We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: Phoebe Wynn

Showing 1-4 of 4 results for Phoebe Wynn

The Ruins

The Ruins

‘I loved this novel’ SARAH PEARSE, bestselling author of The Sanatorium



‘Rippling with suspense’ VICTORIA SELMAN, author of Truly, Darkly, Deeply



‘Haunting at its core’ SHEA ERNSHAW, author of The Wicked Deep


BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS A GIRL WHO SURVIVED. . .

Summer, 1985: Ruby has stayed at the chateau with her family every summer since she can remember. It was her favourite place to be, but this year uninvited guests have descended, and everything is about to change. . .

As the intense August heat cloaks the chateau, the adults within start to lose sight of themselves, and darkness begins to creep around them. With the summer spiralling out of control, Ruby and her two young friends soon discover it is best not to be seen or heard until, one fateful night, an incident occurs that can never be undone. . .

Summer, 2010: One of the three young girls, now grown and newly widowed, returns to the chateau. In her fight to free herself from its grip, she uncovers what truly happened that long, dark summer.

The Ruins is a dark and suspenseful tale of control, and the women determined to fight back.

~*~ WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE RUINS ~*~

“Dark and compelling”

“I couldn’t stop reading it. . . I wanted justice”

“A dark, disturbing and gripping read”

“Unnerving, tense and compelling”
Madam

Madam

A contemporary gothic debut with a feminist edge, for fans of Naomi Alderman and Madeline Miller



The simmering menace and mystery kept me absolutely grippedJennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothicSara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton


For 150 years, Caldonbrae Hall has loomed high above the Scottish cliffs as a beacon of excellence. A boarding school for girls, it promises that its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’.

New to the school, Classics teacher Rose Christie is soon overwhelmed by the institution’s arcane traditions and terrifyingly cool, vindictive students. Her classroom becomes her haven, until her lessons about fearless women starts to draw the suspicions of the powers that be.

As Rose uncovers the darkness that beats at the very heart of Caldonbrae, the lines between myth and reality grow ever more blurred. Can Rose – and the fierce young women she has come to love – find a way to escape the fate the school has in store for them, before it is too late. . .
______________________

A highly entertaining and atmospheric read Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding

Imagine if Donna Tartt and Margaret Atwood got together to write a creepy, suspenseful novel . . . ‘ Chandler Baker, author of Whisper Network

Strange, dark, and utterly consuming . . . I loved it‘ Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

Chilling, eerie and very clever. I devoured it‘ Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

A thrilling debut, reminiscent of Du Maurier. Leaves us breathless at each twist and turn‘ Nydia Hetherington, author of A Girl Made Of Air
The House at Helygen

The House at Helygen

‘Dark, disturbing and utterly compelling’ LIZ FENWICK
‘Haunting and skilfully crafted’ PHOEBE WYNNE
‘Mysterious, atmospheric and chilling’ ANITA FRANK

A HOUSE CAN HOLD A THOUSAND SECRETS . . .

2019


When Henry Fox is found dead in his ancestral home in Cornwall, the police rule it a suicide, but his pregnant wife, Josie, believes it was murder. Desperate to make sense of Henry’s death she embarks on a quest to learn the truth, all under the watchful eyes of Henry’s overbearing mother. Josie soon finds herself wrestling against the dark history of Helygen House and ghosts from the past that refuse to stay buried.

1881

New bride Eliza arrives at Helygen House with high hopes for her marriage. Yet when she meets her new mother-in-law, an icy and forbidding woman, her dreams of a new life are dashed. And when Eliza starts to hear voices in the walls of the house, she begins to fear for her sanity and her life.

Can Josie piece together the past to make sense of her present, or will the secrets of Helygen House and its inhabitants forever remain a mystery?

PRAISE FOR THE HOUSE AT HELYGEN

‘Haunting and emotional’ Lisa Hall
‘I could not put it down’ Louise Beech
‘Leaves you breathlessly wanting more’ Nydia Hetherington
‘A chilling, unforgettable, historical drama’ Karin Nordin
‘I absolutely loved this novel’ Helen Scarlett
Aphrodite and the Duke

Aphrodite and the Duke

Bridgerton lovers have found their next read in Aphrodite and the Duke– Sarah MacLean, New York Times bestselling author of A Duke Worth Falling For

Aphrodite wishes to escape the marriage mart but will a second chance with the elusive Duke of Everely change her mind?

Aphrodite Du Bell is a diamond of the first water and a favourite of the queen. But her renowned loveliness didn’t stop the love of her life, Evander Eagleman, from jilting her and marrying another woman four years ago.

Aphrodite has been in self-imposed exile ever since. However, when her formidable mother summons her back to London Aphrodite has no choice but to acquiesce.

Upon her return, Aphrodite learns that the newly widowed Evander is in town and, despite her best efforts, the grand society events of the season repeatedly push them together. With each encounter, Aphrodite’s traitorous feelings make it perfectly clear that the Duke still holds court over her heart.

Why did Evander cast Aphrodite aside all those years ago, and now that they have a second chance, can the couple make strides to mend past hurts?
______________________

‘Fantastically pacy with a lovely heroine and a great Austenian villain. Perfect for all Bridgerton fans’ – Phoebe Wynne, author of The Ruins

‘An enthralling read full of intrigue and romance!’ – Caroline Khoury, author of Always You

‘An engrossing and original read celebrating strong women and the healing power of love’ – Scarlett Peckham, USA Today bestselling author of The Duke I Tempted

Aphrodite and the Duke is a vibrant historical romance, full of heart, heat, and thrilling period drama. A delectable treat for fans of Bridgerton!’
– Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author of The Siren of Sussex
Filter by +