Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Exile's Return

Exile's Return

The first in a glorious epic of political intrigue, sorcery and romance: magic can no longer lie hidden when an ancient evil threatens the country, perfect for fans of Robert Jordan and Robin Hobb.

Robert Douglas, Earl of Dunlorn, has returned to Lusara after three years of self-imposed exile to find that the Guild has spread its Halls throughout the land, bringing fear and tyranny to the people. The usurper King Selar is too busy planning to overthrow his brother, king of neighbouring Mayeene, to notice – or perhaps to care – what is going on in his country.

Robert has sworn a vow never to oppose the king, but his brother Finnlay won’t let him return quietly to his lands, for Robert, like his younger brother, is a sorcerer. Magic is outlawed in Lusara, and most believe it to have vanished from the land; but there are a few who still wield the power in secret for the good of the common folk.

And when Robert and Finnlay rescue Jenn, running in fear of her life from Guildsmen, they discover a new kind of sorcerer: one whose powers, though different, may be as great as Robert’s. And with Jenn come new possibilities . . .

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 22nd August 2013

Price: £1.99

ISBN-13: 9781782068808

Reviews

'The Elita sequence is one to watch' LineOne.
LineOne
Romping high fantasy of sword fights and sorceries, evil tyrants and reluctant heroes . . . it's all there, but with more style than most
British Fantasy Society
Plenty of adventure, magic and hints of romance keep things lively
Locus
Jacoby gets readers hooked
SFX
Jacoby's Book of Elita has an attractive sense of the difficulties of reclaiming lost knowledge and of the sheer fag of getting around a mediaeval landscape on horseback and on foot. She neatly balances her hero's sense of honour and his sense of duty. [She] has a good eye for her set pieces - sieges, escapes, sorcerous duels - but is also sensitive to emotions
Roz Kaveney
The Elita series is one to watch
Line One
Kate Jacoby looks set to make a mark for herself in the field
British Fantasy Society
One of the better epics . . . Jacoby has proven herself adept at infusing her high fantasy with a memorable cast of characters displaying some depth and a well-delineated world enriched by a system of magic and mythos characterised by enough originality to set her work apart from more standard fare. Add to this storytelling skills that evince a maturity uncommon for a relatively new author and one is faced with a damned good read as well. One of the best epics of the year
SF Site
A good story and a fun read . . . two compelling characters with human responses to their dilemmas . . . the magic in this book is both well thought-out and believably told. I want to know what happens to Robert and Jenn
Infinity Plus
Inventive stuff . . . a true fantasy epic
Line One