Peter May - Entry Island - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782062226
    • Publication date:05 Dec 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848667075
    • Publication date:03 Jul 2014

Entry Island

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062233
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: riverrun

Praise for Peter May:

He is a terrific writer doing something different.

— Mark Billingham
From the first page I knew I was in safe hands. I knew I could trust this writer. — Sophie Hannah
Wonderfully compelling. — Kate Mosse
A true pleasure to read. — Guardian
Peter May is a writer I'd follow to the ends of the earth. — New York Times
One of the best regarded crime series of recent years. — Independent, on the Lewis trilogy
Lyrical, empathetic and moving. — Alex Gray
A wonderfully complex book. — Peter James, on Entry Island
May's novels are strong on place and the wounds left by old relationships. — Sunday Times
Will have the reader relishing every tendency of description and characterization. — Barry Forshaw, Independent
Dark, exciting and atmospheric. — Scotland on Sunday
Powerful and authentic. — Scotland on Sunday
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

The new thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl Before.

MacLehose Press

Homeland or Death

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
riverrun

Yellowhammer

James Henry
Authors:
James Henry

The new Essex-based thriller from the author of Blackwater and the Detective Jack Frost prequelsJuly 1983, Essex. A boy playing hide-and-seek sees a fox tugging at something up on a railway embankment. He approaches it cautiously. Seconds later, a blast is heard, and rooks ascend from the poplars surrounding the farmhouse at which the boy is spending his summer holiday with cousins.DI Nick Lowry is called upon to investigate two deaths at Fox Farm, the home of eminent historian Christopher Cliff. The body in the farmhouse kitchen is Cliff himself, having seemingly taking his own with an antique shotgun. The fox-disturbed body on the property boundary is as yet unidentified.Lowry is already under pressure: County Chief Merrydown was at college with Cliff and knows the family. He must enlist colleagues Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel to answer two key questions: just who was at the house with Cliff that morning, and just what has since happened to Cliff's wife?

riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

ENZO MACLEOD TACKLES ONE OF FRANCE'S MOST NOTORIOUS UNSOLVED CASES, IN THE FOURTH OFFERING FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING MASTER OF CRIME.ILE DE GROIX, FRANCE.A Frozen Island. This tiny isle off the coast of Brittany is the scene of a murder left shrouded in mystery and grief. A Frozen Crime. Adam Killian's study has been left intact since his death - the perfect state for Enzo Macleod's forensic investigation. A Frozen Heart. Killian's daughter-in-law is still hoping; the first suspect is still hiding; and the treacherous island itself still has a revelation for Enzo.

riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
riverrun

Blacklight Blue

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor

You can control want, but desire controls youA smart, sexy, witty novel about love and desire, and how losing everything can sometimes be the best thing that ever happened to youAnna is a writer whose small but perfectly formed novels sell zip. When she falls on hard times and tries her hand at erotic fiction, she faces an uncomfortable truth. Though she's a wife and mother of two, her stories fail to fly because she's never experienced true sexual desire. Even her Sicilian grandmother - wearer of diamante sunglasses and knock-off Louis Vuitton - knows more than she does about true passion. A romance-writing workshop doesn't help, so Anna turns to her friends for inspiration. As secrets and desires are revealed, Anna discovers more about the people close to her than she ever knew. When Cordelia, a romance-writing classmate, suggests she borrows an alter ego to banish her inhibitions, a new world opens up to Anna and The Love Factory - a group of writers penning ever more successful sexy stories - is born. And yet Anna knows that she can't rely on borrowed passion and an alter ego forever. For her tales to truly sizzle, she needs to find a proper love of her own.

riverrun

The Critic

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

YOU FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGE. ON THE LAST PAGE, YOU'LL FIND OUT WHY.'I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read' BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown'Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision' JP Delaney, author of The Girl BeforeLate one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

** FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CAST IRON, COFFIN ROAD AND THE BLACKHOUSE **** AN EXPLOSIVE NEW THRILLER SET IN THE OUTER HEBRIDES**'Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth' New York TimesHusband and wife Niamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own Ranish Tweed: a Hebridean company that weaves its own special variety of Harris cloth, which has become a sought-after brand in the world of high fashion. But when Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair with Russian designer Irina Vetrov, then witnesses the pair killed by a car bomb in Paris, her life is left in ruins. Along with her husband's remains, she returns home to the Isle of Lewis, bereft.The Paris police have ruled out terrorism, and ruled in murder - making Niamh the prime suspect, along with Irina's missing husband, Georgy. And so French Detective Sylvie Braque is sent to the island to look into Niamh's past, unaware of the dangers that await her.As Braque digs deeper into the couple's history, Niamh herself replays her life with Ruiairidh, searching her memory for those whose grievances might have led to murder. And with each layer revealed, and every unexpected twist uncovered, the two women find themselves drawn inexorably closer to a killer who will not turn back.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
riverrun

The Secret of Vesalius

Jordi Llobregat
Authors:
Jordi Llobregat

Frankenstein meets The Shadow of the Wind in a Gothic thriller set in the diabolical city of fin-de-siecle Barcelona.Daniel Amat has left Spain and all that happened there behind him. Having just achieved a brilliant role in Ancient Languages at Oxford University and an even more advantageous engagement, the arrival of a letter - a demand - stamped Barcelona comes like a cold hand from behind.He arrives back in that old, labyrinthine and near-mythic city a few days before the great 1888 World Fair, amid dread whispers of murders - the injuries reminiscent of an ancient curse, and bearing signs of the genius 16th century anatomist, Vesalius. Daniel is soon pulled into the depths of the crime, and eventually into the tunnels below Barcelona, where his own dark past and the future of science are joined in a terrible venture - to bring the secret of Vesalius to life.Gothic and gripping, this historical thriller makes of Barcelona a diabolical character - emerging out of the dark into a new electrical age, aflame with spirit, superstition and science. Published in eighteen countries, Jordi Llobregat's bestselling first novel mixes a passionate setting and cryptic mystery into a genre-crossing phenomenon.

Quercus

Myths in Minutes

Neil Philip
Authors:
Neil Philip

The world's great fables, sagas and legends dramatically retold.Myths are the greatest stories ever told. Passed down over millennia, they are the templates for all our stories, with their eternal themes of creation and destruction, fate and cunning, heroism and cruelty, sensuality and war. Retold here are nearly 200 myths - from Prometheus defying Zeus to create man to the destruction of Troy; and from valiant battles against Frost Giants and Cyclopes to the heroic quests for the Golden Fleece and Holy Grail - including a commentary on their origins, common themes and meanings. Compellingly written, concise and with each myth illustrated with an iconic image, Myths in Minutes is the perfect way to understand and enjoy the world's major fables. Includes the great Ancient Greek, Roman and Egyptian legends: The Labours of Heracles; The Gods of Olympus; Zeus defeats the Titans; Hades and the Underworld; Theseus and the Minotaur; The Gorgons; Perseus and Andromeda; Oedipus and the Sphinx; The Judgment of Paris; The Trojan Horse; The Odyssey; Jason and The Golden Fleece; Romulus, Remus and the Founding of Rome; Mars, the God of War; The Eye of Ra; The Murder and Resurrection of Osiris; and more.The best of Celtic, Norse, Eastern, American, Oceanic and African myths: Gilgamesh and the Great Flood; Odin's Great Sacrifice; Thor's Adventures in the Land of the Giants; The Treachery of Loki; Ragnarok - The Last Battle; The Eight Immortals; The War Between the Sun and the Stars; Quetzalcoatl, The Plumed Serpent; Ganesh, the Elephant-headed; Ananse and the Sky God; King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table; the age-old stories of the Aboriginal Dreaming; and many; many more.

Quercus

The Reading Group

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker
Quercus

The Eternal City

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa
Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May