Louise O'Neill - Only Ever Yours - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664159
    • Publication date:03 Jul 2014
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294007
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015

Only Ever Yours

By Louise O'Neill
Read by Emma Weaver

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

If you're a girl, all that matters is that you are beautiful . . . The brilliant, bestselling first novel by Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It

eves are designed, not made.
The School trains them to be pretty
The School trains them to be good.
The School trains them to Always be Willing.


All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.
companion . . . concubine . . . or chastity
Only the best will be chosen.
And only the Men decide.
(P)2015 WF Howes Ltd

Biographical Notes

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784297046
  • Publication date: 03 Sep 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: riverrun
Gripping ... like all the best dystopias, Only Ever Yours is about the world we live in now — Irish Times
The Handmaid's Tale meets Mean Girls' — The Vagenda
Utterly magnificent ... gripping, accomplished and dark — Marian Keyes
Deserves to be read by young and old, male and female, the world over in the same way Harry Potter and The Hunger Games were — Sunday Independent
A dark dream. A vivid nightmare. The world O'Neill imagines is frightening because it could come true. She writes with a scalpel — Jeanette Winterson
Deep, dark and frighteningly believable, this book will stay with you for a long time — Marie Claire
Compelling writing ... this only-too-real dystopia grips from beginning to end — SFX
Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale with a post-millennial twist — The Journal.ie
The bleakness of The Catcher in the Rye, the satire of The Stepford Wives and it made me recall Nineteen Eighty-Four ... a fresh and original talent — Irish Independent
Terrifying but captivating — Company
A sparkling debut that will really make you think — Heat
'Compelling and frightening' — Irish Examiner
An ingenious exploration of gender roles, female identity and female competition — Buzzfeed
'Terrifying and heartbreaking, O'Neill's story reads like an heir to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and MT Anderson's Feed, and, like those two books, it's sure to be discussed for years to come' — Publisher's Weekly
'A stunning debut set in a dystopian future that has everyone talking . . . once read, will never be forgotten' — Irish Independent
Dark, gripping . . . should be mandatory reading everywhere — The F Word
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

'Deft characterisation, buoyant wit and imaginative richness' Evening Standard'Masterful . . . slick, entertaining' Guardian 'Funny poignant, occassionally breathtaking' Financial TimesRome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party glitters with socialites and patrons. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, while Natalie faces her own wars with the art world. Trying to live up to his father's name - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch never quite succeeds. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, he enacts an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of art and its demons. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of vulnerability and frustrated talent that - with his signature humour and humanity ­- challenges the very idea of greatness.

riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERNWhen Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett
Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SIX FOUR: A TENSE INVESTIGATION IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN AIR DISASTER.'He's a master' New York Times Book Review'Very different . . . to almost anything out there' Observer1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet against the power struggles and office politics that plague its newsroom. But when an air disaster of unprecedented scale occurs on the paper's doorstep, its staff are united by an unimaginable horror, and a once-in-a-lifetime scoop.2002. Seventeen years later, Yuuki remembers the adrenaline-fuelled, emotionally charged seven days that changed his and his colleagues' lives. He does so while making good on a promise he made that fateful week - one that holds the key to its last unsolved mystery, and represents Yuuki's final, unconquered fear.'Seventeen is a brilliant novel on any level - it's a gripping page turner, while remaining moving and complex. It's a deeply satisfying read and it will be a while before I read anything as good' William Ryan'An astringent, unforgiving picture of modern Japanese society' Guardian

riverrun

Asking For It

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night . . . Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated. (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entrée into the ruling class. Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims­­ - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements
MacLehose Press

The Voyage

Murray Bail
Authors:
Murray Bail

Elizabeth Brundage

Elizabeth Brundage graduated from Hampshire College, attended the NYU film school, was a screenwriting fellow at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, and received an M.F.A. as well as a James Michener Award from the University of Iowa's Writers' Workshop. She has taught at a variety of colleges and universities, most recently at Skidmore College as a visiting writer in residence. She lives near Albany in upstate New York.

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

Euan Cameron

Euan Cameron's translations include works by Julien Green, Simone de Beauvoir and Paul Morand, and biographies of Marcel Proust and Irène Némirovsky.