Muhsin Al-Ramli - The President's Gardens - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057266
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857056795
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

The President's Gardens

By Muhsin Al-Ramli

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

One Hundred Years of Solitude meets The Kite-Runner in Saddam Hussein's Iraq

One Hundred Years of Solitude meets The Kite-Runner in Saddam Hussein's Iraq

"A contemporary tragedy of epic proportions. No author is better placed than Muhsin Al-Ramli, already a star in the Arabic literary scene, to tell this story. I read it in one sitting"
Hassan Blasim, winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize for The Iraqi Christ

On the third day of Ramadan, the village wakes to find the severed heads of nine of its sons stacked in banana crates by the bus stop.

One of them belonged to one of the most wanted men in Iraq, known to his friends as Ibrahim the Fated.

How did this good and humble man earn the enmity of so many? What did he do to deserve such a death?

The answer lies in his lifelong friendship with Abdullah Kafka and Tariq the Befuddled, who each have their own remarkable stories to tell.

It lies on the scarred, irradiated battlefields of the Gulf War and in the ashes of a revolution strangled in its cradle.

It lies in the steadfast love of his wife and the festering scorn of his daughter.

And, above all, it lies behind the locked gates of The President's Gardens, buried alongside the countless victims of a pitiless reign of terror.

Translated from the Arabic by Luke Leafgren

Biographical Notes

Muhsin Al-Ramli is an Iraqi writer, poet, academic and translator, born in the village of Sudara in northern Iraq in 1967. He has lived in Madrid since 1995. The President's Gardens was longlisted for the IPAF, known as the "Arabic Booker", in 2013.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857056788
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Deeply painful and satirical, The President's Gardens is a contemporary tragedy of epic proportions. No author is better placed than Muhsin Al-Ramli, already a star in the Arabic literary scene, to tell this story. I read it in one sitting. — Hassan Blasim, winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize
One of the most important contemporary Iraqi novelists and writers. — El Mundo.
A novel filled with details . . . with passion, homeland, revolution, and grief. It represents a landmark in the progression of Iraqi literature. — Miral Al-Tahawi.
How do you preserve dignity amidst the relentless carnage and mutilation of modern Iraq? Told with a fresh transparency and tender insight, The President's Gardens draws on the unfathomable resilience of the Iraqi people, leaving me speechless and humbled. — Paul McAlindin, author of Upbeat: The Story of the National Youth Orchestra of Iraq.
Masterful. — Malu Halasa, co-author and editor of Syria Speaks.
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson

MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
MacLehose Press

The Zen Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini
MacLehose Press

Millennium 5: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Antoine is twelve years old. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mother in Beauval, a small, backwater town surrounded by forests, where everyone knows everyone's business, and nothing much ever happens. But in the last days of 1999, a series of events unfolds, culminating in the shocking vanishing without trace of a young child. The adults of the town are at a loss to explain the disappearance, but for Antoine, it all begins with the violent death of his neighbour's dog. From that one brutal act, his fate and the fate of his neighbour's six year old son are bound forever.In the years following Rémi's disappearance, Antoine wrestles with the role his actions played. As a seemingly inescapable net begins to tighten, breaking free from the suffocating environs of Beauval becomes a gnawing obsession. But how far does he have to run, and how long will it take before his past catches up with him again?Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Quercus

The Early Birds

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Quercus

The Killing School

Brandon Webb, John David Mann
Authors:
Brandon Webb, John David Mann
Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

Adventures in Modern Marriage

William Nicholson
Authors:
William Nicholson
MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
riverrun

The Easy Way Out

Steven Amsterdam, Steven Amsterdam
Authors:
Steven Amsterdam, Steven Amsterdam

Evan's job is to help people die. Evan is a nurse - a suicide assistant. His job is legal - just. He's the one at the hospital who hands out the last drink to those who ask for it. Evan's friends don't know what he does during the day. His mother, Viv, doesn't know what he's up to at night. And his supervisor suspects there may be trouble ahead. As he helps one patient after another die, Evan pushes against the limits of the law - and his own morality. And with Viv increasingly unwell, his love life complicated, to say the least, Evan begins to wonder who might be there for him, when the time comes.From an award-winning author, The Easy Way Out is a brilliantly funny and exquisitely sad novel that gets to the heart of one of the most difficult questions each of us may face: would you help someone die?

Quercus

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'My FAVOURITE book of 2016" Amazon Reviewer. A hilarious and heartwarming comedy from the bestselling author of The List. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Kat French and Lindsey Kelk.Thirty-eight year old Emily has a satisfying job, fab friends, an amazing car and, most importantly, a wonderful flat, exactly 411 miles away from the judgemental, batshit crazy, interfering family she reluctantly sees twice a year. In fact, the only minor stress in her life is her twenty-something neighbour Evan and his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex . . . but he's nothing she can't handle. Emily also has a boyfriend called Robert and it's going really well. So well, in fact, that Emily is hoping to take him home to meet her family. Finally she won't be subject to five days of nosy questions from her parents and pity from her younger married siblings.But when Robert breaks up with her a week before the trip, Emily is gutted. How on earth is she going to face her family now? Enlisting the help of party boy Evan, Emily is determined for Robert to meet the parents come hell or high water, even if it isn't the real Robert . . .

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget.One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . .For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

riverrun

All Their Minds In Tandem

David Sanger
Authors:
David Sanger

The setting is October 1879. The stage is New Georgetown, West Virginia.A mysterious figure by the name of 'The Maker' has entered this small community and, almost immediately upon doing so, started entering the minds of the townsfolk.Townsfolk who are as curious as The Maker himself. Like Dr Umbründ, the pint-sized physician with a prodigious capacity for sin; like the three sisters in the house on the hill - one stern, one wild, one mysterious; like the tavern's semi-mythical siren, 'The Bird', who plays spellbinding music from behind a black velvet curtain, and whom no patron has ever laid eyes on; like Odell, a youth with dreams and ambitions that his craven disposition will forever prevent him from seizing; and who has spent the entirety of his erstwhile existence under the crushing heel of Clay, New Georgetown's lead cad and chief alpha male.As we enter these characters' lives, and lightly tread our way through their brains, their bedrooms, their backstories and beyond, we will see what it is they all hope for and hide - and learn just why The Maker has chosen to meet them.

Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
riverrun

Asking For It

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night . . . Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.