Sara Stridsberg - The Gravity of Love - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857054777
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057099
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016

The Gravity of Love

By Sara Stridsberg

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden's most exciting literary talents

"I'll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck.

Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic.

Will he, really?

This question plagues Jim's daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home.

A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters.

Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner

Biographical Notes

Sara Stridsberg, born in 1972, is a writer and playwright. Her first novel Happy Sally was published in 2004, and her break-through came two years later with the publication of The Faculty of Dreams, her second novel. Her latest novel, Darling River, was published in 2010. In addition to several, important prizes (see below) she has been shortlisted to the prestigious August Prize three times, most recently. in 2012 for her collection of plays, Medealand and other plays. Sara Stridsberg lives in Stockholm.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857054760
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
As a critic, it is hard for me to find the words to describe Stridsberg's prose . . . it is pure bliss — Politiken
Immersing herself in the story of psychology, Stridsberg revisits six decades of taboos, suffering and change. Her language never once succumbs to the macabre — Livres Hebdo
A beautiful novel. Beautiful because its metallic colours gleam like tinsel in the language, like silver foil wrapped around a piece of hashish — Dagens Nyheter
Brave and original, her steeliness a refreshing, if tough, alternative to sentimentality . . . A book which is courageous, intelligent and ultimately about making the best of life — Alastair Mabbott, Herald (Glasgow)
MacLehose Press

The Faculty of Dreams

Sara Stridsberg
Authors:
Sara Stridsberg
Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

MacLehose Press

A Life Apart

Mariapia Veladiano
Authors:
Mariapia Veladiano

Rebecca's parents were born to very different families. One wealthy, one all but destitute, they were united only by their striking mutual beauty. But the sole child to bless their great romantic fairy tale is a daughter of startling ugliness. The shock of having given birth to such a monster leads the mother to withdraw both herself and her daughter from the world. Only by keeping her child indoors, away from strangers' eyes, can she protect her from their disgust. But against all odds, with a little help from some remarkable friends, Rebecca discovers a talent for music that proves that inner beauty can outshine any other. A Life Apart is an irresistible modern fable that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt that they don't belong.

Quercus

The Sweetness of Forgetting

Kristin Harmel
Authors:
Kristin Harmel

MacLehose Press

White Masks

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury

Why was the corpse of Khalil Ahmad Jaber found in a mound of rubbish? Why did he disappear weeks before his horrific death? And who was he? A journalist begins to piece the truth together by speaking with his widow, a local engineer, a nightwatchman, the garbage man who discovered him, the doctor who performed the autopsy, and a young militiaman. Their stories underline the horrors of Lebanon's bloody civil war and its ravaging effects on the psyches of the survivors. With empathy and candour, Elias Khoury reveals the havoc the war wreaked on Beirut and its inhabitants, as well as their dogged resilience.

MacLehose Press

The Voyage

Murray Bail
Authors:
Murray Bail

MacLehose Press

A Splendid Little War

Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson

MacLehose Press

Winters in the South

Norbert Gstrein
Authors:
Norbert Gstrein
MacLehose Press

The Black Path

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson

The novels that inspired Rebecka Martinsson: Arctic Murders - the major TV series "Rebecka Martinsson: the new Scandi-noir heroine to rival Saga Noren and Sarah Lund" iNews "In a television world now awash in female coppers, there aren't many as interesting and human as Rebecka" Wall Street JournalThe frozen body of a woman is found in a fishing ark on the ice near Torneträsk in northern Sweden. She has been brutally tortured, but the killing blow was clumsy, almost amateur. The body is quickly identified, raising hopes of an open-and-shut solution. But when a six-month-old suicide is disinterred, Rebecka Martinsson and Anna-Maria Mella find themselves investigating shocking corruption at the heart of one of Sweden's most successful mining companies. One that has powerful enemies of its own.

MacLehose Press

A Good Clean Fight

Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson

riverrun

The Dinosaur Feather

Sissel-Jo Gazan
Authors:
Sissel-Jo Gazan

MacLehose Press

Trieste

Daša Drndic
Authors:
Daša Drndic

MacLehose Press

Exile

Jakob Ejersbo
Authors:
Jakob Ejersbo

MacLehose Press

Accabadora

Michela Murgia
Authors:
Michela Murgia
MacLehose Press

River of Shadows

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi

riverrun

Measuring the World

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann

Measuring the World recreates the parallel but contrasting lives of two geniuses of the German Enlightenment - the naturalist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and the mathematician and physicist Carl Friedrich Gauss. Towards the end of the 18th century, these two brilliant young Germans set out to measure the world. Humboldt, a Prussian aristocrat schooled for greatness, negotiates savannah and jungle, climbs the highest mountain then known to man, counts head lice on the heads of the natives, and explores every hole in the ground. Gauss, a man born in poverty who will be recognised as the greatest mathematician since Newton, does not even need to leave his home in Göttingen to know that space is curved. He can run prime numbers in his head, cannot imagine a life without women and yet jumps out of bed on his wedding night to jot down a mathematical formula. Measuring the World is a novel of rare charm and readability, distinguished by its sly humour and unforgettable characterization. It brings the two eccentric geniuses to life, their longings and their weaknesses, their balancing act between loneliness and love, absurdity and greatness, failure and success.

Anders Roslund

Award-winning journalist Anders Roslund and ex-criminal Börge Hellström are Sweden's most acclaimed fiction duo. Their unique ability to combine inside knowledge of the brutal reality of criminal life with searing social criticism in complex, intelligent plots has put them at the forefront of modern Scandinavian crime writing.

Anna Bell

Anna Bell currently writes the weekly column 'The Secret Dreamworld of An Aspiring Author' on the website Novelicious. She is a full-time writer and loves nothing more than going for walks with her husband and Labrador.

Elizabeth Hay

Elizabeth Hay is the bestselling, award-winning author of Late Nights on Air, which won the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her other works include A Student of Weather (finalist for the Giller Prize and the Ottawa Book Award), Garbo Laughs (winner of the Ottawa Book Award and a finalist for the Governor General's Award), and Small Change (stories). In 2002, she received the prestigious Marian Engel Award. Elizabeth Hay lives and writes in Ottawa.

Kate McQuaile

Kate McQuaile is a graduate of the Faber novel-writing course. She lives in London and works as a journalist, but is originally from Drogheda in Ireland.