Related to: 'Rock Fix'

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke

Kenji Tanabe finds maps easier to read than people. At the elite Tokyo gallery where he works, he sells antique maps by selling the stories that he sees within their traces: their contribution to progress, their dramatic illustrations, their exquisite compasses. But no compass or cartography can guide him through the events that will follow the sudden and unexpected offer of a job in America.There, Theodora Appel runs a company that is more like a family. Brilliantly successful, beguilingly secretive, she gradually initiates Kenji into her rarefied world. Only someone like him - quiet, intensely committed and discreet - could be allowed to see beneath the surface to what his employer is hiding. Theodora has never recovered from the death of her lover, and her obsession to reclaim the past threatens them all.Moving across countries and cultures, The Consolation of Maps charts an attempt to understand the tide of history, the geography of people and the boundless territory of loss.

riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny, brilliantly subversive' Louise O'Neill'Highly-polished satire . . . Hilarious' Sunday Times'Funny, fierce, feminist' RedCat Ono, feminist powerhouse and high-flying editor at RAGE magazine, knows the price of fashion. Her friend - found dead in her office - just paid it. Everyone thinks Hillary dieted to death, but Cat suspects if beauty kills, it'd take more than that. She's sure she can match the investigating skills of the smart (and conveniently hot) Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case and achieve sartorial perfection.But when Cat goes undercover, she gets in over her head. Soon she's snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.

MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

Who is Enric Marco? An old man from Barcelona who claims to be a Nazi concentration camp survivor and rises to be president of Spain's leading Holocaust survivor movement, the Friends of Mauthausen. By the time he is unmasked in Austria in 2005 on the eve of the seventieth anniversary of the liberation of the camp, he has become a civic hero, speaking at hundreds of conferences, granting dozens of interviews, receiving state honours, publishing a successful memoir and even moving Spanish congressmen to tears at a memorial homage to Republicans deported by the Third Reich. The case shocked the world, and Enric Marco was labelled a great imposter to which he responded: "I am an impostor, but not a fraud."A decade later, Javier Cercas addresses the enigma of the man, his truths and lies, and, through an investigation that unravels Spain's history in the twentieth century, delves with passion and unflinching honesty into that deepest part of human nature - our infinite capacity for self-deception, our need for conformity, our lies, our insatiable thirst for affection and our opposing needs for fiction and reality.The Impostor is an extraordinary novel that not only tells Marco's self-deluding story, but also challenges the reader to consider how truthful any of us is in the way we present ourselves in daily life. Are we not all, asks Cercas, the novelists of our own lives?Translated from the Spanish by Frank Wynne

Quercus

The Lost Village

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Jo Fletcher Books

The Last Gasp

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Quercus

When Day Is Done

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the first book in the beloved Deerness series - a saga of love and loss, perfect for fans of Linda Finlay and Mary Gibson.When Dryden's wife dies he is finally free to pursue his one true love. But Vinia is tragically already married to Dryden's employer, Joe, manager of the Black Prince coal pit. Joe's jealousy over the growing connection between his wife and Dryden sends Dryden into the arms of the beautiful and fiery Roberta Grant. But can Dryden ever truly forget Vinia?

Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets.'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer. When Amy is abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, she is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. The masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming and Amy's only friend and ally is the sparkling young heiress Aurelia Vennaway. So when Aurelia tragically dies young, Amy is devastated. But Aurelia leaves Amy one last gift. A bundle of letters with a coded key. A treasure hunt that only Amy can follow. A life-changing discovery awaits . . . if only she can unlock the secret.Tracy Rees' next historical novel DARLING BLUE is available to pre-order now! Just search 9781786486677

Jo Fletcher Books

The Relatively Constant Copywriter

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

K.I.D.S.

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle

A fast-paced horror-thriller about a biological disaster that turns children into killers, from the award-winning author of Rock Fix. Danielle isn't the only one who appears to be possessed by an evil, destructive power she can't control. Soon, infected children all over the country are committing acts of violence and destruction, openly revolting against their parents and the adult world. Something has polluted and twisted their young minds, and given them a great power - but who? And why? Then Danielle disappears and soon, children all over the country are running away from home too, Only one thing is clear: these children won't stop until they have exacted a terrible, deadly revenge - but why?'Trevor Hoyle is Britain's most exciting writer currently working in genre fiction and the more experimental reaches of the mainstream' - Nicholas Royle, author of the cult classic Antwerp

Jo Fletcher Books

Earth Cult

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle

A Tellurian prophet has foretold the end of the world, but no one really believed it . . . until the US government built a scientific research station deep in a holy mountain!The Mountain of the Holy Cross near Roaring Fork, Colorado, has been held sacred by generations of followers of the Telluric Faith. But now the mountain is a temple of science, for deep within the ancient rock lies the Solar Neutrino Research Station. The Tellurians - and their gods - aren't happy.Since the Station started operating, strange and inexplicable events have been happening in Gypsum, the isolated town dominated by the towering peak. There are violent earth tremors and freak electrical storms, and people are dying from radiation. When science journalist Frank Kersh arrives to report on the Station's work he begins to draw some very unscientific conclusions about the research programme - and soon he is involved in a maelstrom of savage violence and destruction as an apocalyptic Tellurian prophet foretells the end of the world.Maybe the Tellurians aren't crazy after all . . .

Jo Fletcher Books

Rule of Night

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

Down the Figure 7

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle

The war's over, but kids are still fighting the enemy - until a soldier returns home and suddenly there's real-life danger, and real tragedy.On the wasteland between their houses, Terry Webb and his mates are battling the Nazzies and Nips, inflamed by the Movietone News at the Saturday matinee, the exploits of Hollywood tough guys and the tales of brothers and dads and uncles who fought for their country. But in the 1950s, Britain is struggling to emerge from beneath the long shadow left in the wake of the Second World War. Life is all rationing, 'make-do-and-mend', deprivation and poverty, especially in the Northern cotton towns.As far as the boys are concerned it's all just a bit of fun, just like their opportunistic fumblings and increasing interest in girls - until Terry's favourite uncle, a Desert Rat, comes home, bearing all the scars of Monty's North Africa campaign and bringing a piece of the war back with him. And suddenly for Terry, life's no longer a game, but there's real-life danger - and real-life tragedy . . .The past is truly is a foreign country in this coming-of-age novel based on Trevor Hoyle's short story, the winner of the Transatlantic Review short story competition, evoking the joys, frustrations, injustices, excitement, battles, discoveries and bloody-minded wonder of a boy slowly learning to become a man.

Jo Fletcher Books

Mirrorman

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

Vail

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

The Man Who Travelled on Motorways

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

Blind Needle

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

The Gods Look Down

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
Jo Fletcher Books

Through the Eye of Time

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle

In an alternate universe, Germany, and not the United States, has developed the first atomic bomb - and now, a group of scientists on the planet Earth IVn are seeking a way to being that research back!While investigating their research, scientist and myth technologist Christian Queghan discovers that they are now attempting to duplicate Adolf Hitler's brain.If Queghan is to avert this threat to the known world, he himself must first get to the alternate universe - but the scientists are determined to let nothing and no one stand in their way to introduce a New Order to earth IVn.Through the Eye of Time is Book Two of the Q Series, a thrilling epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.

Jo Fletcher Books

Seeking the Mythical Future

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle

An acclaimed scientist is chosen to travel through alternate futures to find safe haven - and instead, finds a totalitarian world of dictators and concentration camps . . .Christian Queghan is a Myth Technologist, a highly respected scientist on Earth IVN. Like so many other worlds colonised generations ago, the planet was created to be as much like Old Earth as possible - even though Old Earth itself is now pretty much a myth, the stuff of legend. But Earth IVN has its problems too.Now a machine has been developed to project a researcher into one of the infinite number of possible futures of Earth IVN, and Christian Queghan is the ideal subject. He can't resist the idea of going where no man has gone before, but there are an infinite number of possible futures, and no guarantee of a safe return.On a parallel world, a strange, translucent figure is found floating in the blood-red ocean on a craft of scorched metal. Could the alien's claim to come from the future be true? Or is this totalitarian world of dictators and concentration camps a dream projection from another dimension?Seeking the Mythical Future is Book One of the Q Series, an epic science fiction adventure through parallel worlds.