Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Voice of the Demon

Voice of the Demon

The second in a glorious epic of political intrigue, sorcery and romance: an ancient prophecy and a new evil threaten the country: perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Elizabeth Moon.

The Prophecy of the Key is coming to pass, promising chaos and destruction for Lusara and its people.

Robert Douglas, the new Duke of Haddon, has been banished from the sorcerers’ hidden colony, for he will neither bow to the will of the ruling council, nor will he use his banned magical powers to overthrow the usurper King Selar.

But he cannot hide out at his estate, for his reckless brother Finnlay, believed dead by most of Lusara, has left the Enclave and is headed straight for trouble.

And Jenn needs his help again too. She’s been learning to live the life of a noblewoman whilst secretly using her own powers to help those fighting the Guide’s punitive new laws – but Lusara’s queen has asked for her help, leaving her no choice but to call on Robert and the Bond they share . . .

And all the while the Angel of Darkness, a sorcerer of immense power, has been using his position as an Alderman close to the usurper king to foment his own dastardly plans for Lusara.

Once again, Lusara sits on the brink of cataclysm . . .

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 19th September 2013

Price: £3.99

ISBN-13: 9781782068815

Reviews

Romping high fantasy of sword fights and sorceries, evil tyrants and reluctant heroes . . . it's all there, but with more style than most
British Fantasy Society
Plenty of adventure, magic and hints of romance keep things lively
Locus
Jacoby gets readers hooked
SFX
Jacoby's Book of Elita has an attractive sense of the difficulties of reclaiming lost knowledge and of the sheer fag of getting around a mediaeval landscape on horseback and on foot. She neatly balances her hero's sense of honour and his sense of duty. [She] has a good eye for her set pieces - sieges, escapes, sorcerous duels - but is also sensitive to emotions
Roz Kaveney
The Elita series is one to watch
Line One
Kate Jacoby looks set to make a mark for herself in the field
British Fantasy Society
One of the better epics . . . Jacoby has proven herself adept at infusing her high fantasy with a memorable cast of characters displaying some depth and a well-delineated world enriched by a system of magic and mythos characterised by enough originality to set her work apart from more standard fare. Add to this storytelling skills that evince a maturity uncommon for a relatively new author and one is faced with a damned good read as well. One of the best epics of the year
SF Site
A good story and a fun read . . . two compelling characters with human responses to their dilemmas . . . the magic in this book is both well thought-out and believably told. I want to know what happens to Robert and Jenn
Infinity Plus
Inventive stuff . . . a true fantasy epic
Line One