Related to: 'Lampedusa'

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

Craftfulness

Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin
Authors:
Rosemary Davidson, Arzu Tahsin
Jo Fletcher Books

Stained Light

Naomi Foyle
Authors:
Naomi Foyle
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods
riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke

Kenji Tanabe finds maps easier to read than people. At the elite Tokyo gallery where he works, he sells antique maps by selling the stories that he sees within their traces: their contribution to progress, their dramatic illustrations, their exquisite compasses. But no compass or cartography can guide him through the events that will follow the sudden and unexpected offer of a job in America.There, Theodora Appel runs a company that is more like a family. Brilliantly successful, beguilingly secretive, she gradually initiates Kenji into her rarefied world. Only someone like him - quiet, intensely committed and discreet - could be allowed to see beneath the surface to what his employer is hiding. Theodora has never recovered from the death of her lover, and her obsession to reclaim the past threatens them all.Moving across countries and cultures, The Consolation of Maps charts an attempt to understand the tide of history, the geography of people and the boundless territory of loss.

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Jo Fletcher Books

Evolution Omnibus

Stephanie Saulter
Authors:
Stephanie Saulter

They were created to save humanity. Now they must fight to save themselves. The complete Evolution series by Stephanie Saulter.For years the human race suffered from a deadly Syndrome, but when a cure was found - in the form of genetically engineered human beings, gems - the line between survival and ethics was radically altered. Now the gems are fighting for their freedom, from the oppression of the companies that created them, and against the norms who see them as slaves. And a conference at which Dr Eli Walker has been commissioned to present his findings on the gems is the key to that freedom. But with the gemtech companies fighting to keep the gems enslaved, and the horrifying godgangs determined to rid the earth of these 'unholy' creations, the gems are up against forces that may just be too powerful to oppose.'Some books are good, some books are even great. This one is important' - SF Signal on Binary

Jo Fletcher Books

The Valhalla Saga

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Jo Fletcher Books

The Three Powers

Frank P. Ryan
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan

Four teenagers are drawn from an Irish mountaintop into an enchanted land and gifted with great powers: but with power comes responsibility, and a vast evil has noticed their arrival . . . The complete Three Powers Quartet from acclaimed author Frank P. Ryan.On the summit of the fabled mountain Slievenamon in Ireland there is a doorway to an ancient land of terrible power. The gate of Feimhin has lain closed for centuries, the secret of its opening long lost - until four orphans drawn together by Fate pass through the portal and find the enchanted but war-ravaged world of Tír, a strange land peopled by beings of magic. Here death waits at every corner, and they must learn to fight if they are to survive. And they'd better learn quickly, because their enemy, the Tyrant of the Wastelands, is growing in power.'Ryan's grand epic style . . . Passionate and dedicated fantasy fans will find a rich, immersive world and carefully handled characters' Booklist

MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
Quercus

The Lost Village

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

'Neil Spring is Agatha Christie meets James Herbert' STEPHEN VOLK A haunting and spooky thriller, with an unforgettable twist! The remote village of Imber - remote, lost and abandoned. The outside world hasn't been let in since soldiers forced the inhabitants out, much to their contempt.But now, a dark secret threatens all who venture near. Everyone is in danger, and only Harry Price can help. Reluctantly reunited with his former assistant Sarah Grey, he must unlock the mystery of Imber, and unsurface the secrets someone thought were long buried. But will Sarah's involvement be the undoing of them both?

riverrun

I'll Eat When I'm Dead

Barbara Bourland
Authors:
Barbara Bourland

'Biting, funny and brilliantly subversive; like The Devil Wears Prada meets American Psycho' Louise O'Neill'Had me hooked with its biting satire of the fashion world's dark underbelly. And what a heroine!' Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett'Funny, fierce, feminist' Red RAGE Fashion Book is the world's most dynamic, ambitious magazine. Its editors ­- like Cat Ono - have the power to change minds and the market. They're savvy, sisterly and polished to perfection. Even the one found dead in her office. Everyone thinks Hillary starved to death - but Cat knows her friend's dieting wasn't a capital P problem. If beauty kills, it'd take more than that. Hot-headed and fiercely feminist, Cat's sure she can match the investigating skills of Detective Mark Hutton, solve the case, and achieve sartorial fulfillment.But going undercover, Cat's in over her head, and soon becomes snared in a very stylish web of drugs, sex, lies and moisturizer that will change her look - and outlook - forever.Cat's about to find out what it really means to be a fashion victim.

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

1820. Alice Lee, middle-aged and unmarried, takes in a young murderer, Zebediah Bailey, when he's released from Durham gaol. Their acquaintance had begun when Alice's local Methodist minister had asked his congregation if anybody would help the young man, and Alice had volunteered. Alice dutifully writes him every week, sending him sweets from her shop. And when Zeb comes out and has nowhere to go, Alice takes him back to Stanhope in Weardale with her, much to the horror of her neighbours.A tale of an unlikely friendship set in the atmospheric world of 19th century Durham, this is the first in a new series set in Weardale.

Quercus

The Girl Before

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

When Day Is Done

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the first book in the beloved Deerness series - a saga of love and loss, perfect for fans of Linda Finlay and Mary Gibson.When Dryden's wife dies he is finally free to pursue his one true love. But Vinia is tragically already married to Dryden's employer, Joe, manager of the Black Prince coal pit. Joe's jealousy over the growing connection between his wife and Dryden sends Dryden into the arms of the beautiful and fiery Roberta Grant. But can Dryden ever truly forget Vinia?

Quercus

The Watchers

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

A chilling tale based on true events from the bestselling author of The Ghost Hunters - now a major ITV drama starring Rafe SpallAt the height of the Cold War, officials at the Ministry of Defence conducted a highly secret investigation into unusual events that occurred along a strip of rugged coastline within the Pembrokeshire National Park nicknamed 'The Broad Haven Triangle'. The events made national headlines: lights and objects hovering in the sky, ghostly figures peering into farmhouse windows, cowering animals, and poltergeists plaguing a terrified family of witnesses.Thirty years later, official files pertaining to these occurrences were finally released for public scrutiny at the National Archives. The disclosure prompted a new witness to come forward to speak of what he knew. His testimony rocked the very foundations of the British Government. This is his story.

Quercus

Don't Tell the Brides-to-Be

Anna Bell
Authors:
Anna Bell

A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Joanna Bolouri.Things are looking up for Penny. Her business, Princess on a Shoestring, is thriving. That is, until a rival planner decides to take her down-one hard-won bride at a time. Now Penny must fight to save her reputation and her livelihood before it's too late. But when a romantic weekend away has some unexpected consequences, Penny's expectations for her career are brought back down to earth with a bump...From the author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart, here's what readers are saying about Anna Bell: 'Romantic and refreshing' Mhairi McFarlane 'Best read in a long time!' Amazon reviewer 'A fun, bouncy, brilliant tale' Heat

Quercus

Don't Tell the Groom

Anna Bell
Authors:
Anna Bell
Quercus

Meet Me Under the Mistletoe

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements

'A warm and charming winter treat, sparkling with wit and the feel-good factor' Miranda Dickinson. The perfect rom-com for fans of THE HOLIDAY.Will a Christmas house swap save a struggling relationship?Childhood friends Laurie and Rachel used to be inseparable - but their lives have now taken very different paths. But when Rachel's mother-in-law needs urgent treatment in London, and Laurie is desperate to flee a series of work disasters they decide to house swap. Soon gentle Rachel is braving the city's mean streets and, out in the country, Laurie finds herself completely unable to work an Aga. But above all, the relocation tests both the girls' romantic relationships in weird and wondrous ways. Will they make it home for Christmas? And will they want to???!

Rita Carter

Rita Carter is a renowned science writer who has twice been awarded the Medical Journalists' Association prize for outstanding contributions to medical journalism. She is the author of Mapping the Mind and The People You Are and has been shortlisted for the Rhone-Poulenc Prize for Science Books. She is a frequent speaker on the topics of consciousness and behaviour at seminars and conferences worldwide.