inherit their grandmother Vivien's ice cream parlour, it turns both their lives upside-down. The Brighton shop is a seafront institution, but while it's big on charm it's critically low on customers. If the sisters don't turn things around quickly, their grandmother's legacy will disappear forever. With summer looming, Imogen and Anna devise a plan to return Vivien's to its former glory. Rather than sell up, they will train up, and make the parlour the newest destination on the South Coast foodie map. While Imogen watches the shop, her sister flies to Italy to attend a gourmet ice cream-making course. But as she works shoulder-to-shoulder with some of the best chefs in the industry, Anna finds that romance can bloom in the most unexpected of places...

Quercus

The Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook

Lynn Hill
Authors:
Lynn Hill

Secret venues. Inspired themes. Fabulous cakes. Across the UK and beyond, thousands of home bakers have been meeting covertly in hidden locations with the same simple mission: bake, eat and gossip about cake. These are the members of the phenomenally popular Clandestine Cake Club - and now, for the first time, they share their baking secrets with you. The rules are quite clear: no cupcakes, no muffins, no brownies, pies or tarts. It's all about cake! With each event organised around a creative theme, the results are some of the most loved and inventive baked delights you'll ever eat. From classic teatime treats and chocolatey indulgences to global bakes and spectacular cake extravaganzas, you'll find inspiring recipes such as: Scrumptious Sticky Toffee Cake; Smoked Chilli Chocolate Cake; Blood Orange and Rosemary Loaf; Raspberry Cakewell; Rose, Rhubarb & Cardamom Cake; Chai-soaked Vanilla Sponge; a giant Lemon Fondant Fancy; and the unmissable five-tier Rainbow Cake; plus stunning photography and sneak-peek snaps from club events. At last, the secret is out and everyone is invited to join the Club.

Quercus

Perfect Meringues

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham

riverrun

Lullabies for Little Criminals

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill

'Like Angela Carter, she is relentlessly inventive' Sunday Times'Full of pathos, spirit and iridescent innocence' Independent on SundayThe first novel by the author of The Lonely Hearts Hotel12-year-old Baby is used to turmoil in her life. Her mother is long dead, her father is a junkie and they shuttle between rotting apartments and decrepit downtown hotels. As her father's addiction and paranoia grow worse, she begins a journey that will lead her through chaos and hardship; but Baby's remarkable strength of spirit enables her to survive. Smart, funny and determined to lift herself off the city's dirty streets, she knows that the only person she can truly rely upon is herself.

Charlotte Pike

As a student, Charlotte Pike spent four years learning to survive on a meagre £10 a week and still eat seriously well. The skills she picked up in her university kitchen led her to train as a qualified cook and set up her own company called GoFreeFoods for people with food intolerances. Charlotte blogs on student cookery for the Guardian, writes a regular food blog for Hello! magazine and gives frequent cooking demos at food fairs around the UK.

Peter Stanford

Peter Stanford's previous investigations into the history, theology, enduring appeal and cultural significance of religious ideas include Martin Luther: Catholic Dissident; Judas: The Troubling History of the Renegade Apostle; The Devil - A Biography; Heaven - A Traveller's Guide to the Undiscovered Country; and The She-Pope, an investigation of the Pope Joan legend. His other books include biographies of Bronwen Astor, Lord Longford and the Poet Laureate, C Day-Lewis, plus the polemical Catholics and Sex that became an award-winning Channel 4 series in 1992. He is a senior features writer at the Daily and Sunday Telegraph titles, and contributes to the Independent, the Observer, the Daily Mail and the Catholic weekly, the Tablet, where he is a columnist. He has presented programmes on BBC 1, Channel 4 and Channel 5, as well as BBC Radios 2 and 4 and the BBC World Service.

Sharon Hearne-Smith

Sharon Hearne-Smith has over 15 years' experience of ghostwriting, recipe testing and food styling for cookbooks, food magazines and TV cookery shows. She has worked with some of the biggest names in the business, including Jamie Oliver, Rachel Allen, Lorraine Pascale, Gordon Ramsay, James Martin, and on BBC's Ready Steady Cook. Sharon lives in Dublin with her husband and two daughters.

Vivienne Vella

Inspired by cold-press juices, Angela Blatteis and Vivienne Vella founded their company Soupure to share the healing power of soups. Soupure develops and delivers nutrient-rich hot and chilled soups, tonics and waters, and soup cleanses that are delicious, satisfying, and endorsed by nutritionists.www.soupure.com

Mike Revell

Mike Revell has always wanted to write for children. He studied Creative Writing at the University of Essex, followed by a postgraduate journalism course at Harlow College. Mike also has a passion for American Football, and when not writing fiction, he reports on the NFL for the Mirror newspaper. He lives near Cambridge with his girlfriend and their new puppy, Toffee. Stonebird is his debut novel.

Dorothy Koomson

Dorothy Koomson is the author of seven novels - The Cupid Effect, The Chocolate Run, My Best Friend's Girl, Marshmallows for Breakfast, Goodnight, Beautiful, The Ice Cream Girls and The Woman He Loved Before, all of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Dorothy is currently working on another book and a screenplay. She lives in Brighton.