Rob Lofthouse - Well Past Trouble - Quercus

Well Past Trouble

(3)

By Rob Lofthouse

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

With the Allies in the ascendency, all eyes are turned to Berlin. But for Robbie Stokes and his company, there's a whole lot of Germany to fight through first

Well Past Trouble is the last in the Zero Hour trilogy and sees Robbie and his men's endurance, spirit and bond tested to their limits.

March, 1945 - With the Germans in retreat, the Allies begin to look toward the ultimate prize: Berlin. But first they must cross the heavily-defended Rhine into Germany's industrial heartland. In the savage fighting for this crucial gateway, Robbie Stokes and his airborne division must drop into enemy territory and hold off German reinforcements.

Exhausted after fighting through France and the Netherlands it falls to Robbie to lift his company for one final operation and the push into Germany. But despite his experience, nothing he's seen yet can prepare him for what they find as the Germans retreat and their cruelty is revealed.

The end is insight, but Robbie and his men will have to fight every inch of the way.

Biographical Notes

Robert Lofthouse was born in Twickenham and joined his local county infantry regiment (1 PWRR) straight from school at the age of sixteen. After serving 20 years, having served in Poland, Germany, Kenya, Canada, Falkland Islands, Iraq, Northern Ireland, and Kosovo, he retired in the rank of Sergeant.
He now works as a defence consultant and lives in Portsmouth with his wife and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784293499
  • Publication date: 07 Jul 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Heron Books
Robert Lofthouse writes with passion and a compelling eye for detail which is informed by his family connection with the operation — Major Justin Featherstone MC
***** — Praise for A Cold Night in June, Amazon
Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The third thriller from JP Delaney, the bestselling author of The Girl Before and Believe Me, coming 2019.

MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKSTen years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Waters, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Congdon Mental Institution in Duluth, on the edge of mighty Lake Superior.There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. In many ways he is old far beyond his years; in others, still a child.But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

riverrun

Testament

Kim Sherwood
Authors:
Kim Sherwood
MacLehose Press

The Time in Between

Marcello Fois
Authors:
Marcello Fois
Quercus

The Other Woman

Laura Wilson
Authors:
Laura Wilson

'Brilliant twisty dark farce' ERIN KELLY'A nail bitingly tense and original book' SHARON BOLTON'Compulsive, horrifying and irresistibly funny' VAL MCDERMIDShortly after Christmas, a message arrives at Sophie's house, scrawled across her own round robin newsletter: HE'S GOING TO LEAVE YOU. LET'S SEE HOW SMUG YOU ARE THEN, YOU STUPID BITCH. Perhaps she should ignore it, but she ignored the last one. And the one before that. Now it's time to take action.But when a simple plan to identify and confront the other woman goes drastically and violently wrong, Sophie must go to extreme lengths to keep her life and her family together - while never letting on her devastating secret.

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
Quercus

Without a Word

Kate McQuaile
Authors:
Kate McQuaile

I was there when it happened. I watched her disappear...'POWERFUL' - Amazon Reviewer 'ABSORBING' - Karen Perry'INCREDIBLE' - Amazon Reviewer'ELEGANT' - Sunday Mirror'GRIPPING' - Amazon Reviewer'ACCOMPLISHED' - Sunday Times'TANTALIZING' - Amazon Reviewer'COMPELLING' - Candis'INTRIGUING' - Amazon Reviewer'TWISTY' - Good Housekeeping'FAST-PACED' - Prima'ADDICTIVE' - Sunday Mirror'Everything you want in a thriller' - Emma Flint, author of Little DeathsAN EMOTIONAL AND ADDICTIVE PSYCHOLOGICAL DRAMA FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED NOVEL WHAT SHE NEVER TOLD MELillian had phoned telling her to get Skype up and running. 'I have so much to tell you.' Then, the knock on the door. 'Sorry Orla, I'd better see who it is' she said. Orla waited. Seconds became minutes. She didn't know how long she waited before she realised that something terrible had happened.For more than a decade, Lillian's disappearance has remained unsolved, and Orla has found it impossible to move on. Then she receives an unexpected visit from Ned Moynihan, the detective who led the original investigation into her friend's vanishing. Moynihan has been receiving anonymous notes accusing him of having failed to investigate the case properly. He assumes the notes are coming from Orla, yet Orla knows nothing of these letters. Is somebody trying to tell them the truth about what really happened to Lillian that night?

Quercus

Trouble Ahead

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Heraklion, May 1941. On the north coast of Crete, the British forces are redeploying troops, ahead of a German invasion of the island. A brutal defeat in Greece has forced them to withdraw from the mainland, weakened and dejected. For Captain Bentley Paine, of the Yorks & Lancs Regiment, the planned assault is a chance to finally prove himself in this war, not least to his infuriating assistant, Corporal Hallmark. But when the attack begins at dawn, no one can be prepared for the death and bloody fighting that will ensue. As German paratroopers fire at will, victory is decided in a matter of days. But both sides will face devastating losses, in a game-changing campaign, that will become one of the most intense and horrific battles of the Second World War.

Quercus

The Girls from the Local

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

Gosport, Hampshre, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids. A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

SOMETIMES PEOPLE ARE NOT ALL THEY SEEM...SOMETIMES THE TRUTH HIDES A SECRET...SOMETIMES A CONFESSION IS THE BEGINNING... NOT THE ENDNOW A NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER 'Brilliant' BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown'Enthralling'JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before'Addictive'Michelle Frances, author of The Girlfriend **********Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. It looks like Harry's many sins - corruption, greed, betrayal - have finally caught up with him. An hour later the intruder, JP Carney, hands himself in, confessing to the assault. The police have a victim, a suspect in custody and an eye-witness account, but Julie remains troubled. Has Carney's surrender really been driven by a guilty conscience or is this confession the first calculated move in a deadly game? THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR AND THE GIRL BEFORE.**********'Compulsive' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle'Jaw-dropping'Chris Whitaker, author of Tall Oaks'Fabulous'Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake

Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross
Quercus

Trouble at Zero Hour

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

riverrun

Three Minutes

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Jo Fletcher Books

Rotherweird

Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Contributors:
Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn: a book with special and dangerous properties' - Hilary MantelThe town of Rotherweird stands alone - there are no guidebooks, despite the fascinating and diverse architectural styles cramming the narrow streets, the avant garde science and offbeat customs. Cast adrift from the rest of England by Elizabeth I, Rotherweird's independence is subject to one disturbing condition: nobody, but nobody, studies the town or its history.For beneath the enchanting surface lurks a secret so dark that it must never be rediscovered, still less reused.But secrets have a way of leaking out.Two inquisitive outsiders have arrived: Jonah Oblong, to teach modern history at Rotherweird School (nothing local and nothing before 1800), and the sinister billionaire Sir Veronal Slickstone, who has somehow got permission to renovate the town's long-derelict Manor House.Slickstone and Oblong, though driven by conflicting motives, both strive to connect past and present, until they and their allies are drawn into a race against time - and each other. The consequences will be lethal and apocalyptic.Welcome to Rotherweird!'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold' M.R. Carey'Compelling . . . the love child of Gormenghast and Hogwarts' Guardian

Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr