Hervé Le Corre - After the War - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057082
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857053824
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
Books in this series

After the War

By Hervé Le Corre

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

As soldiers set sail for the fighting in Algeria, the legacy of the Second World War persists in this gripping tale of retribution and betrayal from one of Europe's leading crime writers.

1950's Bordeaux. Even now, the Second World War is never far from people's memories, particularly in a city where the scars of collaboration and resistance are more keenly felt than ever. But another war has already begun. A war without a name, far away across the sea, in Algeria, where young men are sent to fight in a brutal conflict.

Daniel knows what awaits him. He's heard stories. Patrols, ambushes, reprisals, massacres, mutilations, all beneath a burning north African sun. He has just a month left before he leaves but, haunted by the loss of his parents and sister in the atrocities of the last war, Daniel questions why he is even going to fight in the first place.

Meanwhile, past crimes are returning to haunt Albert Darlac, the godfather of Bordeaux: corrupt police chief, fascist sympathiser and one-time collaborator. Before long, a series of explosive events will set off a spiral of violence that will bring the horrific legacy of wars past and present to the streets of Bordeaux.

Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Biographical Notes

Hervé Le Corre was born in Paris and currently teaches in the suburbs of Bordeaux, France. He is the author of several crime fiction novels, including Talking to Ghosts (2014). He also writes for the literary magazine Le Passant Ordinaire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857053893
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
The writing of Hervé Le Corre has a musicality that verges on the poetic. He is the perfect portraitist — Macha Séry, Le Monde
Composed with all the skill of a virtuoso, mingling the colourful slang of bistros and bad guys with sensitive, sharp, crystalline prose that pierces you to the core. Superb — Michel Abescat, Télérama
A full-blooded, uncompromising crime novel ... Extraordinary — Eric Libiot, Express
A novel of relentless darkness, stirred up by flamboyant villains, with shootings, ambushes and verbal sparing flowing from a masterly pen — Julie Malaure, Le Point
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
MacLehose Press

The Zen Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

Louise Boni, chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. Her investigations uncover a hideous ring of child traffickers, and the repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

The Irish Bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Beneath the SurfaceThe inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowersIn five placesFive gravesA young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late.

MacLehose Press

Millennium 5: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The second part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer The year is 1563, and by any account Balthasar Russow can be said to have risen in the world. Fresh from his studies in the German town of Stetten, he has assumed the role as pastor of Tallinn's Holy Ghost Church. Moreover, he is betrothed to a maiden of the town - much to the chagrin of her father, who has no wish to welcome peasant stock to the family when there is no shortage of upstanding young German men - and is poised to begin the chronicle that will ensure his everlasting fame.But tribulations still await the now not-quite-young Pastor - Livonia is still plagued by foreign powers, with Tallinn braced to withstand a prolonged Muscovite siege. And he will discover that marriage is a often a battlefield in itself.Translated from the Estonian by Merike Beecher

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Antoine is twelve years old. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mother in Beauval, a small, backwater town surrounded by forests, where everyone knows everyone's business, and nothing much ever happens. But in the last days of 1999, a series of events unfolds, culminating in the shocking vanishing without trace of a young child. The adults of the town are at a loss to explain the disappearance, but for Antoine, it all begins with the violent death of his neighbour's dog. From that one brutal act, his fate and the fate of his neighbour's six year old son are bound forever.In the years following Rémi's disappearance, Antoine wrestles with the role his actions played. As a seemingly inescapable net begins to tighten, breaking free from the suffocating environs of Beauval becomes a gnawing obsession. But how far does he have to run, and how long will it take before his past catches up with him again?Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
Quercus

The Chalk Pit

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Death Trap

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
riverrun

Blackwater

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

January 1983, Colchester CID A new year brings new resolutions for Detective Inspector Nicholas Lowry. With one eye on his approaching fortieth birthday, he has given up his two greatest vices: smoking, and the police boxing team. As a result, the largest remaining threat to his health is now his junior colleague's reckless driving.If Detective Constable Daniel Kenton's orange sports convertible is symbolic of his fast track through the ranks, then his accompanying swagger, foppish hairstyle and university education only augment his uniqueness in the department. Yet regardless of this, it is not DC Kenton who is turning station heads.WPC Jane Gabriel is the newest police recruit in Britain's oldest recorded town. Despite a familial tie to top brass, Gabriel's striking beauty and profound youth have landed her with two obstacles: a young male colleague who gives her too much attention, and an older one who acts like she's not there.January 1983, Blackwater EstuaryA new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester - 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace.Lowry, Kenton and Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain's oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget.One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . .For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Quercus

The Other Side of Silence

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

The French Riviera, 1956. A world-weary Bernie Gunther is working under a false name as a hotel concierge. His attempts to keep his nose clean go horribly awry when a wartime acquaintance sucks him into a blackmail plot involving one of the most famous British writers of the 20th century and the Cambridge Spies.Bernie is missing his old detective life when his past walks through the door in the shape of Harold Hennig, a former captain in the Nazi security service - the man who, in 1945, was responsible for the deaths of thousands, among them a woman Bernie loved. Hennig now enjoys a lucrative career as a blackmailer. Hennig's target on the Cote d'Azur is a famous resident with a dark past and plenty to hide - the writer, Somerset Maugham. A shared love of bridge draws Bernie to Maugham's magnificent villa, where Maugham tells him of the existence of a very compromising photograph. Taken in 1937, it shows Maugham among a group of naked men beside a swimming pool - one of whom is the infamous spy and homosexual, Guy Burgess, who, with Donald Maclean, has recently defected to Moscow. Hennig has the photograph and is demanding $50,000 for its release. Bernie is reluctant to become Maugham's agent but his former life has made him as vulnerable to blackmail as Maugham himself. Not only that - he has a massive score to settle with Hennig.