Dominique Sylvain - Shadows and Sun - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780876085
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780876078
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2016
Books in this series

Shadows and Sun

A Lola and Ingrid Investigation

By Dominique Sylvain

  • Paperback
  • £16.99

Lola and Ingrid set out on a quest on the trail of a killer to clear an old friend's name

Lola Jost is busy fending off boredom with a jigsaw puzzle when she hears the news. Arnaud Mars - a disgraced police divisionnaire on the run after a seismic defence contracts scandal - has been found dead in Abidjan in the Ivory Coast. The gun that killed him belongs to Commandant Sacha Duguin, a former colleague of Lola's.

Convinced of Duguin's innocence, Lola throws off her torpor. Together with her occasional partner in crime fighting Ingrid Diesel, she embarks on a quest to clear her old friend's name.

Faced by a shadowy adversary determined to keep its past crimes under wraps, Lola and Ingrid must travel as far as Abidjan and Hong Kong to uncover the truth behind their most dangerous case to date.

Translated from the French by Nick Caistor

Biographical Notes

Dominique Sylvain worked as a journalist in Paris before relocating to Asia where she lived for spells in Japan and Singapore. She is the author of thirteen crime novels and now lives once more in Tokyo where she writes full-time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857052186
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
There is an echo of Chandler's gallant, world-weary Philip Marlowe in grumpy former police commissioner Lola Jost . . . There is also a strong flavour of Simenon in the way she evokes Paris through the inviting fug of its glowing cafés, after-hours clubs and shady denizens with guilty secrets they are reluctant to share. — Glasgow Herald
Dominique Sylvain is not just a careful writer, she also knows exactly how to construct a complex, intricately plotted story — Christine Ferniot, Télérma
Dominique Sylvain regularly updates us on her unlikely duo through crime novels full of sound and fury . . . Once again, Sylvain explores murky foreign affairs that breed corruption closer to home — M le Magazine du Monde
There is an echo of Chandler's gallant, world-weary Philip Marlowe in grumpy former police commissioner Lola Jost . . . There is also a strong flavour of Simenon in the way she evokes Paris through the inviting fug of its glowing cafés, after-hours clubs and shady denizens with guilty secrets they are reluctant to share.
Dominique Sylvain is not just a careful writer, she also knows exactly how to construct a complex, intricately plotted story
Dominique Sylvain regularly updates us on her unlikely duo through crime novels full of sound and fury . . . Once again, Sylvain explores murky foreign affairs that breed corruption closer to home
Quercus

Now You See Her

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

The fifth gripping Stephens & Mephisto mystery from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie and Robert Galbraith.DCI Edgar Stephens, Detective Sergeants Emma Holmes and Bob Willis, and of course magician Max Mephisto, are facing a brave new world: the 1960s. Max is a huge TV star in the USA, and life in Brighton has settled down for the three police officers. The funeral of Diablo, actor and wartime comrade to Edgar and Max, throws the gang back together. A more surprising face to see is Ruby, Edgar ex-fiance, now the star of her own TV show. At the funeral Ruby asks Emma's advice about someone who is stalking her. Emma is flattered and promises to investigate. Then Ruby goes missing and the race to find her involves not only the old comrades but sundry new characters from the often bewildering world of the sixties music scene...

riverrun

Virtually Dead

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

Daughter of the Tigris

Muhsin Al-Ramli
Authors:
Muhsin Al-Ramli
MacLehose Press

The Chef

Marie NDiaye
Authors:
Marie NDiaye
MacLehose Press

The Colours of the Inferno

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

The Man on the Street

Trevor Wood
Authors:
Trevor Wood

A killer is on the streets of Newcastle. So is the man who will catch them.As Newcastle cleans up its streets for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee, homeless veteran Jimmy Mullen witnesses a crime committed in the dead of night. Years of living on the streets and a long stretch in prison have taught him to keep his head down, to stay out of other peoples' fights. But when he sees an appeal made by the victim's daughter, the memories of his own shattered home life flood back.When he comes forward as a witness, the police aren't interested. As he seeks to find out the truth of that night and with his own past catching up with him, Jimmy is forced to play a deadly game of hide and seek in the city's darkest corners.

riverrun

The Silent War

Andreas Norman
Authors:
Andreas Norman
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Lived Twice

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
riverrun

Three Hours

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
MacLehose Press

The Dance of Death

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
riverrun

Fake Like Me

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

CAREY LOGANShe was the genius wild child of the New York art scene, and my idol.FAKEI was a no-name painter from the Florida backwater, clawing my way into their world.LIKEWhen she died, she left a space that couldn't be filled. Except, maybe, byMEEverything that gets created destroys something else.When a fire rips through her studio and burns the seven enormous paintings for her next exhibition, a young, no-name painter is left with an impossible task: recreate her art in just three months - or ruin her fledgling career. Thirty-four, single and homeless, she desperately secures a place at an exclusive upstate retreat. Brimming with creative history and set on a sparkling black lake, Pine City and its founders - a notorious collective of successful artists - is what she's idolized all her life. She's dreamt of the parties, the celebrities, the privilege. What she finds is a ghost of its former self.The recent suicide of founding member Carey Logan haunts everyone, lurking beneath the surface like a shipwreck. And one thought begins to shadow her every move - what really happened to her hero?With a flair for sensational detail and acidic wit, Barbara Bourland delivers a darkly satirical thriller about art, money and identity with a twist so sharp it cuts.

MacLehose Press

Sanctuary

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea

THE NEW AWARD-WINNING INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER BY THE AUTHOR OF THE MOUNTAIN"Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbø" - Massimo Vincenz, La Repubblica."D'Andrea piles on the action and the atmosphere with the panache of a seasoned writer" Marcel Berlins, The Times.Marlene Wegener is on the run. She has stolen something from her husband, something priceless, irreplaceable.But she doesn't get very far. When her car veers off a bleak midwinter road she takes refuge in the remote home of Simon Keller, a tough mountain man who lives alone with his demons. Here in her high mountain sanctuary, she begins to rekindle a sense of herself: tough, capable, no longer the trophy on a gangster's arm.But Herr Wegener does not know how to forgive, and in his rage he makes a pact with the devil. The Fixer. He cannot be called off, he cannot be reasoned with and one way or another he will get the job done.Unless, of course, he's beaten to it . . .Translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis and Katherine Gregor

Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Body in the Castle Well

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
riverrun

Deadland

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw

***The bestselling William Shaw returns with a thrilling investigation in the unmissable new series***'One of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction' PETER JAMES'If you're not a fan yet, why not?' VAL MCDERMID'A superb storyteller' PETER MAYYOU CAN RUNThe two boys never fitted in. Seventeen, the worst age, nothing to do but smoke weed; at least they have each other. The day they speed off on a moped with a stolen mobile, they're ready to celebrate their luck at last. Until their victim comes looking for what's his - and ready to kill for it. YOU CAN HIDEOn the other side of Kent's wealth divide, DS Alexandra Cupidi faces the strangest murder investigation of her career. A severed limb, hidden inside a modern sculpture in Margate's Turner Contemporary. No one takes it seriously - not even the artwork's owners, celebrity dealers who act like they're above the law.YOU CAN DIEBut as Cupidi's case becomes ever more sinister, as she wrangles with police politics and personal dilemmas, she can't help worrying about those runaway boys. Seventeen, the same age as her own headstrong daughter. Alone, on the marshes, they're pawns in someone else's game. Two worlds are about to collide. Kent and its social divisions are brilliantly captured in Deadland, a crime thriller that's as ingeniously unguessable as it is moving and powerful.

Quercus

In High Places

J J Holland
Authors:
J J Holland

Ever since the death of his wife, Lina, in a Kabul bombing, Aubrey Savage has been determined to fulfil his promise to her: to find out what happened to her brother, Jarrah, a disavowed MI5 agent who has been missing for two years.An ex-SAS officer, Savage is used to noticing the small things. So when he offers a lift to a terrified runaway bride on the moors, he knows there's more to her story than meets the eye.But when she is snatched away immediately, leaving behind a holdall and a Glock that he recognises to only be that of an MI5 agent, he is thrust into a terrifying world of corruption, and a threat that's all too close to home...

Quercus

Deliver Me

Karen Cole
Authors:
Karen Cole
riverrun

The Killer in Me

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry