Peter Spiegelman - Dr. Knox - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782066958
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786483256
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2016
Books in this series

Dr. Knox

By Peter Spiegelman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first in a crime series about the new, disillusioned Robin Hood of skid row, Los Angeles

Dr Adam Knox returns from the war in Afghanistan a little rougher, a little wiser, and a lot more inclined to kick it to the ones at the top. The ones in charge.

He sets up a clinic in Los Angeles's most notorious district, tending to the vagrant, the vulnerable and the victims of skid row. One night they're beseeched by a Romanian woman who comes in with her son. Her bruises give away a story she's too scared to tell; escaping from traffickers and forced prostitution to try to get her son back. He was kidnapped by his father - who happens to be heir to one of the most influential dynasties on the West Coast.
That same night, Knox is called upon for his private health service - cutting out a bullet from a businessman who was cutting himself a shady deal. Impressed by his ability to keep a secret, the impatient patient offers Knox a big tip for some extra work: helping him get revenge on the gangsters who shot him. Knox - and his clinic - need the cash.

Playing one team against another, Knox must keep his wits scalpel-sharp. If his diagnosis is on the money, he might be able to trick the gangsters, free the Romanian mother and put the ones at the top in their place for once.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782066941
  • Publication date: 22 Sep 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
Dr Knox portrays an all-new Los Angeles, rendered in a wild, all-new style. It's a crackerjack crime novel; everything pop-pop-pops and lures you deeper and deeper into Peter Spiegelman's luminous vision. It's a thrilling book — James Ellroy
A gripping and properly thrilling cat-and-mouse chase . . . Written with verve, style and no small amount of skill, Dr Knox is a great piece of 21st-century noir. — Big Issue
Knox walks the kind of mean streets that might have given Raymond Chandler nightmares . . . Gives his private-eye style adventure a thrilling edge — Irish Times
A unique hero who lingers to heal bad guys, and whose medical crises are as thrilling as car chases — Wall St Journal
Dr Knox portrays an all-new Los Angeles, rendered in a wild, all-new style. It's a crackerjack crime novel; everything pop-pop-pops and lures you deeper and deeper into Peter Spiegelman's luminous vision. It's a thrilling book
A gripping and properly thrilling cat-and-mouse chase . . . Written with verve, style and no small amount of skill, Dr Knox is a great piece of 21st-century noir.
Knox walks the kind of mean streets that might have given Raymond Chandler nightmares . . . Gives his private-eye style adventure a thrilling edge
A unique hero who lingers to heal bad guys, and whose medical crises are as thrilling as car chases
riverrun

Three Hours

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Quercus

The Body in the Castle Well

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

Metropolis

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Berlin detective Bernie Gunther returns in the 14th book of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris.'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD'One of the greatest master story-tellers in English' ALAN FURSTBerlin, 1928, the dying days of the Weimar Republic shortly before Hitler and the Nazis came to power. It was a period of decadence and excess as Berliners - after the terrible slaughter of WWI and the hardships that followed - are enjoying their own version of Babylon. Bernie is a young detective working in Vice when he gets a summons from Bernard Weiss, Chief of Berlin's Criminal Police. He invites Bernie to join KIA - Criminal Inspection A - the supervisory body for all homicide investigation in Kripo. Bernie's first task is to investigate the Silesian Station killings - four prostitutes murdered in as many weeks. All of them have been hit over the head with a hammer and then scalped with a sharp knife. Bernie hardly has time to acquaint himself with the case files before another prostitute is murdered. Until now, no one has shown much interest in these victims - there are plenty in Berlin who'd like the streets washed clean of such degenerates. But this time the girl's father runs Berlin's foremost criminal ring, and he's prepared to go to extreme lengths to find his daughter's killer. Then a second series of murders begins - of crippled wartime veterans who beg in the city's streets. It seems that someone is determined to clean up Berlin of anyone less than perfect. The voice of Nazism is becoming a roar that threatens to drown out all others. But not Bernie Gunther's ...

riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Summer is gone, and the world is turning to ice.The Rondian Empress Lyra has lost her husband, her army is defeated and the deadly Masked Cabal have seized the Holy City. Her allies have abandoned her and her empire is spiralling into chaos - and her only weapon is a forbidden magic she dare not use. She can't survive alone - but who can she still trust?'Vibrant, memorable characters' - SciFi NowThe Eastern conqueror Sultan Rashid is victorious on the battlefield, but now he faces an enemy more deadly than Rondian knights: the winter. Unless he captures a major city to shelter his huge armies, his plans to overthrow the West face ruin in the snow. But standing between his men and safety is the remnants of a defeated army led by a general who knows all about fighting for survival.'An epic journey of ordinary people destined to change the course of history . . . alluring . . . gripping' - BoHoMind.comThere are no easy options left. Lyra and her fellow dwymancers must master their deadly magic, whatever the cost. Even those who believe themselves to be fighting for good must grasp the reins of power with cold-hearted determination, and use even the most terrible weapon, if they are to stop the world from falling apart . . . for ever.

Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne

THE NEW BLOCKBUSTER THRILLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF TO KILL THE PRESIDENTSomeone is trying to destroy the evidence of history's greatest crimes.Academics and Holocaust survivors dead in mysterious circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Digital records and irreplaceable proofs, lost for ever.Former White House operative Maggie Costello has sworn off politics. But when the Governor of Virginia seeks her help to stop the lethal spiral of killings, she knows that this is bigger than any political game. As Black Lives Matter protestors clash with slavery deniers, America is on a knife-edge and time is running out. This deadly conspiracy could ignite a new Civil War - but who stands to gain most from the chaos?Taut, authoritative and explosive, To Kill the Truth takes us to the edge of anarchy, a world without truth in which history will be rewritten by those who live to shape it.Praise for Sam Bourne:'Urgently topical'The Times'Propulsive'Guardian'A Day of the Jackal for these dizzying times' Ian Rankin

Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

The Stone Circle

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

Fight Back

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith
Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon

When one Israeli citizen disappears from Charles de Gaulle Airport with a woman in a red dress, you could put it down to youthful indiscretion. When a second from the same flight is disappeared from his hotel room by a girl with a gun, you might just have a diplomatic crisis on your hands. Enter Colonel Abadi, recently appointed head of the Special Section of Unit 8200, Israel's most secretive intelligence service. His only allies are his deputy back in Israel, the dazzling and hot-headed Lieutenant Oriana Talmor, and a French detective hung out to dry by his superiors. Together they face a squad of ruthless Chinese commandos who have no qualms about leaving Paris littered with bodies. And then there are their enemies in the Paris establishment and the labyrinthine, back-stabbing Israeli intelligence community. All in all, it could be a long night.

Quercus

The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
Quercus

The Darkest Place

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg

'Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifying real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist' - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard LightOn the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream. Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.But this trip is going to be different.In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.'I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!' - Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past

MacLehose Press

The Lizard Strategy

Valerio Varesi
Authors:
Valerio Varesi
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan