Related to: 'A Cold Silence'

Jo Fletcher Books

The Crow Garden

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

Susan Hill meets Wilkie Collins in Alison Littlewood's latest chiller. Mad-doctor Nathaniel is obsessed with the beautiful Mrs Harleston - but is she truly delusional? Or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered . . . ?Haunted by his father's suicide, Nathaniel Kerner walks away from the highly prestigious life of a consultant to become a mad-doctor. He takes up a position at Crakethorne Asylum, but the proprietor is more interested in phrenology and his growing collection of skulls than the patients' minds. Nathaniel's only interesting case is Mrs Victoria Adelina - Vita - Harleston: her husband accuses her of hysteria and delusions - but she accuses him of hiding secrets far more terrible.Nathaniel is increasingly obsessed with Vita, but when he has her mesmerised, there are unexpected results. Vita starts hearing voices, the way she used to - her grandmother always claimed they came from beyond the grave - but it also unleashes her own powers of mesmerism . . . and a desperate need to escape.Increasingly besotted, Nathaniel finds himself caught up in a world of séances and stage mesmerism in his bid to find Vita and save her.But constantly hanging over him is this warning: that doctors are apt to catch the diseases with which they are surrounded - whether of the body or the mind . . .'[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping' The Sunday Times

Jo Fletcher Books

The Jo Fletcher Books Anthology

Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan, Markus Heitz, Christopher Golden, Sue Tingey, Stephanie Saulter, David Towsey, Naomi Foyle, Snorri Kristjansson, Tom Fletcher, Aidan Harte, Lisa Tuttle, Alison Littlewood, Rachel Pollack, John Matthews, Caitlín Matthews
Jo Fletcher Books

The Hidden People

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood
Jo Fletcher Books

Seasons of Mist

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood
Jo Fletcher Books

The Unquiet House

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

A thrilling, unsettling, chillingly atmospheric tale of suspense, perfect for fans of Stephen King. What is lurking in the corners of Mire House?Mire House is dreary, dark, cold and infested with midges. But when Emma Dean inherits it from a distant relation, she immediately feels a sense of belonging. It isn't long before Charlie Mitchell, grandson of the original owner, appears claiming that he wants to seek out his family. But Emma suspects he's more interested in the house than his long-lost relations. And when she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder: is Charlie trying to scare her away, or are there darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House?This British Fantasy Award nominated work 'reads like a timeless classic of the genre' - the Guardian.

Jo Fletcher Books

Path of Needles

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

Dark and gripping, a thrilling tale of suspense for fans of SJ Watson and Stephen King. Some fairy tales are born of dreams . . . and some are born of nightmares. A murderer is on the loose, but the gruesome way in which the bodies are being posed has the police at a loss. Until, on a hunch, Alice Hyland, an expert in fairy tales is called in. And it is Alice who finds the connection between the body of Chrissie Farrell and an obscure Italian version of Snow White. Then, when a second body is found, Alice is dragged further into the investigation - until she herself becomes a suspect. Now Alice must fight, not just to prove her innocence, but to protect herself: because it's looking like she might well be next.'I loved Path of Needles. Dark but satisfying like the best chocolate' Elly Griffiths, author of The Woman in Blue.

Jo Fletcher Books

A Cold Season

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

'A very spooky story!' Richard and Judy. A nail-biting thriller, perfect for fans of LJ Ross and Joe Hill.A BROKEN FAMILY: Cass is trying to rebuild her life after the loss of her soldier husband, and a renovated mill in the picture-perfect village of Darnshaw looks to be the idyllic spot to bring up her traumatised son.A DARK SECRET: But the locals aren't as friendly as Cass had hoped, and Ben is beginning to display a hostility she can't understand. Then the blizzards blow in, and Darnshaw is marooned in a sea of snow.ISOLATED: Now, threatened on all sides, Cass finds herself pitted against forces she can barely comprehend.The cold season has begun...

Alison Littlewood

Alison Littlewood is the author of A Cold Season, published by Jo Fletcher Books. The novel was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, where it was described as "perfect reading for a dark winter's night." Her most recent novel, The Hidden People, has recently been published to critical acclaim.Alison's short stories have been picked for Best British Horror 2015, The Best Horror of the Year and The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror anthologies, as well as The Best British Fantasy 2013 and The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10. She also won the 2014 Shirley Jackson Award for Short Fiction with her story The Dog's Home, published in The Spectral Book of Horror Stories.Alison lives with her partner Fergus in Yorkshire, England, in a house of creaking doors and crooked walls. You can talk to her on twitter @Ali__L, see her on Facebook and visit her at www.alisonlittlewood.co.uk.

Anders Roslund

Award-winning journalist Anders Roslund and ex-criminal Börge Hellström are Sweden's most acclaimed fiction duo. Their unique ability to combine inside knowledge of the brutal reality of criminal life with searing social criticism in complex, intelligent plots has put them at the forefront of modern Scandinavian crime writing.

Andrea Maria Schenkel

Andrea Maria Schenkel lives with her family near Regensburg, in Bavaria, Germany. On publication in Germany, Tannöd won first place in the German Crime Prize as well as the Friedrich-Glauser Prize.

Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris writes the No. 1 Sunday Times and internationally bestselling paranormal fantasy series featuring Sookie Stackhouse (the basis for the HBO series True Blood), amongst others. She lives in Texas.

Christopher Golden

Christopher Golden is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as Snowblind, Tin Men, Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, Strangewood, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has also written books for teens and young adults. His novel with Mike Mignola, Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire was the launching pad for the cult favorite graphic novel series from Dark Horse Comics. Golden is also known for his many media tie-in works, including novels, comics, and video games, in the worlds of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Hellboy, Sons of Anarchy, and X-Men, among others. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. His graphic novel series Cemetery Girl, written in collaboration with Charlaine Harris, is published by Jo Fletcher Books. You can visit him at www.christophergolden.com.

Elly Griffiths

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. Elly Griffiths was born in London. She worked in publishing for many years. Her bestselling series of Dr Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk. The series has won the CWA Dagger in the library, and has been shortlisted three times for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her Stephens and Mephisto series is based in 1950s Brighton. She lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their two children.

Frank P. Ryan

Frank P. Ryan is a bestselling author of fantasy and thrillers, as well as a number of highly acclaimed science and diet books; his work has been translated into a dozen languages. His YA/adult crossover fantasy novels The Snowmelt River, The Tower of Bones, The Sword of Feimhin and Return to Arinn make up the THREE POWERS QUARTET, all published by Jo Fletcher Books. His other fiction includes the thrillers Goodbye Baby Blue and Tiger Tiger; he is also the author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed science books The Eskimo Diet (co-authored with Dr Reg Saynor), The Greatest Story Never Told (The Forgotten Plague in the US), about the search for the cure for TB, Virus X, Darwin's Blind Spot (chosen book of the year for the entrepreneur Charlie Munger), Virolution, Metamorphosis and most recently The Mysterious World of the Human Genome. Frank Ryan was born in Limerick City in Ireland, but was brought up in Clonmel, in the shadow of Mount Slievenamon, the inspiration for The Snowmelt River, until moving to Bolton in Lancashire. After a near-death accident he switched from engineering to medicine, but in his first years at med school he was taken by the writing bug and started his first novel.

John Ajvide Lindqvist

John Ajvide Lindqvist is a Swedish author, born in 1968. He grew up in Blackeberg, a suburb of Stockholm. He wanted to become something awful and fantastic. First he became a conjurer and came in second in the Nordic card trick championship. Then he was a stand-up comedian for twelve years, before writing Let the Right One In. That novel became a phenomenal international bestseller and was made into a film and a West End play, both called Let Me In. His books are published in twenty-nine countries worldwide.

JP Delaney

JP Delaney is a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. Delaney's first novel, The Girl Before, has been published in forty-one countries. A film version of The Girl Before is being brought to the big screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.

Kate McQuaile

Kate McQuaile is a graduate of the Faber novel-writing course. She lives in London and works as a journalist, but is originally from Drogheda in Ireland.

Laura Wilson

Laura Wilson's acclaimed and award-winning crime novels have won her many fans. Her novel Stratton's War won the Ellis Peters Award, while The Lover and A Thousand Lies were both shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger. Laura is the Guardian's crime reviewer. She lives in Islington, London.

Linda Green

Linda Green is the bestselling author of eight novels. Her latest novel, After I've Gone, published by Quercus, is a top five Amazon kindle bestseller. Her previous novel, While My Eyes Were Closed, was the fourth bestselling novel on Amazon kindle in 2016, selling more than 450,000 copies across all editions. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son

Markus Heitz

Markus Heitz studied history and German language and literature at university before turning to writing. His debut novel Schatten über Ulldart (the first in a series of epic fantasy novels) won the Deutscher Phantastik Preis (German Fantasy Award) in 2003, and was followed by his bestselling Dwarves and the tie-in Aelfar series, which have made him one of Germany's - and Europe's - most successful fantasy authors. He currently lives in Zweibrücken, Germany.