Related to: 'Harold Larwood'

riverrun

The Book of Forgotten Authors

Christopher Fowler
Authors:
Christopher Fowler

'Joyous . . . fascinating' Cathy Rentzenbrink'I love it! A real gem' Joanne Harris'The perfect gift for a book-obsessed friend or if you simply want to uncover a hidden gem' Stylist, 50 unmissable books for autumn 2017Absence doesn't make the heart grow fonder. It makes people think you're dead.So begins Christopher Fowler's foray into the back catalogues and backstories of 99 authors who, once hugely popular, have all but disappeared from our shelves.Whether male or female, domestic or international, flash-in-the-pan or prolific, mega-seller or prize-winner - no author, it seems, can ever be fully immune from the fate of being forgotten. And Fowler, as well as remembering their careers, lifts the lid on their lives, and why they often stopped writing or disappeared from the public eye.These 99 journeys are punctuated by 12 short essays about faded once-favourites: including the now-vanished novels Walt Disney brought to the screen, the contemporary rivals of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie who did not stand the test of time, and the women who introduced us to psychological suspense many decades before it conquered the world.This is a book about books and their authors. It is for book lovers, and is written by one who could not be a more enthusiastic, enlightening and entertaining guide.

riverrun

Feeling is the Thing that Happens in 1000th of a Second

Christian Ryan
Authors:
Christian Ryan
MacLehose Press

Between the Wars

Philip Ziegler
Authors:
Philip Ziegler
riverrun

A Yorkshire Tragedy

Anthony Clavane
Authors:
Anthony Clavane
riverrun

Gold Fame Citrus

Claire Vaye Watkins
Authors:
Claire Vaye Watkins

Desert sands have laid waste to the south-west of America. Las Vegas is buried. California - and anyone still there - is stranded. Any way out is severely restricted. But Luz and Ray are not leaving. They survive on water rations, black market fruit and each other's need. Luz needs Ray, and Ray must be needed. But then they cross paths with a mysterious child, and the thirst for a better future begins. It's said there's a man on the edge of the Dune Sea. He leads a camp of believers. He can find water. Venturing into this dry heart of darkness, Luz thinks she has found their saviour. For the will to survive taps hidden powers; and the needed, and the needy, will exploit it.Like Margaret Atwood, Claire Vaye Watkins uses dystopia to traverse the scarred frontier of the heart, exploring the myths we tell about others and ourselves. In her bare and brilliant prose, nature and human nature, conspiracy and cult, motherhood and manhood are played out across the vast, implacable desert.(P)2015 Penguin Audio

Quercus

Amy Snow

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets. 'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer.Abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, Amy is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. But the masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming. Amy's only friend and ally is the sparkling young heiress Aurelia Vennaway. So when Aurelia tragically dies young, Amy is devastated. But Aurelia leaves Amy one last gift. A bundle of letters with a coded key. A treasure hunt that only Amy can follow. A life-changing discovery awaits . . . if only she can unlock the secret.Discover more from Tracy Rees with her next heartwarming historical mystery, Florence Grace.

MacLehose Press

A Dog's Life

Michael Holroyd
Authors:
Michael Holroyd

Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.

Quercus

Dog's Life

Michael Holroyd
Authors:
Michael Holroyd

Eustace is undisputed patriarch of the Farquhar family. That is, he would be if everyone stopped mumbling, let him get on with his shaving and find his way downstairs. It's not Henry's fault that he snores and that his marriage has collapsed. Or that he failed to get into the cricket team. But he has made up for it and is now a faster motorist than ever he was bowler. He is a good father too and one day, when he wakes up from day-dreaming, his son Kenneth will thank him. It is good that Anne sleeps with a whistle in her mouth - how else could she terrify the burglars? As for Mathilda she would love to like her mother, but prefers going for long walks with the dog. But what will happen to them all if the dog dies? A devastating postscript follows the story. Placing this eccentric family in isolation after two world wars and at the beginning of our aggressive financial culture, it turns comedy into tragedy. This novel brings a very personal addition to the biographer's remarkable career.(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

Emperors Once More

Duncan Jepson
Authors:
Duncan Jepson
Quercus

Hash

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson
Quercus

Stiff Upper Lips & Baggy Green Caps

Simon Briggs
Authors:
Simon Briggs

Peppered with bouncers, expletives, and even the odd diplomatic incident, this is a rip-roaring journey through over a century of Ashes history. For a list of every Ashes century and five-wicket haul, try Wisden, but if you want to know which England batsman was a martyr to syphilis and which Australian fast bowler reckoned the Queen had 'nice legs for an old Sheila', then read on... Stiff Upper Lips and Baggy Green Caps exposes the seamy side of Ashes cricket. It gives the inside story behind controversies from the Bodyline series of 1932-33 and the Lillee and Thomson blitzkrieg of 1974-75, right up to the unseemly modern spats that ensure that this biannual frenzy of backbiting, finger-pointing and dubious facial hair remains one of the great events of the sporting calendar.

MacLehose Press

Beauty and the Inferno

Roberto Saviano
Authors:
Roberto Saviano

Quercus

Making Haye

Elliot Worsell
Authors:
Elliot Worsell
MacLehose Press

The Road

Vasily Grossman
Authors:
Vasily Grossman

By the author of Life and Fate, now a major Radio 4 drama starring Kenneth Branagh. Vasily Grossman is widely recognized as one of the outstanding literary figures of the twentieth century. The short fiction collected here - satire, comedy, tragedy and pure narrative - illustrate the remarkable breadth of his work, and demonstrate all the bold intelligence, delicate irony and extraordinary vividness for which he has become known. In addition to the eleven stories, this volume includes the complete text of 'The Hell of Treblinka', one of the first descriptions of a Nazi extermination camp; a powerful and harrowing piece of journalism written only weeks after the camp was dissolved. Beautifully illuminated by Robert Chandler's introductions and endnotes, with photographs from the family archive, and an Afterword by Grossman's stepson, Fyodor Guber.

riverrun

A Last English Summer

Duncan Hamilton
Authors:
Duncan Hamilton
Quercus

The Pilo Family Circus

Will Elliott
Authors:
Will Elliott

You have two days to pass your audition. You better pass it, feller. You're joining the circus. Ain't that the best news you ever got?When a bizarre incident on the road triggers a nightmarish chain of events, Jamie finds himself plunged into the horrific alternate universe that is the centuries-old Pilo Family Circus, a borderline world between hell and earth from which humankind's greatest tragedies have been perpetrated. Yet in this place peopled by the gruesome, grotesque and monstrous, where violence and savagery are the norm, Jamie finds that his worst enemy is himself - for when he applies the white face paint, he is transformed into JJ, the most vicious clown of all. And JJ wants Jamie dead . . .

Anthony Clavane

Anthony Clavane was born in Leeds in 1960. He started life as a history teacher and is now chief sports writer for the Sunday Mirror. He has won Press Gazette Feature Writer of the Year and BT Regional Sportswriter of the Year awards. His previous book Promised Land: A Northern Love Story was named both Football Book of the Year and Sports Book of the Year by the National Sporting Club, Sports Book of the Year by The Radio 2 Book Club, and won the award for Football Book of the Year at the 2011 British Sports Book Awards.

Christian Ryan

Christian Ryan is one of the most stylish and intelligent of writers on the sport today. He was awarded UK Cricket Book of the Year in 2010 for Golden Boy, his book on Kim Hughes's tempestuous period as Captain of the Australian Cricket team.

Duncan Hamilton

Duncan Hamilton is deputy editor of the Yorkshire Post. He is the author of the 2007 William Hill Sports Book of the Year, Provided You Don't Kiss me: 20 Years with Brian Clough (Fourth Estate).

Elliot Worsell

Elliot Worsell has followed David Haye's career intensely for the past decade.He lived with the champion, spent many hours in his company, and is allowed closer to Haye than anybody else in the precious final hours before battle. Worsell has worked as a boxing and mixed martial arts writer since the age of sixteen. He has been published in Boxing News, Boxing Monthly and The Ring magazine, and has freelanced for numerous national British newspapers. He is also the main contributor and Features Editor for David Haye's official bookazine, Hayemaker.