Andrea Camilleri - Judge Surra - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Judge Surra

By Andrea Camilleri

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming short story from the author of the celebrated Inspector Montalbano series.

Sicily, 1862. In the newly united Italy, Judge Surra arrives in Montelusa to take charge of the local court, in a town where conflict has been kind to a select few.

At first, Surra is baffled by the quaint local customs: cryptic anonymous notes, mutterings in the street, tasty - if tasteless - gifts of disembodied animal heads. However, buoyed by his twin passions for justice and fine dining, Surra is determined to settle into island life, no matter who stands in his way.

Distilling his customary humour and tension into this miniature masterpiece, Andrea Camilleri casts an ironic eye on the corruption and charm of a turbulent small town, testing his naïve but noble hero against the darkest arts of the Mafia.

Biographical Notes

Andrea Camilleri is one of Italy's best-loved and most successful authors. The Potter's Field was the winner of the 2012 International Dagger.

Joseph Farrell is the distinguished translator of Leonardo Sciascia, Vincenzo Consolo the Nobel Laureate, and Dario Fo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848669055
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: MacLehose Press
riverrun

Untitled Avraham 4

D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani

MacLehose Press

Untitled Book 6 Asa Larsson

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson

MacLehose Press

After the War

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre
riverrun

Dr. Knox

Peter Spiegelman
Authors:
Peter Spiegelman

Dr Adam Knox returns from the war in Afghanistan a little rougher, a little wiser, and a lot more inclined to kick it to the ones at the top. The ones in charge.He sets up a clinic in Los Angeles's most notorious district, tending to the vagrant, the vulnerable and the victims of skid row. One night they're beseeched by a Romanian woman who comes in with her son. Her bruises give away a story she's too scared to tell; escaping from traffickers and forced prostitution to try to get her son back. He was kidnapped by his father - who happens to be heir to one of the most influential dynasties on the West Coast.That same night, Knox is called upon for his private health service - cutting out a bullet from a businessman who was cutting himself a shady deal. Impressed by his ability to keep a secret, the impatient patient offers Knox a big tip for some extra work: helping him get revenge on the gangsters who shot him. Knox - and his clinic - need the cash.Playing one team against another, Knox must keep his wits scalpel-sharp. If his diagnosis is on the money, he might be able to trick the gangsters, free the Romanian mother and put the ones at the top in their place for once.

Quercus

The Girl Before

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

'A suspenseful and heart-wrenching thriller about ambition, obsession, and what happens when the lies we tell about ourselves become indistinguishable from the truth' ROBIN WASSERMANNo one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. With an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you forever, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of THE ROANOKE GIRLSEighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . .Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
riverrun

The Man Who Wanted to Know

D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani

Soul-shattering and profound detective novel from the international award-winning sensationWHAT YOU DON'T KNOWCAN NEVER HURT YOUTHE UNKNOWNMazal Bengtson doesn't know what her husband was doing on the night of the storm. Inspector Avraham Avraham doesn't know how to begin his first murder case.THE KNOWNWhat they do both know is something of the victim's past that holds the key to understanding not just the murder, but stranger, more disturbing events.THE UNKNOWABLEFor the things that happen in a long marriage, under strain may not always be against the law. Desperate to solve a terrible death, Avraham cannot mend what he cannot know.

Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren

A fast-paced and intricate thriller from one of Sweden's most popular writers, perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Lars Kepler.Private investigator Danny Katz is trying to track down his former drug dealer. Ramón and his girlfriend Jenny have both vanished leaving behind a lot of unanswered questions. How come Ramón suddenly found himself in possession of the mother-load of drugs? And is Jenny really who she claims to be? Katz's investigation leads him to the darkest corners of Stockholm's porn industry and once again his old addiction threatens to control him. Ultimately only one thing seems certain - someone is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Katz from discovering the brutal truth.

MacLehose Press

Blood Wedding

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

Suspended from her job as a promising police officer for firing "one bullet too many", Anne Capestan is expecting the worst when she is summoned to H.Q. to learn her fate. Instead, she is surprised to be told that she is to head up a new police squad, working on solving old cold cases.Though relieved to still have a job, Capestan is not overjoyed by the prospect of her new role. Even less so when she meets her new team: a crowd of misfits, troublemakers and problem cases, none of whom are fit for purpose and yet none of whom can be fired.But from this inauspicious start, investigating the cold cases throws up a number of strange mysteries for Capestan and her team: was the old lady murdered seven years ago really just the victim of a botched robbery? Who was behind the dead sailor discovered in the Seine with three gunshot wounds? And why does there seem to be a curious link with a ferry that was shipwrecked off the Florida coast many years previously?Translated from the French by Sam Gordon

MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

When the mutilated body of Mayra Cabral de Melo is found in a dusty field, Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta has personal reasons for bringing the culprit to justice. Mayra, a well-known stripper, had no shortage of ardent, deluded and downright dangerous admirers, and Lefty himself is haunted by the night he spent in her company.As Mexico's drug war ramps up, Lefty's pursuit of a gallery of jealous and powerful suspects, all with a murderous glint in their eye, leads him to Samantha Valdés, the godfather's daughter, who is battling to retain her father's empire. And as the mystery deepens, the bodycount rises.

riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

'This novel is a real, out-of-the-blue original. I've never read anything like it' New York Times Book ReviewTHE MILLION-SELLING JAPANESE CRIME PHENOMENON, NOW A UK BESTSELLER.SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER.NAMED IN NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2017.SIX FOUR.THE NIGHTMARE NO PARENT COULD ENDURE. THE CASE NO DETECTIVE COULD SOLVE. THE TWIST NO READER COULD PREDICT. For five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter's kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again.For the fourteen years that followed, the Japanese public listened to the police's apologies. They would never forget the botched investigation that became known as 'Six Four'. They would never forgive the authorities their failure.For one week in late 2002, the press officer attached to the police department in question confronted an anomaly in the case. He could never imagine what he would uncover. He would never have looked if he'd known what he would find.Loved Six Four and want more Yokoyama? Then read Seventeen, coming February 2018 . . .

MacLehose Press

Shadows and Sun

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain
MacLehose Press

Bramard's Case

Davide Longo
Authors:
Davide Longo
Quercus

The Other Side of Silence

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
riverrun

Coffin Road

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Goodbye to the Dead

Brian Freeman
Authors:
Brian Freeman

NINE YEARSIt is almost a decade since Duluth said goodbye to its innocence. The city creeps ever closer to the tenth anniversary of the year in which it found itself both gripped by murder and united in terror; and during which the pillar of its community, DS Jonathan Stride, had his home and heart torn to ribbons by the claws of cancer.NINE LIVESCat Mateo, an orphan with a knack of landing on her feet, has bid farewell to a life on the streets. This once-stray teenager owes her rescue to Detective Stride, the father figure she holds close to her heart. But Cat holds something else to her chest - a secret: the sheer power of which she could not possibly comprehend.A secret that, once out of the bag, will not just viciously scratch at Duluth's still-healing wounds, but will make DS Jonathan Stride wave goodbye to his convictions about the events nine years before, and say hello to his darkest fears.

MacLehose Press

Camille

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Anne Forestier finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time when she blunders into a raid on a jewellers on the Champs-Élysées. Shot three times, beaten almost beyond recognition, she is lucky to survive, but her ordeal has only just begun. Lying helpless in her hospital bed, with her assailant still at large, Anne is in grave danger. Just one thing stands in her favour - a partner who will break all the rules to protect the woman he loves: Commandant Camille Verhoven. For Verhoven it's a case of history repeating. He cannot lose Anne as he lost his wife Irène. But his serious breach of protocol - leading a case in which he is intimately involved - leaves him out on a limb, unable to confide in even his most trusted lieutenants. And this time he is facing an adversary whose greatest strength appears to be Verhoven's own matchless powers of intuition.

riverrun

The Arc of the Swallow

Sissel-Jo Gazan
Authors:
Sissel-Jo Gazan