Related to: 'Harold Larwood'

riverrun

'Feeling is the thing that happens in 1000th of a second'

Christian Ryan
Authors:
Christian Ryan
MacLehose Press

Between the Wars

Philip Ziegler
Authors:
Philip Ziegler
riverrun

A Yorkshire Tragedy

Anthony Clavane
Authors:
Anthony Clavane

THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF PROMISED LAND AND DOES YOUR RABBI KNOW YOU'RE HERE? SETS HIS FOCUS TO YORKSHIRE, AND ITS ENDANGERED STATUS AS A SPORTING POWERHOUSE.'If you want to know how it feels to be left behind, if you want to know how it feels to be forgotten, if you want to know how it feels to be heartbroken, then read this book' David PeaceFor the past 30 years, something has been missing from British sport. For some it has lost its heart and soul. Anthony Clavane argues that it has lost its Yorkshireness, which possibly amounts to the same thing.A Yorkshire Tragedy is the final part of Anthony Clavane's triptych that examines belonging, identity and the rise and fall of tightly knit sporting communities through the prism of the author's own personal experience.Loved A Yorkshire Tragedy? Then check out Does Your Rabbi Know You're Here? - Anthony Clavane's highly acclaimed history of Jewish involvement in English football.

Quercus

Forever Young

Oliver Kay
Authors:
Oliver Kay

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR'This football book is about something even more important than the "beautiful game"; it is a story of the human spirit.' - Mick Hume, The Times Adrian Doherty was not a typical footballer. For one thing, he was blessed with extraordinary talent. Those who played alongside and watched him in the Manchester United youth team in the early 1990s insist he was as good as Ryan Giggs - possibly even better. Giggs, who played on the opposite wing, says he is inclined to agree.Doherty was also an eccentric - by football standards, at least. When his colleagues went to Old Trafford to watch the first team on Saturday afternoons, he preferred to take the bus into Manchester to go busking. He wore second-hand clothes, worshipped Bob Dylan, read about theology and French existentialism and wrote songs and poems. One team-mate says "it was like having Bob Dylan in a No 7 shirt".On his 17th birthday, Doherty was offered a five-year contract - unprecedented for a United youngster at that time - and told by Alex Ferguson that he was destined for stardom. But what followed over the next decade is a tale so mysterious, so shocking, so unusual, so amusing but ultimately so tragic, that you are left wondering how on earth it has been untold for so long.The stories of Doherty's contemporaries, that group of Manchester United youngsters who became known as the "Class of '92", are well known. Giggs ended up as the most decorated player in United's history; David Beckham became the most recognisable footballer on the planet; Gary Neville, Paul Scholes and others are household names. The story you don't know is about the player who, having had the world at his feet, died the day before his 27th birthday following an accident in a canal in Holland.

riverrun

Gold Fame Citrus

Claire Vaye Watkins
Authors:
Claire Vaye Watkins
Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets. 'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer.Abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, Amy is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. But the masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming. Amy's only friend and ally is the sparkling young heiress Aurelia Vennaway. So when Aurelia tragically dies young, Amy is devastated. But Aurelia leaves Amy one last gift. A bundle of letters with a coded key. A treasure hunt that only Amy can follow. A life-changing discovery awaits . . . if only she can unlock the secret.Discover more from Tracy Rees with her next heartwarming historical mystery, Florence Grace.

MacLehose Press

A Dog's Life

Michael Holroyd
Authors:
Michael Holroyd

Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.

Quercus

Dog's Life

Michael Holroyd
Authors:
Michael Holroyd

Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

Emperors Once More

Duncan Jepson
Authors:
Duncan Jepson

Quercus

Stiff Upper Lips and Baggy Green Caps

Simon Briggs
Authors:
Simon Briggs

Quercus

Hash

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson

For millions of people across the world, lighting up a joint is no more controversial than having a cup of tea. But in Hash Wensley Clarkson explores the dark and sinister side of this multi-billion pound business: one fuelled by a brutal underworld network of dealers, drug barons, bent cops and even terrorists. Sex, intimidation, bribery and murder are all employed in a quest for vast profits. Travelling from the lawless Rif mountains in Morocco to darkened warehouses in Spain, protected by heavily armed gangsters, this is a revelatory roller-coaster ride through the secret world of Hash.

MacLehose Press

Beauty and the Inferno

Roberto Saviano
Authors:
Roberto Saviano

Quercus

Making Haye

Elliot Worsell
Authors:
Elliot Worsell

riverrun

A Last English Summer

Duncan Hamilton
Authors:
Duncan Hamilton

From matches played on a village green to the high-church splendour of Lord's, in A Last English Summer, award-winning author Duncan Hamilton preserves the 2009 cricket season, a seminal, convulsive time in the sport's history. In prose by turns reflective and glorious, he remembers all we have lost whilst displaying an overwhelming love for the game that stands out on every page.

Quercus

A Last English Summer

Duncan Hamilton
Authors:
Duncan Hamilton

Anthony Clavane

Anthony Clavane was born in Leeds in 1960. He started life as a history teacher and is now chief sports writer for the Sunday Mirror. He has won Press Gazette Feature Writer of the Year and BT Regional Sportswriter of the Year awards. His previous book Promised Land: A Northern Love Story was named both Football Book of the Year and Sports Book of the Year by the National Sporting Club, Sports Book of the Year by The Radio 2 Book Club, and won the award for Football Book of the Year at the 2011 British Sports Book Awards.

Christian Ryan

Christian Ryan is one of the most stylish and intelligent of writers on the sport today. He was awarded UK Cricket Book of the Year in 2010 for Golden Boy, his book on Kim Hughes's tempestuous period as Captain of the Australian Cricket team.

Duncan Hamilton

Duncan Hamilton is deputy editor of the Yorkshire Post. He is the author of the 2007 William Hill Sports Book of the Year, Provided You Don't Kiss me: 20 Years with Brian Clough (Fourth Estate).

Elliot Worsell

Elliot Worsell has followed David Haye's career intensely for the past decade.He lived with the champion, spent many hours in his company, and is allowed closer to Haye than anybody else in the precious final hours before battle. Worsell has worked as a boxing and mixed martial arts writer since the age of sixteen. He has been published in Boxing News, Boxing Monthly and The Ring magazine, and has freelanced for numerous national British newspapers. He is also the main contributor and Features Editor for David Haye's official bookazine, Hayemaker.

Oliver Kay

Oliver Kay is Chief Football Correspondent for The Times.