Virginia Ironside - Yes! I Can Manage, Thank You! - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291914
    • Publication date:05 Mar 2015

Yes! I Can Manage, Thank You!

Marie Sharp 3

By Virginia Ironside

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The further adventures of Marie Sharp, groovy granny and diarist extraordinaire from celebrated agony aunt Virginia Ironside - for fans of Jenny Eclair and Sue Townsend

Another year, another January, and Marie Sharp has written a new diary, dishing the dirt on how the cool grannies live today. And her drug cravings aren't the half of it.

There's the handsome stranger who arrives as her new lodger. Is he all that he seems? There's the new project - teaching art at a school, now that her grandchild-minding days are numbered. Not to mention the mad dog and the crazy new neighbour.

And then there's the lump, a frightening symptom of... what?

Marie is back, courting laughter and disaster in equal measure. In her own inimitable style, she's getting older... and loving every minute of it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782069317
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

Anyone for Seconds?

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham

'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' MARIAN KEYESThe laugh-out-loud sequel to Perfect Meringues - can former queen of the kitchen Lizzie Partridge claw her way back into the nation's hearts?Life has been going downhill for ex-TV chef Lizzie Partridge ever since she spectacularly ended her television career by throwing a chocolate mousse at the host of Midlands This Morning. Her partner Tom has left her, Nigella and Jamie have got the cookery world sewn up, and now her restaurant reviewing column - her last bit of work - has been cancelled. Surely the only way is up from here?In a desperate bid for sympathy and attention she runs away, from the gas bill and the mouse under the sink, and in wet and wintry Aberystwyth she experiences a brush with her past and a glimmer of new prospects. And when her nephew - now a TV producer - has the bright idea to reunite her with her former nemesis and target of the mousse attack in a new show, it seems like things could be going Lizzie's way again after all!

Quercus

Get Your Sh*t Together Journal

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
Quercus

No, Thanks! I'm Quite Happy Standing!

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside
Quercus

Thursdays in the Park

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

"A WARM AND WELL-WRITTEN CASE FOR LOVE AFFAIRS IN LATER LIFE" (DAILY TELEGRAPH) - A ROMANTIC TALE OF NEW ATTRACTION AND OLD LOYALTIES FROM #1 KINDLE BESTSELLING NOVELIST HILARY BOYD. If you like Erica James, Harriet Evans and Veronica Henry, you'll love Hilary Boyd.SPECIAL 5TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THE EBOOK PHENOMENON. Includes reading group questions and the first chapter of Hilary's beautiful new book, The Lavender House.Jeanie has been married for thirty years, but her husband George has become so cold and distant she may as well be alone. Surely, at just sixty, a loveless marriage can't be the only thing left on the horizon? Then, one Thursday in autumn, Jeanie meets Ray in the park, and a chance meeting blossoms into a friendship.They talk, laugh, share hopes and secrets and heartbreaks.They offer each other a second chance at life and love.But will they have the courage to take it?

Quercus

What She Never Told Me

Kate McQuaile
Authors:
Kate McQuaile

What do you do when you find out that your whole life could be a lie? A chilling family drama for fans of Sue Fortin, Louise Candlish and Sabine Durrant's Lie With Me. I talked to my mother the night she died, losing myself in memories of when we were happiest together. But I held one memory back, and it surfaces now. I see a green postbox and a small hand stretching up to its oblong mouth. I am never sure whether that small hand is mine. But if not mine, whose?Louise Redmond left Ireland for London before she was twenty. Now, more than two decades later, her heart already breaking from a failing marriage, she is summoned home. Her mother is on her deathbed, and it is Louise's last chance to learn the whereabouts of a father she never knew. Stubborn to the end, Marjorie refuses to fill in the pieces of her daughter's fragmented past. Then Louise unexpectedly finds a lead. A man called David Prescott . . . but is he really the father she's been trying to find? And who is the mysterious little girl who appears so often in her dreams? As each new piece of the puzzle leads to another question, Louise begins to suspect that the memories she most treasures could be a delicate web of lies.

Quercus

You, Me and Him

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson
Quercus

The Lavender House

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

Quercus

Janey and Me

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

Is it every woman's fate to turn into her mother? This is renowned writer and journalist Virginia Ironside's poignant and blackly funny memoir of life with fashion professor and media icon Janey Ironside. Stylish, beautiful and self-loathing, Janey Ironside was to lead a cultural revolution. In 1956 she became Professor of Fashion at the Royal College of Art, then an extraordinary appointment for a young mother. Discovering and promoting designers like Ossie Clark and Bill Gibb, she changed the way people dressed around the world and herself became a fashion icon. Yet the qualities that made her great - wit, talent and drive - did not bring happiness to either her or her family. Having grown up in colonial India, Janey suffered a painful childhood separation from her parents. She married dashing artist Christopher Ironside, but eking out wartime rations ill-suited a woman whose idea of divine punishment was 'to spend eternity washing up.' Dress-making soon filled the void, while her daughter Virginia endured a string of au pairs, embarrassing outfits and acute loneliness. As Virginia fought to be her own person, plunging into the swing of the sixties as a rock journalist, she was caught between a father she adored and a mother bent on self-destruction. Now a renowned writer, she has drawn a startling portrait of a gifted woman in a time of extraordinary change. Blackly comic, beautifully written and deeply moving, JANEY AND ME reflects the universal struggle to emerge from our parents' shadow.

riverrun

Breaking Light

Karin Altenberg
Authors:
Karin Altenberg

riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
Quercus

Made for Each Other

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

I destroy everything I touch... don't let me destroy you. When two strangers meet in a bank one day, sparks fly. Both are emotionally unstable but neither can resist the other and they embark on a passionate love affair. The constant threat of being torn apart by another woman does nothing to stifle the attraction between these lovers, only fuelling an obsessive relationship. As their lives become increasingly tangled, they realise their desire is both destructive and insatiable. From acclaimed author Virginia Ironside, a provocative and sensual novel about obsessive love.

Quercus

A Distant Sunset

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

'We are married now,' said Richard softly. 'We may not be married in a church and you may not have taken my name, but here... here we are married.' 19th century Devon. On the day Richard Applevale leaves for India, Elizabeth Shawcross gives herself to him, secure in the knowledge that he loves her, and that he will one day return to make her his wife. But Elizabeth soon finds herself pregnant with the child of a man she fears she will never see again, for she has heard nothing from India. Heart-broken and terrified of what will become of her and her child, she is forced to wed the arrogant Mr Whittle. With him she travels to the subcontinent, where she is confronted with her former lover. But once again, Richard and Lizzie are kept apart by circumstances out of their control. From acclaimed author Virginia Ironside, A Distant Sunset is a classic tale of adventure and romance.

Quercus

Chelsea Bird

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

The debut novel of acclaimed writer Virginia Ironside, author of No, I Don't Want to join a Bookclub, originally published in 1964, when she was aged just twenty. London, 1960s. A cultural revolution is taking place. Young people are finally being seen as a force to be reckoned with. But for eighteen-year-old art student Harriet and her Chelsea friends, this amounts to one thing: being'In'. The King's Road swarms with people wanting to see and be seen; upper-class boys with faux cockney accents party with models, beatniks and photographers; teddy boys are good people to nod to in the street; transport caffs are the must-go places for food, and black men have suddenly become the people to know. Through Harriet's eyes, Virginia Ironside paints a witty, tongue-in-cheek portrait of life in 1960's London that will strike a nostalgic chord with all those who were there, and make all those who weren't wish they had been.

Quercus

Summer Lightning

Tamara McKinley
Authors:
Tamara McKinley
riverrun

Red Sky in Morning

Paul Lynch
Authors:
Paul Lynch
Quercus

No! I Don't Need Reading Glasses

Virginia Ironside
Authors:
Virginia Ironside

riverrun

Come to the Edge

Joanna Kavenna
Authors:
Joanna Kavenna

Quercus

Brodeck's Report

Philippe Claudel
Authors:
Philippe Claudel

Wayne Macauley

Wayne Macauley is the author of two other novels and a collection of short stories. He lives in Melbourne.