Oliver Bottini - A Summer of Murder - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057396
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057679
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857057402
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019
Books in this series

A Summer of Murder

A Black Forest Investigation II

By Oliver Bottini

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

It has been a long dry summer in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten. When the local fire brigade is called to a burning farm shed, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. The small community is shocked to the core. Louise Bonì, back with Freiburg Kripo after a period of withdrawal, is assigned to the task force dealing with the case.

The meagre evidence they gather points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, but the appearance of secret service agents marking out the forest suggests more is at stake. Acting as her partner in the case is Thomas Ilic, whose allegiances are as conflicted as Bonì's. Who is in fact working for whom? In the most challenging case of her career - and one that puts her in mortal danger - Bonì must to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Praise for ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER:

"Surprising and genuinely shocking" Joan Smith, Sunday Times

"Gripping" Sebastian Shakespeare, Tatler

"An atmospheric, original story that will keep you hooked to the final heart-rending revelations" Crime Review

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Biographical Notes

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780857057389
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story — Frankfurter Rundschau
Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth — Handelsblatt
It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually — Die Zeit