Andrea Camilleri - Judge Surra - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Judge Surra

By Andrea Camilleri

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming short story from the author of the celebrated Inspector Montalbano series.

Sicily, 1862. In the newly united Italy, Judge Surra arrives in Montelusa to take charge of the local court, in a town where conflict has been kind to a select few.

At first, Surra is baffled by the quaint local customs: cryptic anonymous notes, mutterings in the street, tasty - if tasteless - gifts of disembodied animal heads. However, buoyed by his twin passions for justice and fine dining, Surra is determined to settle into island life, no matter who stands in his way.

Distilling his customary humour and tension into this miniature masterpiece, Andrea Camilleri casts an ironic eye on the corruption and charm of a turbulent small town, testing his naïve but noble hero against the darkest arts of the Mafia.

Biographical Notes

Andrea Camilleri is one of Italy's best-loved and most successful authors. The Potter's Field was the winner of the 2012 International Dagger.

Joseph Farrell is the distinguished translator of Leonardo Sciascia, Vincenzo Consolo the Nobel Laureate, and Dario Fo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848669055
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno has been promoted, but his new responsibilities aren't what's making him nervous. That would be the promise he made to his friend Pamela to teach some classes at her new cookery school. Cooking the delicious traditional Perigord dishes he loves is one thing, but presenting to a class of people at the same time? In English? Even brave Bruno is quaking in his boots.The disappearance of one of the cookery school clients almost comes as a welcome relief. At first Bruno is unconcerned, but the discovery of the woman's body in one half of a double homicide soon proves how wrong this feeling was. The other murder victim is more mysterious - a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal him to be an ex-soldier of fortune, with a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that he and Pamela's cookery student may not have been the only intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis history to find the killers before they strike again.

MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

When the mutilated body of Mayra Cabral de Melo is found in a dusty field, Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta has personal reasons for bringing the culprit to justice. Mayra, a well-known stripper, had no shortage of ardent, deluded and downright dangerous admirers, and Lefty himself is haunted by the night he spent in her company.As Mexico's drug war ramps up, Lefty's pursuit of a gallery of jealous and powerful suspects, all with a murderous glint in their eye, leads him to Samantha Valdés, the godfather's daughter, who is battling to retain her father's empire. And as the mystery deepens, the bodycount rises.

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Dr. Knox

Peter Spiegelman
Authors:
Peter Spiegelman

Dr Adam Knox returns from the war in Afghanistan a little rougher, a little wiser, and a lot more inclined to kick it to the ones at the top. The ones in charge.He sets up a clinic in Los Angeles's most notorious district, tending to the vagrant, the vulnerable and the victims of skid row. One night they're beseeched by a Romanian woman who comes in with her son. Her bruises give away a story she's too scared to tell; escaping from traffickers and forced prostitution to try to get her son back. He was kidnapped by his father - who happens to be heir to one of the most influential dynasties on the West Coast.That same night, Knox is called upon for his private health service - cutting out a bullet from a businessman who was cutting himself a shady deal. Impressed by his ability to keep a secret, the impatient patient offers Knox a big tip for some extra work: helping him get revenge on the gangsters who shot him. Knox - and his clinic - need the cash.Playing one team against another, Knox must keep his wits scalpel-sharp. If his diagnosis is on the money, he might be able to trick the gangsters, free the Romanian mother and put the ones at the top in their place for once.

Quercus

The Scarred Woman

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Jo Fletcher Books

The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Quercus

Get Real

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake

In Westlake's brilliantly bizarre and always amusing world, it's usually the thief who comes out on top. But times could be changing. When a TV producer convinces our roguish crook Dortmunder and his gang to star in a reality TV show that captures their next heist, being caught red-handed seems inevitable. It will take an ingenious plan to outwit viewers glued to their TV sets, but Dortmunder rises to the challenge.In this last crime novel from an undisputed master of the genre the well worn phrase 'The eyes of the nation are upon you' takes on a whole new meaning - let's hope Dortmunder doesn't get stage-fright.

MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

Suspended from her job as a promising police officer for firing "one bullet too many", Anne Capestan is expecting the worst when she is summoned to H.Q. to learn her fate. Instead, she is surprised to be told that she is to head up a new police squad, working on solving old cold cases.Though relieved to still have a job, Capestan is not overjoyed by the prospect of her new role. Even less so when she meets her new team: a crowd of misfits, troublemakers and problem cases, none of whom are fit for purpose and yet none of whom can be fired.But from this inauspicious start, investigating the cold cases throws up a number of strange mysteries for Capestan and her team: was the old lady murdered seven years ago really just the victim of a botched robbery? Who was behind the dead sailor discovered in the Seine with three gunshot wounds? And why does there seem to be a curious link with a ferry that was shipwrecked off the Florida coast many years previously?Translated from the French by Sam Gordon

riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

Shadows and Sun

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain
Quercus

The Hanging Girl

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen

A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLEROVER 16 MILLION COPIES SOLDWINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARDJussi Adler-Olsen returns with the newest book in his acclaimed Department Q series. In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious seventeen-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree. The investigation will take them from the remote island of Bornholm to a hidden cult, where Carl and his assistants must stop a string of new murders by a skilled manipulator who refuses to let anything-or anyone-get in the way.For fans of Tim Weaver and Jo Nesbo

Quercus

Sweet Wells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Pale Criminal

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDA series of horrific ritual murders leads Bernie Gunther to an occult conspiracy at the very heart of the Nazi Party - hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le CarréFive German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead. But unlike the undesirables who make up the majority of dead and missing people in Hitler's Berlin, these girls were blonde and blue-eyed - the Aryan flower of German maidenhood - and their gruesome deaths recall ritual killings.Busy with a blackmail case, Bernie is reluctant when he is asked to rejoin the Berlin police in order to track down the murderer. But when the person doing the asking is none other than head of the SD, Reinhard Heydrich, it's not exactly a request he can turn down. As Bernie gets closer to the truth, he realises that at the heart of this case is much more than one lone madman - in fact, there is a conspiracy at work more chilling than he could ever have imagined.

riverrun

Runaway

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

FIVE DREAMS OF FAMEGlasgow, 1965. Jack Mackay dares not imagine a life of predictability and routine. The headstrong seventeen-year-old has one thing on his mind - London - and successfully convinces his four friends, and fellow band mates, to join him in abandoning their homes to pursue a goal of musical stardom. FIVE DECADES OF FEARGlasgow, 2015. Jack Mackay dares not look back on a life of failure and mediocrity. The heavy-hearted sixty-seven-year old is still haunted by the cruel fate that befell him and his friends some fifty years before, and how he did and did not act when it mattered most - a memory he has run from all his adult life. London, 2015. A man lies dead in a bedsit. His killer looks on, remorseless. What started with five teenagers five decades before will now be finished.

Quercus

Are You Watching Me?

Sinéad Crowley
Authors:
Sinéad Crowley
riverrun

The Root of All Evil

Roberto Costantini
Authors:
Roberto Costantini
riverrun

The Dinosaur Feather

Sissel-Jo Gazan
Authors:
Sissel-Jo Gazan