Isabelle Grey - Shot Through the Heart - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292829
    • Publication date:24 Mar 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299071
    • Publication date:24 Mar 2016

Shot Through the Heart

By Isabelle Grey

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

How far would you be willig to go for justice? A gripping thriller from screenwriter and novelist Isabelle Grey, for fans of Lynda La Plante's Prime Suspect and Sarah Hilary

How far would you be willig to go for justice? A gripping thriller from screenwriter and novelist Isabelle Grey, for fans of Lynda La Plante's Prime Suspect and Sarah Hilary.

'Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast' Mail on Sunday

When a lone shooter claims the lives of five people on Christmas Day before turning the gun on himself, it's up to DI Grace Fisher to find out, not who did it, but why and how.

Tracing the illegal weapon and its deadly load of homemade bullets, she soon uncovers a toxic web of police corruption, personal vendettas and revenge. But when the enemy is within, who will believe her?

As threats to her safety mount up and the strain of secrecy begins to wreck her friendships, Grace must decide how far she wants to pursue justice - and at what cost.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784292836
  • Publication date: 24 Mar 2016
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Quercus
Combines attention to detail with compassionate intelligence — Sunday Times
Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast — Mail on Sunday
An unusual police procedural . . . beautifully written, full of interesting insights, and atmospherically set — Literary Review
Grey's credentials as a television writer shine through . . . the inner working of the Major Investigation Team are just as enthralling to read about as the serial killer they are hunting — Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go and I See You on Good Girls Don't Die
Assured, convincing and especially good on . . . the delicate - and often dodgy - nature of the relationship between the police and the press — Laura Wilson on Good Girls Don't Die, Guardian
Combines clever plot twists with a surprising delicacy of feeling — Sunday Times on Good Girls Don't Die
A realistic, gripping police procedural . . . they rarely get better than this — Book Addict Shaun on Good Girls Don't Die
A thrilling read that will leave you wanting much more of Grace Fisher — We Love This Book on Good Girls Don't Die
Top notch crime fiction . . . a superb example of its kind — Liz Loves Books on Good Girls Don't Die
The writing is fluid and enthralling . . . a terrific and believable, supporting cast — CrimeThrillerFella on Good Girls Don't Die
Quercus

Wrong Way Home

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Sarah Hilary calls Isabelle Grey's books 'compelling and compassionate'. A must-read for fans of Susie Steiner, Clare Mackintosh, Broadchurch and Line of DutyEveryone in Southend remembers the night of the fire. Two lives were saved from the burning Marineland resort, while metres down the beach another was lost when a young woman was raped and murdered. The killer was never found. Now, twenty-five years on, DI Grace Fisher is handed new DNA evidence that could blow the cold case wide open. But what are the chances of really getting to the truth after all this time?Meanwhile, eager would-be journalist Freddie Craig decides to prove himself by conducting his own investigation and turning his findings into a podcast. It will be good for his CV, and maybe he'll even make a breakthrough in the case... Experienced hack Ivo Sweatman is flattered when the cub reporter turns to him for advice, but as Freddie becomes more obsessed with the case, Ivo starts to worry that the line between fact and wishful thinking is becoming dangerously blurred. Just as a series of revelations lead Grace to believe the case is closed, a similar murder is committed. Does she have the wrong man? Or are there two separate killers to deal with?

Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The first in a gripping new crime series set in Germany - the Black Forest InvestigationsLouise Boni, maverick chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. When her own team comes under fire, the investigation takes on a terrifying dimension, uncovering a hideous ring of child traffickers. The repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

riverrun

Untitled Peter May

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

Rosy & John

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Hit

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Quercus

Serial Killers

Brian Innes
Authors:
Brian Innes
Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle

'One of the SF and fantasy & horror field's most urbane - and much under-appreciated- writers' Love ReadingShould you find yourself in need of a discreet investigation into any sort of mystery, crime or puzzling circumstances, think of Jesperson and Lane . . .Jesperson and Lane have just solved their first major case when a man bangs violently on their door - and almost immediately drops dead. The police rule death by natural causes, but the detectives are determined to find out what really happened . . .Mr Manning was screaming about witches before his death.The case takes them to Mr Manning's Norfolk home, a land of mysterious Shrieking Pits and ancient knowledge. Mr Manning was himself a member of the enigmatic School of Ancient British Wisdom, and not the first to suffer a similar fate. Local gossip suggests that he was secretly engaged to one of the three lovely sisters who reside at Wayside Cross - but which one? Are they really witches, as the gossips also claim?And what does all this have to do with the mysterious Shrieking Pits and a mother desperate to find her missing baby? Jesperson and Lane, at your service.

riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE NEW THRILLER FROM THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSETHE GIRL IN THE LAKEIn 1989, a killer dumped the body of twenty-year-old Lucie Martin into a picturesque lake in the West of France. Fourteen years later, during a summer heatwave, a drought exposed her remains - bleached bones amid the scorched mud and slime.THE MAN ON THE CASENo one was ever convicted of her murder. But now, forensic expert Enzo Macleod is reviewing this stone-cold case - the toughest of those he has been challenged to solve.THE SKELETON IN THE CLOSETYet when Enzo finds a flaw in the original evidence surrounding Lucie's murder, he opens a Pandora's box that not only raises old ghosts but endangers his entire family.

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Antoine is twelve years old. His parents are divorced and he lives with his mother in Beauval, a small, backwater town surrounded by forests, where everyone knows everyone's business, and nothing much ever happens. But in the last days of 1999, a series of events unfolds, culminating in the shocking vanishing without trace of a young child. The adults of the town are at a loss to explain the disappearance, but for Antoine, it all begins with the violent death of his neighbour's dog. From that one brutal act, his fate and the fate of his neighbour's six year old son are bound forever.In the years following Rémi's disappearance, Antoine wrestles with the role his actions played. As a seemingly inescapable net begins to tighten, breaking free from the suffocating environs of Beauval becomes a gnawing obsession. But how far does he have to run, and how long will it take before his past catches up with him again?Translated from the French by Frank Wynne(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Get Real

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake

Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Sarah Hilary calls The Special Girls 'Compelling and compassionate'. 'The story hooks like barbed wire . . . so much more than a police procedural' says Laline Paull, author of The Bees. Perfect for fans of BROADCHURCH and LINE OF DUTY'A brave and harrowing novel' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH'A penetrating analysis of Stockholm Syndrome' GuardianThey are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen?A doctor is found beaten to death in woods close to a summer camp for young women with eating disorders. The camp is run by the charismatic Professor Chesham. DI Grace Fisher is called in, but is quickly pulled from the investigation - to head up a cold case inquiry involving Chesham himself.Some years earlier, one of Chesham's patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her.As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the doctor's murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to the special girls - and the danger they are still in.

riverrun

The Ghost Marriage

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia
Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

What's So Funny?

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake