Sinéad Crowley - One Bad Turn - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293437
    • Publication date:01 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784293444
    • Publication date:01 Jun 2017

One Bad Turn

DS Claire Boyle Thriller 3: a gripping race against time thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

By Sinéad Crowley

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

How could your good friend become your worst enemy? Gripping crime thriller for fans of MISSING PRESUMED and I SEE YOU

'A corker of a book, compellingly readable, intriguing and hugely enjoyable' Liz Nugent

'A perfectly engineered crime novel . . . Crowley is brilliant at creating gripping scenarios' Jane Casey

I lost my child because of you, my only child.

Eileen and Heather have always looked out for each other. But two years ago Eileen lost her son and she blames Heather and her family for the tragic loss.

And I want you to know how that feels.

Now she wants Heather and her daughter to suffer in the same way.

Sergeant Claire Boyle is caught in the crossfire - but she has her own child to think about now.

Biographical Notes

Sinead Crowley is Arts and Media Correspondent for RTE, Ireland's national broadcaster, working for television, radio and online. Her debut thriller, Can Anybody Help Me? was a bestseller in Ireland, and both it and her second book Are You Watching Me? were shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards Crime Book of the Year. Sinead lives in Dublin with her husband and two young sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784293451
  • Publication date: 22 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Quercus
So enjoyable. Great characterisation, social commentary and a tense, grippy plot. An excellent read — Marian Keyes
Extremely well-structured and brilliantly paced . . . cements Sinead Crowley's status as one of Ireland's best crime writers — Irish Independent
Does not disappoint for a second . . . Brilliantly plotted and structured, I gasped aloud as I watched the unfolding story of childhood pals becoming mortal enemies . . . This is a corker of a book, compellingly readable, intriguing and hugely enjoyable — Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait
A perfectly engineered crime novel where slow-burning grievances lead to explosive actions. Crowley is brilliant at creating gripping scenarios that make your heart beat faster — Jane Casey, author of the DS Maeve Kerrigan series
Gripping and twisty and unputdownable - highly recommended — William Ryan
A brilliant twisty claustrophobic ride of a book — Colette McBeth
[Her] best one yet — Louise O'Neill, author of Only Ever Yours and Asking For It
Sensationally good — Irish Times
Races along at a blistering pace — Sunday Mirror
Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno, now Chief of Police for the whole Vézère valley, has an unusual challenge to rise to: teaching at his friend Pamela's new cookery school. It is a daunting prospect - the disappearance of one of the school's pupils almost serves as a welcome distraction.When the woman's body is discovered in one half of a double homicide, the evidence points to something far out of the ordinary. The other murder victim is a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that there may be more intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis' history to find the killers before they strike again.

Quercus

After I've Gone

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'One of the best books I've ever read!' Amazon reviewer. An emotional new psychological thriller from the #1 bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed.YOU HAVE 18 MONTHS LEFT TO LIVE . . . On a wet Monday in January, Jess Mount checks Facebook and discovers her timeline appears to have skipped forward 18 months, to a day when shocked family and friends are posting heartbreaking tributes to her following her death in an accident. Jess is left scared and confused: is she the target of a cruel online prank or is this a terrifying glimpse of her true fate? Amongst the posts are photos of a gorgeous son she has not yet conceived. But when new posts suggest her death was deliberate, Jess realises that if she changes the future to save her own life, the baby boy she has fallen in love with may never exist.

riverrun

Three Minutes

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström

INFILTRATOROne-time Swedish government agent Piet Hoffmann is on the run: both from the life prison sentence he escaped, and from the Polish drug mafia he double-crossed. Only Hoffmann's handler, Erik Wilson, knows he now hides in Calí, Colombia, living under a false identity with his wife Zofia and sons Rasmus and Hugo.INFORMANTBut life on the run is precarious. And so when Hoffmann, in order to survive, accepts employment as a bodyguard and hit man for the Colombian cocaine mafia, and is simultaneously approached by the US DEA to infiltrate the same cartel, he chooses to say yes to both. Hoffmann has a new, lucrative double life.IN TOO DEEPHowever, Hoffmann's successful balancing act is short lived. When Timothy D. Crouse, Speaker of the US House of Representatives, is kidnapped while on a trip to Colombia, US forces settle on a new enemy for their next War on Terror. This gives the cartel and the US government the same problem. Piet Hoffmann.Condemned and hung out to dry, Hoffmann is stranded, and marked. Yet Erik Wilson will find him help from the most unlikely of figures - the stubborn, acerbic Swedish detective who has never forgotten Piet Hoffmann's face. DCI Ewert Grens - the enemy who Hoffmann once tricked - will now become the only ally he can trust.

Quercus

Ten Reasons Not to Fall In Love

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

Things I Wish I'd Known

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

A Forbidden Love, A Devastating Secret...When Claire discovers the list she wrote as a teenager entitled '20 Years From Now', she realises how far removed her life is from the one she'd imagined. Divorced, stuck in a dead-end job and dating a man who is desperate to settle down to a future she doesn't want, she decides it's time to put her life back on track.'A really emotional twist which I was in no way expecting!' Amazon reader. From the bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed comes a poignant novel about what could have been...Also available from Linda Green:After I've GoneAnd Then It HappenedWhile My Eyes Were ClosedI Did a Bad ThingTen Reasons Not to Fall in LoveAnd available to pre-order now: The Last Thing She Told Me

Quercus

And Then It Happened

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
MacLehose Press

After the War

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre
MacLehose Press

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea
Authors:
Luca D'Andrea
Quercus

Operation Relentless

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis
riverrun

Sympathy for the Devil

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees' best to date' amazon reviewer Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late...How much can a place change your life?1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.Tracy Rees' next historical novel DARLING BLUE is available to preorder now! Just search 9781786486677*** Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS... 'Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters' Kathryn Hughes'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley'A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery' Rachel Hore'A story about second chances ... A triumphant third novel' Amazon reviewer'A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far' Amazon Reviewer***Also by Tracy Rees:Amy SnowFlorence GraceAnd available to pre-order: Darling Blue

Quercus

The Girl Before

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERTHE SUNDAY TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTHEnter the world of One Folgate Street and discover perfection . . . but can you pay the price?Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there - and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before. As twist after twist catches the reader off guard, Emma's past and Jane's present become inexorably entwined in this tense, page-turning portrayal of psychological obsession.For all fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl comes this spellbinding Hitchcockian thriller which takes psychological suspense to the next level

MacLehose Press

The Acid Test

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza
Quercus

Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
riverrun

Six Four

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
riverrun

Blowback

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Blacklight Blue

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE THIRD COLD-CASE INVESTIGATION FOR ENZO MACLEOD, FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY MEGASELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.FRANCE. A death sentence.Diagnosed with a terminal illness, Enzo Macleod is running out of time to crack the most confounding of unsolved French murders. A death threat.His daughter is nearly killed, Enzo is mugged - and then he is arrested. Someone is trying to destroy his character. Someone is framing him for murder. A deathly enemy.Killers from the past will stop at nothing to halt Enzo, who must use all his forensic skills to solve the case - before they succeed.

riverrun

The Critic

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May