Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Darling Blue

Darling Blue

A heartwarming tale of love, family and acceptance, Darling Blue is a simply gorgeous read…

In their townhouse in Richmond, Blue and her family are as happy and as close as can be – well, on the surface at least.

But with the arrival of a young, destitute woman hoping to escape her abusive husband, they must finally confront the rifts that keep them apart. When they welcome Delphine into their home – and their hearts – they think it’s for her benefit only. But what they don’t realise is that she will bring them together in ways they never thought possible.


SEE WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT DARLING BLUE!

‘There were so many things that captivated me – her always wonderful writing, the gorgeous 1920s world of Richmond she evoked so beautifully and the characters who jumped right off the page and were such a complete pleasure to spend time with’
Jenny Ashcroft

‘I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20s, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons’
Lucinda Riley

‘Tracy’s meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy’s depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel
Kathryn Hughes

‘I’ve so loved Darling Blue by Tracy Rees. Her writing is so fresh and exuberant and the characters so warm and lovely. It’s a book full of sunshine, a real treat’
Rachel Hore

‘I love Tracy’s writing; it’s full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages’
Gill Paul, author of Another Woman’s Husband

Darling Blue is a clever book that’s a joy to read … the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time’
Claire Dyer

Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime. Tracy writes with a warmth and authenticity that draws her readers into the delicious world she has created’
Rosanna Ley

‘I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into the delicious effervescent world of Richmond in the 1920s. Tracy has such a lovely turn of phrase. Full of vitality and warmth, Darling Blue is delightful’
Tor Udall

‘It’s a simply glorious read, one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time. Tracy’s writing is so deep and wise and true. It captured me from the first word … a truly stunning novel
Nicola Cornick

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 25th July 2018

Price: £3.99

ISBN-13: 9781786486677

Reviews

There were so many things that captivated me - her always wonderful writing, the gorgeous 1920s world of Richmond she evoked so beautifully and the characters who jumped right off the page and were such a complete pleasure to spend time with
Jenny Ashcroft
Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life
Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen
Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction
Lucinda Riley, bestselling author
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place
Leah Fleming
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told
Nicola Cornick
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page
Richard and Judy on Amy Snow
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic
Rosanna Ley
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished!
Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
An enjoyable and intriguing read
Trisha Ashley
The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed
Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark
Lucinda Riley
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake!
Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down
Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings
Psychologies
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role
Woman
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s
One More Page
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic
My Weekly
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word
Linda's Book Bag
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes
Historical Novel Reviews
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place
Chorley Guardian
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale
Candis
A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby.
Rachel Hore
I love Tracy's writing; it's full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages
Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband
I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20's, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons
Lucinda Riley, bestselling author of The Pearl Sister
Darling Blue is a clever book that's a joy to read ... the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time
Claire Dyer, author of The Last Day
Tracy's meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy's depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel
Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime. Tracy writes with a warmth and authenticity that draws her readers into the delicious world she has created.
Rosanna Ley, author of Her Mother's Secret
It's a simply glorious read, one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Tracy's writing is so deep and wise and true. It captured me from the first word ... a truly stunning novel
Nicola Cornick, author of House of Shadows
I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into the delicious effervescent world of Richmond in the 1920s. Tracy has such a lovely turn of phrase. Full of vitality and warmth, Darling Blue is delightful
Tor Udall
I've so loved Darling Blue by Tracy Rees. Her writing is so fresh and exuberant and the characters so warm and lovely. It's a book full of sunshine, a real treat.
Rachel Hore