Otto de Kat - News from Berlin - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9780857052681
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848662339
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014

News from Berlin

By Otto de Kat

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

1941. A Dutch diplomat learns of Hitler's plans for Russia. His family is at risk. Should he raise the alarm or put them first?

June 1941. Dutch diplomat Oscar Verschuur has been posted to neutral Switzerland. His family is spread across Europe. His wife Kate works as a nurse in London and their daughter Emma is living in Berlin with her husband Carl, a 'good' German who works at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Briefly reunited with her father in a restaurant in Geneva, Emma drops a bombshell. A date and a codename, and the fate of nations is placed in Verschuur's hands: June 22, Barbarossa.

What should he do? Warn the world, or put his daughter's safety first? The Gestapo are watching them both. And with Stalin lulled by his alliance with Hitler, will anyone even listen?

Otto de Kat is fast gaining a reputation as one of Europe's sharpest and most lucid writers. News from Berlin, a book for all readers, a true page-turner driven by the pulse of a ticking clock, confirms him as a storyteller of subtly extravagant gifts.

Biographical Notes

Otto de Kat, born in 1946, lives and works as a publisher and novelist in Amsterdam. Man on the Move (MacLehose Press, 2009) was the winner of Holland's Halewijn Literature Prize.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848662346
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
'A compelling portrait of love, loss and regret' — Lucy Popescu, Independent on Sunday
'A masterclass in how less can be more, packed full of atmosphere, emotion and philosophical debate' — Kathy Stephenson, Daily Mail
'A sweeping epic, even though it's only 200 pages long ... Enough material for a 12-part TV miniseries ... de Kat can break your heart in 200 words, never mind 200 pages' — Roger Cox, Scotland on Sunday
Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyramid Wish

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher
riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman

'Incredibly moving' Daily Mail'To Siri with Love is a beautifully honest and illuminating love letter to Gus, your typical atypical nonneurotypical human.' Jon Stewart'A moving and witty memoir with a big heart.' Nigella Lawson'An uncommonly riotous and moving book [that] will make readers laugh - yes, out loud - before sweeping them, finally, into a soul-spilling high tide . . . Technology's great promise may in fact be to summon, capture and display our most human qualities, both the darkness and the light, to pave avenues of deepened connections with others.' New York TimesWriter Judith Newman never had any illusions that her family was 'normal'. She and her husband keep separate apartments-his filled with twin grand pianos as befits a former opera singer; hers filled with the clutter and chaos of twin adolescent boys conceived late in life. And one of those boys is Gus, her sweet, complicated, autistic 13-year-old.With refreshing honesty, To Siri With Love chronicles one year in the life of Gus and the family around him -- a family with the same crazy ups and downs as any other. And at the heart of the book lies Gus's passionate friendship with Siri, Apple's 'intelligent personal assistant'. Unlike her human counterparts, Siri always has the right answers to Gus's incessant stream of questions about the intricacies of national rail schedules, or box turtle varieties, and she never runs out of patience. She always makes sure Gus enunciates and even teaches him manners by way of her warm yet polite tone and her programmed insistence on civility.Equal parts funny and touching, this is a book that will make your heart brim, and then break it. Warm, wise and always honest, Judith Newman shows us a new world where artificial intelligence is beginning to meet emotional intelligence -- a world that will shape our children in ways both wonderful and unexpected.

riverrun

Feeling is the Thing that Happens in 1000th of a Second

Christian Ryan
Authors:
Christian Ryan

'Exquisite' Gideon Haigh'Magical, a head rush, a marvel' Rahul Bhattacharya'Startlingly original' Matthew EngelIn 1975 Patrick Eagar took some photographs which were unlike any cricket photographs anyone had seen before.It was the summer of an Ashes and a World Cup (cricket's first), a near last-gasp summer before revolution when cricket was still a sport of helmetless faces and green fields with no advertising paint on them. A clamour of rare glamour descended on England: Thommo and D.K., baby-cheeked Viv Richards, careworn David Steele, lithe supercat Clive Lloyd, the Chappell brothers, Andy Roberts, Tony Greig, Doug Walters, trails of cigarette smoke gusting in his wake. From this raw material, a thirty-one-year-old with an expired Sports Illustrated subscription and a love of long lenses found something almost magical. Eagar's pictures reveal that "feeling is the thing that happens in 1000th of a second". So this is a cricket book about photography and what it can do - tell the future and show human beings in ways not available to our eyes. It is part detective story, (and reconstruction of one of cricket's greatest summers), part biography, part wild-roaming conversation, part essay on the power of the image, myth and reality. It shows Christian Ryan as one of the most elegant and perceptive writers on sport today.With seventy photographs by Patrick Eagar and other seminal photographers, it is is essential reading (and looking) for ardent fans and will exhilarate those who know nothing about cricket.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Everness Series

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Quercus

The Invisible Cross

Andrew Davidson
Authors:
Andrew Davidson
Quercus

The Genius Test

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Wonders of the World

Hugh Thomson
Authors:
Hugh Thomson
Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

How To Understand E =mc²

Christophe Galfard
Authors:
Christophe Galfard
MacLehose Press

A People without a Past

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The second part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer The year is 1563, and by any account Balthasar Russow can be said to have risen in the world. Fresh from his studies in the German town of Stetten, he has assumed the role as pastor of Tallinn's Holy Ghost Church. Moreover, he is betrothed to a maiden of the town - much to the chagrin of her father, who has no wish to welcome peasant stock to the family when there is no shortage of upstanding young German men - and is poised to begin the chronicle that will ensure his everlasting fame.But tribulations still await the now not-quite-young Pastor - Livonia is still plagued by foreign powers, with Tallinn braced to withstand a prolonged Muscovite siege. And he will discover that marriage is often a battlefield in itself.Translated from the Estonian by Merike Beecher

Quercus

Born Liars

Ian Leslie
Authors:
Ian Leslie

We all do it - how to be a better liar, spot a charlatan and tell the difference between truth and fictionIn Born Liars, Ian Leslie takes the reader on an exhilarating tour of ideas that brings the latest news about deception back from the frontiers of psychology, neuroscience, and philosophy, and explores the role played by lies - both black and white - in our childhoods, our careers, and our health, as well as in advertising, politics, sport and war. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Charles Darwin, Sigmund Freud and Joni Mitchell, the author argues that, far from being a bug in the human software, lying is central to who we are; that we cannot understand ourselves without first understanding the dynamics of deceit. After reading Born Liars you'll never think about lies - or life - in quite the same way again.

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'I love Tracy's writing' Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late... How much can a place change your life?1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.Tracy Rees' latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!*** Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS... 'My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees' best to date' Amazon reviewer'Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters' Kathryn Hughes'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley'A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery' Rachel Hore'A story about second chances ... A triumphant third novel' Amazon reviewer'A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far' Amazon Reviewer***Also by Tracy Rees:Amy SnowFlorence GraceDarling Blue

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget.One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . .For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat

A masterpiece of literary craft and concision; sparse, beautiful and hugely affecting - Daily MailSince the liberation of the Netherlands, Emma Verweij has been living in Rotterdam, in a street which became a stronghold of friendships for its inhabitants during the Second World War. She marries Bruno, they have two sons, and she determines to block out the years she spent in Nazi Berlin during the war, with her first husband Carl. But now, ninety-six years old and on the eve of her death, long- forgotten memories crowd again into her consciousness, flashbacks of happier years, and the tragedy of the war, of Carl, of her father, and of the friends she has lost. In The Longest Night, his impressive, reflective new novel after News from Berlin, Otto de Kat deftly distils momentous events of 20th-century history into the lives of his characters. In Emma, the past and the present coincide in limpid fragments of rare, melancholy beauty.Translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson

Quercus

Animals

Dr Keith Laidler
Authors:
Dr Keith Laidler